Zeiner Cashes In at Plum Air Allstar 100

Helberg Wins after Factory Stock post-race inspection, O’Neill Wins by inches, and Paciotti Cruises to Opening Day Win.

The main event for the day was the much-anticipated Plum Air Allstar 100. Zeiner was on a mission Sunday afternoon.

After a quick two Factory Stock heats, the Late Model time trials were the first order of business for the day and going out fourth in line, it looked as though Zeiner had pulled a bad pill draw, but Zeiner ended up with a qualifying lap of 14.181, which was the fastest lap for the entire field. Kyle Harvell, Steve Shultz, Luke Hinkley, and Jerick Johnson completed the top five qualifying Late Models for the Plum Air Allstar 100.

Zeiner would bring the field to the green flag. Four laps would be scored before the first yellow flag of the day flew for the 99 driven by Nick Ross whose day would end early for a fluid leak.

Green flag racing resumed once again with Zeiner in the lead, over Shultz and Harvell. On lap number 7 things got a little hairy over in turn 4 as Paul Koehler Jr, George Ramos III, and Frank Hughes would be collected in a minor fender bender. During the 3-lap green flag run, Hinkley had worked his way into the 2nd spot around Shultz.

After working the outside, set his sights on Zeiner. The lap 7 restart saw Zeiner, Hinkley, Shultz, Johnson and Bob Weber in the top 5. The laps begin to click off quickly as everyone got the opening day jitters out and a staggering 46 laps of clean green flag racing followed. After the green flag was out again, the laps continued to click off. Things began to heat up but Zeiner would still hold the lead over Shultz however, Johnson would begin his march for the leaders over Weber and Travis Fisher.

Just 3 laps later the 3rd caution of the event flew for Mitch Hawk and Todd Cooper who both spun in turn 2 which lead to the lengthiest caution of the afternoon coming on lap 58. That quick of a caution while coming to a restart also took out Chola Shay, Larry Fisher, Austin Kochenash and Bob Weber. Mitch Hawk and Broc Brown were also collected but ended up returning to the speedway.

As the laps began to click off Mike Sweeney who started in the 12th spot would crack the top 5 with about 40 to go. Zeiner would cruise to victory over Sweeney, Shultz, Brown and Mike Parks.

A two-hundred-dollar fast timer award went to Zane Zeiner as well courtesy of victory lane sponsor CK Auto Service and Race Fab. Todd Cooper who started 23rd and ended up finishing 11th won the 200-dollar Cascioli Towing and Ridgeline Roofing Hard Charger award, along with the fans choice to make the starting lineup in the feature.

Joey Helberg who has plans to run the entire 2018 Factory Stock season at Evergreen Raceway looked strong all day, in his number 72 factory stock.

Rookie of the year contender Derek Berlitz would lead the field to the green flag for their first feature event of the season with Casagrande and Helberg in tow. On lap number 2 Casagrande would move around Berlitz but the move was later determined to be illegal by track officials as Casagrande passed below the lines in turns 1 and 2. Casagrande was penalized 2 positions and restarted 3rd.

3 laps later Berlitz would spin and Casagrande would be moved to 3rd for the restart. Casagrande would cruise to the stripe first over Helberg, Stephanie Moyer, Berlitz and Mark Tyson. Casagrande would later be disqualified in post-race inspection handing the win to Helberg. Heat race winners were Casagrande and Helberg.

When Harry O’Neill hits the track anywhere you know there is about to be a thrilling show for the fans and that held true when O’Neill would squeeze out his first win in the 2018 season over Joey Barbush at a margin of less than 0.023 seconds. O’Neill did not have it easy however as he started up front he was involved in a mid-race incident involving Rebecca Barbush which put him to the back of the field. He would have to come from the back but with one lap remaining, he would work the outside of Barbush for win number 1 of the season. O’Neill, Beau Drobot and Jimmy Ayre would collect heat race wins.

The final event of the afternoon would be a 40-lap street stock feature. For the next 15 laps positions 4 through 8 where hotly contested as Mike Pollack, Broc Brown, Jon Moser and defending champion Randy Schlenker would race, side by side for 10 laps. Paciotti would cruise to the victory over Todd Ahner, Schlenker, Moser and Pollack.

Evergreen staff would like to thank all our sponsors for their help with the 2018 season. Fairway Chevrolet, Harry’s U-Pull It, American Rental Equipment, Sponenbergs Exhaust, Barbush Auto Sales, S&D Body Line, CK Auto Service and Race Fab, Rock Auto and Evan’s Roadhouse.

. We also want to thank Plum Air for their sponsorship of this fantastic season opener event. We also want to recognize Franzosa Trucking, Wanick Construction, Paul’s Towing, and Wreck Transport for their assistance.

Late Models: 1. Zeiner 2. Sweeney 3. Shultz 4. Brown 5. Parks 6. Hinkley 7. Kyle Harvell 8. Travis Fisher 9. Francis Gross III 10. Mitch Hawk 11. Todd Cooper 12. Frank Hughes 13. Bob Weber 14. Jerick Johnson 15. Paul Koehler Jr. 16. Chola Shay 17. Larry Fisher 18. Austin Kochenash 19. Lorin Arthofer 20. Danny Cascioli 21. George Ramos III 22. Nick Ross 23. Jarrod Hayes DNQ Brian Romig Jr, Rob Kutz

Factory Stocks: 1. Helberg 2. Moyer 3. Berlitz 4. Tyson 5. Chris Trumbauer 6. Catherine Strawser 7. Bryan Oshea. DQ Tom Casagrande

4 Cylinders: 1. Harry O’Neill 2. Joey Barbush 3. Bob Azarowicz 4. Beau Drobot 5. Rebecca Barbush 6. Ray Kochin 7. Pete Maier 8. Jimmy Ayre 9. Sam Danaher 10. Shawn Kistler 11. Rich Mutarelli 12. Don Rogers 13. Bob Doknovith 14. Zeb Farber

Street Stocks: 1. Richard Paciotti 2. Todd Ahner 3. Randy Schlenker 4. Moser 5. Pollack 6. Dan Pawlicki 7. Aaron Kromer 8. Brian Halecki 9. Kevin Makarewicz 10. Broc Brown 11. Frank Petroski 12. Brian Sones 13. Scott Adams 14. Jim Yamelski

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *