All posts by Myracenews

Valenti Modified Racing Series Goes Green At Monadnock Saturday

VMRS2014LogoCanaan, NH. – 13 years ago Kirk Alexander was in prep mode ready to try something new. The Modified Racing Series was set to debut at Monadnock Speedway, Winchester, NH.

Right off the trailer Alexander was fast that night. Potent enough to win the series opener and lay the foundation to become the all-time Valenti Modified Racing Series winner.

Alexander hopes to add to that total this Saturday night when the VMRS kicks off a 16-race schedule at the popular ¼ mile facility with the running of the Bond Auto Parts ‘Spring Dash 100.’ Alexander has garnered 31-series victories.

Fresh off a practice day a week ago at Monadnock where Alexander reeled off fast laps throughout the shake down session, the 16-time winner at his home track was pleased how things went first time out.  He clocked a 12.7 lap time before the day was over in the John Corliss owned # 43.

“I made changes to the car,” Alexander said this week. “Changed some geometry. The car is more stable and has more forward bite. Reminds me of my old car.”

Alexander hopes to have a better season than last. “Worst luck I have ever had in a race car. Nothing went right. Hopefully the changes we have made will make for a better season.”

Woody Pitkat, of Sturbridge, MA, the reigning Valenti Modified Racing Series Champion is entered for Saturday’s race. Pitkat, after the 2015 season, moved to a race team fielded by longtime racer Dan Stebbins, of Bernardston, MA.  With Pitkat, last years championship team members including crew chief, Greg Feldon, Bob Norris, and Jason O’Grodnick  also moved to the Stebbins entry.

Former Series Champion Chris Pasteryak, of Jewett City, CT., will compete this weekend in a brand new Troyer mount. The new car last year now becomes a new ride for his father Charlie to be run in selected events.

Former Monadnock Champion Todd Patnode, of Richmond, NH is entered for the Spring Dash 100 lap race.  Jon McKennedy, of East Chelmsford, MA, already a two-time winner this season in PASS South Series competition, is an expected entry.

Richard Savary, of Canton, MA, Todd Annarummo, of Swansea, MA, Matt Mead, of Richmond, NH, and Long Island, NY’s Dave Schneider are slated to compete.

Newcomers Ryan Kuhn, of East Bridgewater, MA, son of former series regular Jimmy Kuhn, and 15-year old T.J Bleau, of Troy, NH, will debut this weekend.

Saturday’s race program begins at 5:00 PM.

Small Car Enduro and ATQMRA join stock car line-up this Saturday

Mahoning(LEHIGHTON, Pa. 4-26-16) Coming off a great night that was highlighted by the 2016 opening event for the Race of Champions Tour, Mahoning Valley Speedway gets back to business this coming Saturday, April 30 with all six regular track divisions which include Modifieds, Late Models, Street Sticks, Dirt Mods, Pro 4s and Hobby Stocks.

Also included in the night’s action will be the American Three Quarter Midget Racing Association (ATQMRA) ¾ Midgets and a Small Car Enduro.

The ATQMRA is coming off its first event of the season this past weekend at New Jersey’s Wall Stadium where Greg Sutton drove the Metz Driver Development BGF Engine 461 to his career first victory over multi-time club champion Ryan Tidman.

Sutton, who has won at Mahoning Valley in an Xcel 600 Modified, will look to make it two in a row on Saturday night. It won’t come easy though, as the ATQMRA gang has always come loaded for bear whenever they attack the ¼-mile paved oval and considering there was a full field of TQ’s at Wall, Mahoning fans can expect much of the same from the cars that have been recorded as the fastest to ever turn a lap here. High 90 to over 100+ mph is the norm.

At the conclusion of the night’s features, the first of several Small Car Enduro’s that are inked for this year will take place.

For years Enduro’s have been a fan favorite at Mahoning. Most of the timed events have gone over 200 laps so drivers will get more than their share of track time.

The cost to enter the Enduro is $40 per car and $25 per driver which includes the transponder fee.

If 24 or less cars are entered the top four will be paid with $400 for first, $225 for second, $125 for third and $75 to fourth.

If 25 or more cars are signed in first place bumps up to $500 with $300, $175, $100 and $75 for positions 2-5 respectively. For every additional 10 cars above 25 the purse and payout spots will be adjusted accordingly.

Enduro drivers are asked to call Dale Santee at 484-225-1649 about any rules or other concerns.

The recently announced Jr. Enduro class, which is designed for ages 12-18, will have its first event coming up soon.

For additional information please log onto or on Facebook at Mahoning Valley Speedway.

Korner Brothers Lead INEX Legends into National Qualifier at Thompson

Icebreaker, Road Race Style First Pair of Points Events at Thompson in 2016

STONINGTON, CT – When the US Legends cars made their debut on Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park’s (TSMP) 1.7-mile road course last May, the race was reviewed by many as the best to be held on the newly renovated circuit. The immediate success prompted OTB Promotions, Inc. to begin work on a full season series for 2016.  The result is a five-event, 10-race championship sponsored by Midstate Site Development (MSD), a Connecticut-based construction company.  The first of those five events is part of the Icebreaker, Road Race Style, scheduled for Friday, April 29.

Inaugural Formula Lites Qualifying of the Open Wheel Weekend at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.
Inaugural Formula Lites Qualifying of the Open Wheel Weekend at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.

Noah and Glenn Korner, who both raced in the inaugural event in 2015, are enthusiastic about returning to Thompson.

“I really love that road course.  It’s unique because of how much flow it has to it,” Noah explained.  Glenn, a chemical engineering major at UCONN, expanded on that, “The track is smooth. It has lots of grip and a wide groove, which helps me hone my skills.”

Throughout the winter, the Korner brothers and their Midstate Motorsports team have been traveling throughout the country in search of opportunities to gain seat time. Their travels have taken them to North Carolina, Florida, and even Texas.  The brothers are hopeful that they’ve gained a lot of experience and can use that to achieve their goals in the MSD Legends Series.

“I’m looking to beat my times from 2015,” Noah, a construction management major at Central Connecticut State University, remarked.  “By the end of the season, I am hoping for some race wins, to be able to race with Buffington and those guys.”

Glenn is looking for a “podium finish by season’s end.” On the larger scale, the eldest Korner is “trying to get a top five in the World Finals.”

The Korner brothers will be joined by 2015 INEX Connecticut State Road Course Champions, Shaun Buffington and Tom Gray, at the Icebreaker, Road Race Style. Optional practice for MSD Legends teams will take place Thursday afternoon, with practice, two qualifying sessions, and racing all happening on Friday.

For more information about the event, please visit the event page on  You also can follow them on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

For more information about OTB Promotions, please visit, or follow them on Facebook and Twitter.