Rocco Continues To Roll Along At The Speedbowl

-Fourteen-Year-Old Andrew Molleur Snags Second Win Of The Year-

 WATERFORD, CT (August 5, 2017): Keith Rocco took down the 35-lap SK Feature for the fourth time in 2017, and for the 142nd time in his career. It was Todd Owen’s grabbing the lead as the green flag flew. It wasn’t long for Teddy Christopher to power his way to the lead. With Christopher pacing the field it was Rocco working around the high side to move into second. The Berlin, CT driver used the inside groove to move past Christopher and had to hold off a quick charging Kyle James and cruised to the checkered flag for the win. Rounding out the top five was Rocco, Kyle James, Christopher, Owens and Dylan Izzo.

It was the first event for The Mr. Rooter Pro Truck Series event since merging with The NLWS Trucks. The duo held group qualifying with the first group representing positions 11th to 20th as the second group would battle for the pole. The 35-lap feature has a twist to it tonight. The caution laps would count for the first thirty laps with the remaining five laps to be run under green flag conditions. Mr. Rooter regular Frank Dumicich Jr started on the pole and shot out to the lead. Dumicich Jr held off the challenges first by NLWS Regular Duane Noll for two restarts then had to worry about Joshua Stringer. With the red flag waving as Jordan Churchill planted his #25 Truck into the turn three wall. The restart saw the #42 of Dumicich Jr running on the high side leaving the inside open for Stringer. The duo would battle side by side coming to the finish line. It appeared that the #42 Truck of Dumicich Jr crossed the line ahead of Stringer. But the outcome had Dumicich Jr penalized one sport for aggressive driving giving Stringer the win. It was a clean sweep for Stringer as he also took down TNLWS Truck win as well.

North Franklin, CT Chris Meyer took down his second win of the season in the 25-lap Limited Sportsman feature. It was a two-car battle as Meyer and Al Stone battled and swapped the lead a few times but Meyer’s car was getting stronger while Stone’s #52 was going away. As the dual checkers waved it was Meyer, Stone, Jordan Hadley who was trying to make it a three-car race, Monte Gibbs followed by Adrien Paradis.

The first of four races for the Pro 4 Modified Connecticut Championship was taken by Rob Richard in the #0. Richard who had issues in practice and in group qualifying started scratch on the field and maneuvered through the field for win number one in the championship. Doug Meservey Jr looked like he had his sites on the first win but just faded at the end and Richard claimed the 25-lap event. Rounding the top five were Richard, Dan Meservey (who put this championship together) Meservey Jr, PJ Peters and Steve Dumas. PJ Peters was the first Light car to cross the finished capturing the awards with that feat.

Shelton, CT Andrew Molleur is starting to make a name for himself in the SK Lite division at The Speedbowl. The fourteen-year-old Molleur show pure power and grabbed the lead from Ethan Durocher, who is also fourteen years old. For Durocher, it was his highest finish in just his sixth career race, the two youngsters battled side by side for a handful of laps until Molleur powered his way for the win using the outside lane to claim the 25-lap event. The win for Molleur was his second in 2017.

The 25-lap Mini Stock feature started off quick, with anybody in the top ten able to take the checkered flag. As the dust settled it was Wayne Burroughs Jr taking his second win of the season. When the green waved it looked like it was going to be all Nicholas Pappacoda in the #6 car, then joining the duo was Jordan Hadley and the group battled for the lead. The trio went three wide at times, but when it was over it was Burroughs Jr taking his second win this season. Joining Burroughs Jr in the top five were Hadley, Sean Caron, Pappacoda and Charles Canfield.

SK Modified (35-laps) Keith Rocco, Kyle James, Ted Christopher, Todd Owen, Dylan Izzo, Rob Janovic Jr, Paul Buzel, Jeff Fialkovich, Joshua Zentek

Mr. Rooter Pro Truck Series (35-laps) Joshua Stringer, Frank Dumicich Jr, Duane Noll, Corey Coates, Todd Taylor, Gerard Giordano Jr, Jim Boyle, Rick Ashlaw, Dave Koening, Andy Linderman, Dale Owen, Shayne Young, Eric Finkbein, Jordan Churchill, Alex Canestrari, Brian Norman, Allen Coates, Frank Dumicich Sr, Jeff Karns

NLWS Trucks (Combination Race) Joshua Stringer, Duane Noll, Todd Taylor, Jim Boyle, Shayne Young, Jordan Churchill, Brian Norman, Jeff Karns

Limited Sportsman (25-laps) Chris Meyer, Al Stone III, Jordan Hadley, Monte Gibbs, Adrien Paradis III, Charles Beal, Jason Chicolas, Jon Porter, Bo Norman, Jaysin Beal, Darrell Carlson, Ryan Waterman, Ritt Shawn, Brandon Fisher

Pro 4 Modifieds (25-laps) Rob Richard, Dan Meservey Sr, Doug Meservey Jr, PJ Peters, Steve Dumas, Mark Charette, Dion Doyle, Jacob Perry, Henry Sarigno

SK Lite Modifieds (25-laps) Andrew Molleur, Ethan Durocher, John O’Sullivan, Alan Gombos, Dana DiMatteo, John Bergenty, Chris Gombos, Glenn Griswold, Calvin Therrien, Wayne Burroughs, Bert Ouellette, Scott Witt, Brian Narducci

Mini Stock (25-laps) Wayne Burroughs, Jordan Hadley, Sean Caron, Nicholas Pappacoda, Charles Canfield, Christopher Ivory, Matthew Guertin, Andrew Krzeminski, Evan Bourgerois, Ken Kerttula, Jacob Perry, Ken Cassidy Jr, Ian Brew, Matt Brown, Dale Sherman, Douglas Curry, Bill Sylvia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *