Category Archives: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

NWMT New Hampshire FW Webb 100 9/23/17 Entry List

01 Melissa Fifield, Wakefield, N.H. Eastern Propane & Oil Chevrolet Kenneth Fifield Glen Billings
2 Doug Coby, Milford, Conn. Mayhew Tools/Dunleavy/AJ Romano Const. Chevrolet Mike Smeriglio III Philip Moran
3 Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa. Cape Cod Copper Chevrolet Jan Boehler Greg Fournier
6 Jon McKennedy, Chelmsford, Mass. TS Hauler Chevrolet Ed Partridge Jeff Preece
07 Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, N.Y. Buffalo Auto Auction Chevrolet Jennifer Emerling Jan Leafy
7 Donny Lia, Jericho, N.Y. Bardahl Chevrolet Tommy Baldwin Tommy Baldwin
15 Chase Dowling, Roxbury, Conn. 15-40 Connection Chevrolet Rob Fuller Steve Garrepy
16 Timmy Solomito, Islip, N.Y. Starrett Tools Ford Eric Sanderson Stanley Szaban
20 Max Zachem, Preston, Conn. Course Legend/Robert B Our Chevrolet Ken Zachem Steve Lemay
21 Ronnie Williams, Ellington, Conn. * Gershow Recycling Chevrolet Joe Bertuccio, Sr. Stash Butova
24 Andrew Krause, Holmdel, N.J. Supreme Manufacturing Chevrolet Cliff Krause John Cooke
26 Gary McDonald, Ronkonkoma, N.Y. Lakeland Landscaping Supply/TRC Electric Chevrolet Sean McDonald Gary McDonald
29 Brendon Bock, Franklin Square, N.Y. Meadowbrook Collision Chevrolet George Bock Glenn Dixon
33 Wade Cole, Hartland, Conn. Performance Engines/Kendall Oil Chevrolet Wade Cole Richard Rodenbaugh
36 Dave Sapienza, Riverhead, N.Y. Sapienza Enterprise Chevrolet Judy Thilburg Tommy Grasso
38 TBA Performance Engines/Kendall Oil/Ryan’s Oil Chevrolet Linda Rodenbaugh Robert Bourne
39 Calvin Carroll, Newton, N.J. * Power with Prestige/Cruising w/Betty Chevrolet Joe Carroll Geary Rinehimer
44 Bobby Santos, Franklin, Mass. Tinio Racing/ Sully Tinio Bob Santos
46 Craig Lutz, Miller Place, N.Y. Riverhead Building Supply Chevrolet Russell Goodale Doug Ogiejko
51 Justin Bonsignore, Holtsville, N.Y. Phoenix Communications Inc. Chevrolet Ken Massa William Michael
58 Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y. GAF Roofing Chevrolet Edgar Goodale Jason Shephard
64 Rob Summers, Manchester, Conn. Hoosier Tire East/Fast Track Chevrolet Mike Murphy Ron Yuhas, Jr.
70 Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H. Rockingham Boat Chevrolet Steve Seuss Steve Seuss
77 Ryan Newman, South Bend, Ind. Menards/Curb Records Chevrolet Mike Curb Theodore Musgrave, Jr.
78 Walter Sutcliffe Jr., East Haven, Conn.*. Last Minute Racing Chevrolet Steven Sutcliffe Kevin Anderson
82 Woody Pitkat, Stafford, Conn. Horton Avenue Materials Chevrolet Danny Watts Jr. Aaron Clifford
85 Jeff Rocco, Wallingford, Conn. Stuarts Automotive/J&R Pre-Cast Chevrolet Robert Katon Jr. Kenny Stuart
89 Matt Swanson, Acton, Mass. Starrett Tools Ford John Swanson Ken Barry
97 Anthony Nocella, Woburn, Mass. Nocella Pavings/Airgas Chevrolet Anthony Nocella TBA
99 Jamie Tomaino, Howell, N.J. Dunleavy’s Repair/Atlantic Sprinkler Chevrolet Cheryl Tomaino Trey Tomano

* Denotes Sunoco Rookie of the Year candidate

Photo: Getty Images for NASCAR

Solomito Scores Crucial Win at Riverhead

Photo: Michael Jaworecki Myracenews

Fourth Win of 2017 Keeps Him in NASCAR Whelen Modified Title Hunt

 RIVERHEAD, N.Y. – Timmy Solomito needed a win to keep pace in the frantic NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship race. He got it at his home track.

The 25-year-old from Islip, New York, powered by Doug Coby with four laps left to take the Miller Lite 200 checkered flag Saturday night at Riverhead Raceway.

Solomito, dominant for the first two-thirds of the event in the No. 16 Starrett Racing Ford, was outmaneuvered by Coby in lap traffic for the lead on Lap 155. The four-time tour titlists Coby was poised for his first career win at Riverhead, but Solomito recaptured the lead on the fronstretch on Lap 196 and drove to the checkers.

It marked Solomito’s fourth win of the season and eighth of his career. Earlier in the day he captured the Coors Light Pole Award.

Coby held on for second with rookie Kyle Soper third, Ryan Preece fourth and Justin Bonsignore fifth. CJ Lehmann, Dillon Steuer, Kyle Ellwood, Eric Goodale and Rob Summer brought home the top 10.

Solomito had finished 15th or worse in two of his last three starts, and hadn’t been to Victory Lane since the last time the tour was at Riverhead in June. After leading the points after the first 10 races, he had slipped back to fourth.

The win brought Solomito to within nine points of the championship lead, still maintained by Preece with 500. Coby is second at 494 with Solomito at 491.

Prior to green flag, news broke that 2008 Whelen Modified Tour Champion Ted Christopher passed away in a plane crash en route to Riverhead, and his impact on the sport was recognized in an impromptu pre-race ceremony. Christopher had been scheduled to compete in the event in the No. 82 Horton Avenue Materials Chevrolet.

STORY: Champion Christopher Passes Away

The Whelen Modified Tour will return to action next Saturday, Sept. 23 with the F.W. Webb 100 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, the 14th of 16 races on the 2017 calendar.

The Miller Lite 200 will air on NBCSN on Thursday, Sept. 21 at 6 p.m.

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour-Miller Lite 200 Results


At Riverhead Raceway

Riverhead, N.Y.

Lap length: 0.25 miles

(Start position in parentheses)

  1. (1) Timmy Solomito, Islip, N.Y., Ford, 200 laps, 53.603 mph.
  2. (4) Doug Coby, Milford, Conn., Chevrolet, 200.
  3. (2) Kyle Soper, Manorville, N.Y., Chevrolet, 200.
  4. (13) Ryan Preece, Berlin, Conn., Chevrolet, 200.
  5. (15) Justin Bonsignore, Holtsville, NY, Chevrolet, 200.
  6. (12) CJ Lehmann, Shirley, Pa., Chevrolet, 200.
  7. (3) Dillon Steuer, Bohemia, N.Y., Chevrolet, 200.
  8. (6) Kyle Ellwood, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 200.
  9. (17) Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 200.
  10. (10) Rob Summers, Manchester, CT, Chevrolet, 200.
  11. (8) Ronnie Williams, Ellington, Conn., Chevrolet, 199.
  12. (23) Walter Sutcliffe Jr., East Haven, Conn., Chevrolet, 198.
  13. (19) Wade Cole, Hartland, Conn., Chevrolet, 197.
  14. (5) Dave Sapienza, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 197.
  15. (7) Max Zachem, Preston, Conn., Chevrolet, 197.
  16. (16) Cory Oslund, East Hampton, N.Y., Ford, 197.
  17. (18) Calvin Carroll, Newton, N.J., Chevrolet, 197.
  18. (14) Craig Lutz, Miller Place, N.Y., Chevrolet, 196.
  19. (20) Matt Swanson, Acton, Mass., Ford, 194.
  20. (21) Gary McDonald, Ronkonkoma, N.Y., Chevrolet, 193.
  21. (11) Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa., Chevrolet, 163, accident.
  22. (9) Roger Turbush, Calverton, N.Y., Chevrolet, 132, rear end.
  23. (22) Melissa Fifield, Wakefield, N.H., Chevrolet, 6, handling.
  24. (24) Ted Christopher, Plainville, Conn., Chevrolet, 0, dns.

Race Statistics

Time of Race: 0 hours 55 minutes 58 seconds

Margin of Victory: 0.610 seconds

Fastest Qualifier: T.Solomito (74.894 mph, 12.017 seconds)

Caution Flags: 6 for 46 laps.

Lead Changes: 4 among 3 drivers.

Lap Leaders: T. Solomito 1-22; K. Soper 23; T. Solomito 24-154; D. Coby 155-195; T.

Solomito 196-200.

Standings: 1. R. Preece, 500; 2. D. Coby, 494; 3. T. Solomito, 491; 4. J. Bonsignore,

476; 5. R. Pennink, 467; 6. E. Goodale, 453; 7. D. Sapienza, 417; 8. M. Swanson, 405; 9.

  1. Zachem, 402; 10. R. Summers, 394.

NASCAR Statement On Ted Christopher

“We are all saddened to learn of the tragic plane crash this afternoon that claimed the lives of NASCAR driver Ted Christopher and the aircraft’s pilot,” said NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France.

“As a championship driver on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and New England short tracks, Christopher was a throwback to NASCAR’s roots. He was a tough racer’s racer, and his hard driving style and candid personality endeared him to short track fans throughout the country. He will be missed throughout the racing community, in the garage and, especially, in the hearts of his many fans. NASCAR has his family and friends in its thoughts and prayers during this difficult time.”