NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Stat Advance: Oswego

Photo: Michael Jaworecki Myracenews

Analyzing The Toyota Mod Classic 150 at Oswego Speedway

 DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will continue the 2017 points championship schedule at Oswego Speedway in Oswego, New York, on Saturday night. The Toyota Mod Classic 150 presented by McDonald’s is the 12th of 16 races for the 2017 season. Below is a statistical look at the race, including selected driver notes:

Toyota Mod Classic 150 Race Setup:

With just five races remaining on the 2017 schedule, the top five in the point standings are seperated by just 14 points. Ryan Preece holds a two point lead over Doug Coby, while Rowan Pennink sits third, just three points back. Preece has four wins and sits in the lead even though he missed a race at Langley, while Coby finally was able to breakthrough and take his first win of the season last time out at Seekonk. The Toyota Mod Classic 150 is just the second Tour stop at the oval in the last decade and is the only stop at the track this year.

At Oswego Speedway:

• A .625-mile asphalt oval, Oswego Speedway has operated continuously since its opening in 1951, when a .375-mile dirt oval was built out of an existing track for horses. It was paved a year later, and in 1961 it was expanded to its current size.
• Considered by many to be the “Indy of the East,” the track’s Supermodifieds have seen Indianapolis 500 winners Gordon Johncock and Mario Andretti compete. The speedway played host to nine NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races, four each in 1988 and 1989, as well as the 2016 race.
• Sitting along Lake Ontario, the track holds the annual International Classic 200 for Supermodifieds each Labor Day weekend annually.

• Brian Ross won the first two NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races held at Oswego in 1988.
• Mike McLaughlin (1988), Mike Stefanik (1989) and Doug Coby (2016) all won a race at Oswego during their respective championship seasons.
• Tony Hirschman holds the record for career victories at Oswego with three.

Oswego Data:
Race: #12 of 16 overall
Race Date: Saturday, September 2 at 7:30 p.m. ET
Track Layout: .625-mile banked asphalt oval
Race Length: 150 laps (93.8 miles)

Qualifying/Race Data:
2016 Winner: Doug Coby
2016 Pole Sitter: Bobby Santos
1-lap Qualifying Record: 126.029 mph (Doug Coby, Sept. 2016)

Category Leaders at Oswego:

1. Tony Hirschman … 3
2. Brian Ross … 2
3. Four drivers tied with… 1

Laps Led
1. Tony Hirschman … 385
2. Mike McLaughlin .. 134
3. Brian Ross … 125

Selected Driver Notes:

Justin Bonsignore (No. 51 Phoenix Communications Inc. Chevrolet)
• Has 12 wins, 52 top fives and 73 top 10s in 116 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.
• This season, Bonsignore has eight top 10s in 11 races, but has yet to visit Victory Lane.
• Last season, Bonsignore started sixth and finished third in the Oswego 150.

Doug Coby (No. 2 Mayhew Tools/Dunleavy’s/AJ Romano Construction Chevrolet)
• Four-time champion has one win this season (Seekonk) with seven top fives in 11 races.
• Coby has four straight top-two finishes in Whelen Modified Tour competition and is the defending winner of the Oswego 150.
• Has 23 wins, 72 top fives and 111 top 10s in 199 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.

Eric Goodale (No. 58 GAF Roofing Chevrolet)
• Sits sixth in the point standings with six top 10s in 11 races this season.
• Started 15th and finished 17th in the Oswego 150 last season.
• Has two wins, 18 top fives and 60 top 10s in 129 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.

Matt Hirschman (No. 60 Pee Dee Motorsports Chevrolet)
• Has two career Whelen Modified Tour wins, both in 2011, at Spencer and Chemung.
• Returns to the Tour this weekend after winning the pole last weekend at Seekonk.
• Has three career 250-lap Modified wins at Oswego.
• Served as crew chief for his father, Tony Hirschman, in Tony’s championship years of 2004 and 2005.

Timmy Solomito (No. 16 Starrett Tools Ford)
• Has three wins, six top fives and seven top 10s in the first 11 races this season.
• Sits fourth in the championship standings, just 11 points from the lead with five races left to go.
• Has two straight finishes outside the top 10 because of a crash.

Rowan Pennink (No. 3 Cape Cod Copper Chevrolet)
• Has one win, two top fives and nine top 10s in 11 races so far this season.
• Sits third in the championship standings, just three points from the lead entering Oswego.
• Last season, Pennink started fourth and finished seventh in the Oswego 150.

Jeff Rocco (No. 85 J&R Precast/Stuart’s Autmotive Chevrolet)
• Will make his fourth start of the season at Oswego on Saturday night.
• In his first three races this season, Rocco has a best finish of 15th.

Ryan Preece (No. 6 TS HaulerChevrolet)
• Has four wins, nine top fives and nine top 10s in 10 starts this season.
• Won the 2013 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship.
• Did not run the race at Oswego Speedway last season.

Ted Christopher (No. 82 Horton Avenue Materials Chevrolet)
• Has 42 wins, 133 top fives and 203 top 10s in 371 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.
• Has eight starts this season with two top fives.
• Has a best finish of third this season at Thompson in August.

Matt Swanson (No. 89 Starrett Tools Ford)
• Has three top fives and 13 top 10s in 33 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.
• Finished fourth in the Seekonk 150 last Saturday.
• Last season, he started 12th and finished 21st in the Oswego Speedway.

Up To Speed:
• This is the 33rd season of NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour racing. The first event was held in 1985 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, won by Richie Evans.
• The 2017 schedule includes 16 points races at nine different tracks, across seven different states. It also includes two non-points events at New Hampshire Motor Speedway and Charlotte Motor Speedway.
• Following the Toyota Mod Classic 150, the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will return to Riverhead Raceway on Sept. 16.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *