Category Archives: Tri Track Open Modified Series


EPPING, NH- The “4th Annual Chuck Montville Car Owner Award” will return to Star Speedway on July 30, highlighting the prerace festivities at “SBM 125 V”. The prestigious event returns after a one year hiatus as part of the Northeast Race Cars Tri-Track Open Modified Series to the Epping, New Hampshire quarter-mile oval.
    The award is voted on by a group of combined media members and devoted Modified enthusiasts, using the criteria of a car owner who exemplifies Chuck’s ‘get along with everyone’ attitude.
    Montville, who was obviously well-liked by his fellow competitors, died unexpectedly in 2013. The first award in his name brought a very emotional ceremony prior to the SBM 125 in June of ’13. The car he owned is among the more than 50 entries already recieved for SBM V, with his driver Les Hinckley still behind the wheel, having bought the car Chuck owned.
    For past recipients, Art Barry, Charlie Pasteryak and David Hill, this award meant much more than the special plaque bearing Montville’s photo and the monetary funds, which totalled $1,054.14 last season. It carries great significance to be judged in such a positive light by those who frequent the pit areas across New England and beyond.
    Montville, a lifelong resident of Windsor Locks, Connecticut put everything he had and more into his effort to bring not only success, but a car that looked immaculate despite a struggle to keep his car on the track financially.
    Donations already committed by Les Hinckley ($106), Les Hinckley Sr. ($106), Bruce Bachta ($100), Ken Zachem ($100), an annonymous but previous Montville award winner ($100), and daughters Stephanie and Kristen Montville ($106) have put this years award currently at $618 plus a special plaque to be presented prior to driver introductions on July 30.
    “His passion for this sport is what brought me and my sister closer to our dad and we couldn’t be more proud of what he accomplished,” Kristen Montville commented. “The continuation of this award to remember him means so much to both of us.”
    The SBM 125 V at Star Speedway on Saturday, July 30 will be the highest paying race in the long and storied history of the Epping, New Hampshire oval, paying a minimum of $10,000 to win and a purse that will be in excess of $50,000 thanks to multiple sponsorship commitments.
    For listings of the many businesses and race fans who are helping make the Star Speedway SBM 125 V and the entire Northeast Tri-Track Open Modified Series of five events a success, and for more information on how to make 2016 even bigger than it already is log onto the site:

The Northeast Race Cars Tri-Track Open Modified Series is Now 48 Entries Strong

Today was the last day to submit your entry for the 2016 Northeast Race Cars Tri-Track Open Modified Series and enter they did.

48 drivers have now  submitted their entries for this summers 5 race series at Monadnock Speedway, Star Speedway, Seekonk Speedway and the New London Waterford Speedbowl.

It all starts June 11th at the Monadnock Speedway.

Look for special awards announcements and information about buying your laps to support the series in the coming days and weeks.

Updated Entry List As Of February 29:

48 Total entries

0 — Mike Holdridge
00 – Ted Christopher
04 – Branden Dion
07 – Patrick Emerling
3ma — Troy Talman
4 — Jeff Gallup
M6 – Dylan Kopec
7 – Kurt Vigeant
9 – Tommy Barrett
11 – John Beatty
12 — Todd Annarummo
13 — Steve Masse
14 — Max Zachem
15ct — Chris Pasteryak
16 – Eric Berndt
17 – Roger Coss
21 – Justin Bonsignore
23 — Mike Douglas Jr.
25 — Rowan Pennink
28 — Dwight Jarvis
29 — Jonathan McKennedy
32 – Doug Coby
33 — Rob Richardi Jr.
35 — Derek Ramstrom
39 – Calvin Carroll
41 – Karl Fredrickson
43 — Kirk Alexander
45 – Dan Meservey
46 – Jon Kievman
50 – Ron Silk
50 – Carl Medeiros Jr.
52 — Woody Pitkat
52/06 — Les Hinckley
55 — Joe Doucette
58/93 – Sal Accardi Jr
59 — Matt Hirschman
66 – Timmy Solomito
68 – Johnny Bush
70 – Andy Seuss
73 – Andy Jankowiak
76 — Zane Zeiner
79 – Garrison Grubisa
80 – Dick Houlihan
85 – Michael Benevides
92 – Anthony Nocella
93 – George Sherman
96 – Dennis Perry
99 — Richard Savary


Kurt Vigeant Pushes Northeast Race Cars Tri-Track Open Modified Series Entry List to 40

As the dead line approaches to get your entry in for the 2016 Northeast Race Cars Tri-Track Open Modified Series another driver has entered to push the total entries to 40, #7MA Kurt Vigeant..  The Massachusetts driver has submitted his entry with the intention to be at all 5 races this year.

While every racing series is happy to have the top teams like Matt Hirschman, Doug Coby, Woody Pitkat, Chris Pasteryak,  Ryan Preece and others its the small teams that make this series what it is. Guys like Karl Fredrickson, Dick Houlihan , Mike Douglas Jr., Joe Doucette and yes Kurt Vigeant make up a good portion of the field and if the Northeast Race Cars Tri-Track Open Modified Series did not exist these guys might just have their cars parked in the garage, not on a race track.

I spoke to Kurt tonight and he is very happy to be a part of the Tri-Track Series. A low buck racer like Kurt has to pick and chose where he races. Kurt may be the lowest buck racer in the Tri-Track field with a small motor that he says he really has to mash on the gas to keep up. Unfortunately some nights if the car is not handling well that style of driving can eat up a right rear pretty fast.

IMG_0482 (2)Kurt’s beautiful # 7MA was at all 5 races last year and  the only reason was the purse the the Tri-Track Series pays. Going home with $1,000.00 even if you don’t finish well is a big deal for a racer like Kurt,  it helps get him to the next race. This year Kurt will try and do the same starting with Monadnock on June 11th then Open Wheel Wed at Seekonk June 29th and if all goes well be at every race on the schedule. Asked if he will race anywhere else this season and the the answer was no, the Tri-Track Open Modified Series is Kurt’s 2016 home and no where else.

Asked about his sponsors Kurt replied as you can see by the very white sheet metal on his race cars he has none. Its only him and his dad who plows snow in the winter to have money to race the following season. As everyone knows who lives in the Northeast unless you live on Mt Washington it has been a mild and relatively snow free season, so the 2016 racing budget will be tight.  As is the story with anyone who races a sponsor, any sponsor would go a long way to help  get to the race track.

If you are looking for a low buck racer to get on board with who gets the most out of what he has contact Kurt to help fill up those white fenders. Kurt’s outlook on racing his modified is “We do what we can with what we have and just have fun doing it”.

So now the Northeast Race Cars Tri-Track Open Modified Series has 40 cars entered  with 2 more days before the entry deadline. How many total cars will register and get a chance to collect part of the point fun sponsored by Alloy Wheel Repair Specialists, a discount on the Hoosier tires and any other bonus money to be paid out?  The full official entry list will be out soon and we will see.