62nd Budweiser International Classic Weekend to Include ISMA Supernationals on Saturday, September 1

Photo Michael Jaworecki Myracenews.

OSWEGO, NY (November 20, 2017) – For the 24th consecutive season, Saturday of Budweiser International Classic Weekend at Oswego Speedway is set to include the always entertaining winged warriors of the International Supermodified Association on September 1.

While a second division for Classic Saturday 2018 is still to be announced, it is confirmed that Friday will once again include ‘Pole Day’ time trials for Supermodifieds and Small Block Supers while Sunday, September 2 will see the Budweiser International Classic 200 for the non-wing Supermodifieds plus the Bud Light Classic 75 for the SBS.

“We are looking forward to again having the ISMA Supernationals as part of our schedule for the 62nd running of Classic Weekend,” said speedway public relations director Camden Proud. “ISMA has become a very important part of our longstanding Classic tradition for the past 20 years and that is something we hope to continue for many seasons to come.”

All of ISMA’s biggest stars including 2017 champion Jon McKennedy, runner-up Tim Jedrzejek, teammates Trent Stephens and Moe Lilje and front runners Dan Bowes, Mike McVetta, Mark Sammut, Mike Lichty, Chris Perley, Dave Shullick Jr, Michael Muldoon, Dave McKnight, Mike Ordway Jr, Dave Danzer, Kyle Edwards, Tim Snyder, and more are expected to be in attendance this September for what is the only winged Supermodified event on Oswego’s 2018 schedule thus far.

The first ‘ISMA Supernationals’ 60 was contested back in the 1994 season, when one Bentley Warren went to victory lane to add to his illustrious list of checkered flags on Classic Weekend. Since then, there have been twelve different winners in the prestigious 60-lap contest including Lichty, Jedrzejek, and Shullick who have dominated the event in the past five seasons. Oswego’s all-time winged Super winner Perley has also won the Supernationals an impressive five times.

ISMA’s schedule for its 42nd season of competition, revealed over the weekend, will include 12 unique feature events in 2018, including its first trips to the Monadnock Speedway in New Hampshire on May 19, as well as Jukasa Motor Speedway (formerly Cayuga) in Ontario on Saturday, July 14.

The tour will also have a return stop at Lancaster Speedway, just 2 hours from Oswego, on Saturday, June 2 with the speedway off that week to work in conjunction with the ISMA show.

Other familiar venues on the schedule include Delaware Speedway on June 1, Lee USA Speedway on August 10, New London Waterford Speedbowl on August 11, Delaware again on August 18, and Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park for the World Series of Racing on October 13 and 14.

Sandusky Speedway’s Hy-Miler and Star Speedway’s ‘Classic,’ the two other events in Supermodified racing’s Triple Crown, will once again take place on their regular dates of July 28 and September 8, respectively.

The 62nd running of Budweiser International Classic Weekend will commence from Friday, August 31 to Sunday, September 2 of 2018.

Oswego Speedway’s full 2018 schedule has been posted online at OswegoSpeedway.com. Pricing, times and season ticket information will all be revealed in the coming weeks as well as rule books for the Supermodifieds and SBS.

For further updates on Oswego Speedway, you can FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway. Fans can also LIKE on Facebook at Facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.


1994 – Bentley Warren

1995 – Chris Perley

1996 – Chris Perley

1997 – Chris Perley

1998 – Joey Payne

1999 – Gary Albritain

2000 – Dave McKnight

2001 – Dave McKnight

2002 – Tim Jedrzejek

2003 – Greg Furlong

2004 – Bobby Santos III

2005 – Nokie Fonoro

2006 – Bentley Warren

2007 – Dave Shullick Jr.

2008 – Chris Perley

2009 – Tim Jedrzejek

2010 – Ben Seitz

2011 – Chris Perley

2012 – Tim Jedrzejek

2013 – Mike Lichty

2014 – Dave Shullick Jr.

2015 – Tim Jedrzejek

2016 – Dave Shullick Jr.

2017 – Mike Lichty

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *