Photo:Michael Jaworecki Myracenews
WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Andrew Krause of Holmdel and Jackson’s Steven Reed were feature race winners Saturday night when Wall Stadium Speedway presented Twin 40 lap races for the Freehold Ford Modified stock cars. The first race victory was Krause’s third of the season while Reed’s win was his second of the year.
That first 40-lap Modified main event came down to a battle for the lead between Manchester’s Shanon Mongeau and Krause that lasted the entire second half of the race. With no cautions waving to slow the pace during this stretch Krause kept constant pressure on Mongeau during the high speed chase. On the final lap the duo fought for the win exiting the second turn when their cars touched with Krause continuing on as Mongeau’s car slammed the guardrail and flipped over as a result. Mongeau was not injured. Due to the extreme damage sustained by the guardrail and the repairs needed the race was called official at that point.
Krause was the winner with point leader Jimmy Blewett of Howell, Reed, Manasquan’s Kenny Van Wickle and Derek Hopkinson of Toms River completing the top five.
“Our car was very fast and I just kept the pressure on him,” Krause said after the race. “It was a great race right until the end, but I wish it ended with both of us on the track.”
In the Modified nightcap Van Wickle was the early leader as Krause, Blewett, Reed and others fought for spots behind him. Several cars then tangled early with point leader Blewett, among others, being knocked from the race. When action settled down Reed ran second to Van Wickle and applied the pressure before racing into the lead before halfway. Reed then raced on to the win with Hopkinson, Chas Okerson of Freehold, Mongeau, who hitched a ride in the Scott Brannick No. 51, and Krause wrapping up the top five. Van Wickle recovered from a mid-race spin to finish seventh.
“That was a great race for the lead with Kenny (Van Wickle),” Reed said after the race. “He really knows hop to drive one of these and hold his line. I am impressed. You watch, he will win a lot of races.”
Dedicating the victory to his grandmother who passed away earlier in the day, John McCormick of Farmingdale won the 25-lapper for the Snap On Sportsman cars. Nick Shaw of Warren challenged almost all the way before finishing second with Howell’s Eric Lane, Tyler True of Mayettta and Jackson’s Kyle Scisco wrapping up the top five.
Mike Alcaro of West Milford raced his his fifth win on the year in the Green Flag Driving Experience Legend Cars 25-lapper. Defending champ Louie Keraitis fought for the top spot for several laps before finishing second. Howell’s Robert French, Brick’s Chris Gall and Brian Spencer of Old Bridge were third through fifth.
Former champion Brian Doyle of Ronkonkoma, N.Y. won the 25 lap race for the Elite Maintenance Limited Late Models over Cole Ormsbee of Wall, Bayville’s Mike Tillett, Greg Miranda of Hazlet and Jackson’s Glen Conk.
The touring open cockpit TQ Midgets ran two main events on the “inner oval” with Matt Janish of Nazareth, Pa. winning both. Ryan Tidman was second in each race. In a special 15-lapper for theSunday Series MicroModifieds Brick’s Chris Gall took the win.
Racing returns this Saturday night September 16 with the Freehold Ford Modifieds battling in a 40 lap main event. The Sportsman cars, Factory Stocks, 4 Cylinder Stocks and Elite Maintenance Limited Late Models will all see feature race action. The “Ladies Night” festivities will also offer a $10 discount admission to all ladies and several of the speedway’s top female drivers will participate in an autograph session. Pit area will open at 1:00 p.m. with practice running from 3:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. Grandstands will open at 5:00 p.m. Qualifying starts at 5:45 p.m. and main event action starts at 7:00 p.m.
More information on Wall Stadium and the 2017 Saturday night schedule can be obtained by visiting the website at
Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is
1ST MODIFIED FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. ANDREW KRAUSE, HOLMDEL, 2. Jimmy Blewett, 3. Steven Reed, 4. Kenny Van Wickle, 5. Derek Hopkinson, 6. Chas Okerson, 7. Jason Hearne, 8. Shaun Carrig, 9. Jason Treat, 10. Scott Brannick, 11. Shanon Mongeau, 12. Tom Catanzaro, 13. Blake Barney, 14. Ken Woolley, 15. Ricky Collins
2ND MOFIEID FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. STEVEN REED, JACKSON, 2Hopkinson, 3. Okerson, 4. Mongeau, 5. Krause, 6. Woolley, 7. Van Wickle, 8. Carrig, 9. Treat, 10. Blewett, 11. Hearne, 12. Catanzano, 13. Barney, 14. Collins
SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 50 Laps – 1. JOHN MCCORMICK, FARMINGDALE, 2. Nick Shaw, 3. Eric Lane, 4. Tyler Truex, 5. Kyle Scisco, 6. Jarret DiGiantomasso, 7. Jon Laureigh, 8. Carsten DiGiantomasso, 9. Kevin Davison, 10. Matt Langbein, 11. John Blewett IV, 12. Jake Nelke, 13. Mike Tidaback, 14. Roland DeMartino
LEGEND CARS FEAURE – 25 Laps – 1. MIKE ALCARO, WEST MILFORD, 2. Louie Keraitis, 3. Robert French, 4. Chris Gall, 5. Brian Spencer, 6. Nick Van Wickle, 7. DJ Doyle, 8. Tom Stavola, 9. Rover Nickerson, 10. Alex McCollum
LIMITED LATE MODEL FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. BRIAN DOYLE, RONKONKOMA, N.Y., 2. Cole Ormsbee, 3. Mike Tillett, 4. Greg Miranda, 5. Glen Conk, 6. harry Schaeffer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *