Category Archives: VMRS- Valenti Modified Racing Series

Nocella Crowned 2017 Valenti Modified Series Champion

Manchester, N.H. — Thanking sponsors Sunoco Race Fuels, Hoosier Race Tires, fellow racers Mike Willis, Jr and Sammy Rameau for courtesies extended this year, Anthony Nocella, of Woburn, Massachusetts, was officially crowned the 2017 Valenti Modified Racing Series Champion

Saturday night, December 2, at Manchester, New Hampshire’s Best Western Executive Inn.

The 25-year old driver, winner of five features races in 2017, becomes the eighth driver in 14-years to win a VMRS championship.

Nocella addressed the gathering stating,“ As a driver you always go into a season with one goal and that’s to win a championship but as I have learned it takes more than a driver to win a championship.”

Nocella furthered, “With that being said I’d like to thank my parents for supporting me — my dreams — and always pushing me to be the best. Thank you to my Father and Uncle for sponsorship funds that allow me to pursue my passion week in and week out and Airgas for coming on board this year as a sponsor. I thank all of my crew who worked very hard all season and Ed Flemke .Jr at Raceworks always coming to the tracks to help me out.”

Following the award presentations, Nocella spoke of the series and what it means to win the title.

“It means a lot. The 15th year is coming up. It’s a series with a lot of roots and great champions Jon McKennedy, and Rowan Pennink and others. Drivers that have done a lot in modified racing – it’s cool to get your name on the banner with them.”

Nocella added,” It’s a great series with great competition. It was great to compete with the guys that won races and championships and ultimately win the championship and we finally did. “

When asked what the plan is for 2018, the new champion was quick to say. “ We’ll be back. That’s our plan. We will run some other races but we like the schedule – we’ll be back.”

Nocella received Champion’s Jackets from Hoosier Tire East and N.E. Race Fuel (Sunoco) and the race team received the annual Mechanics Award.

Annual awards were presented to the following:

Jack’s Competition Engines Most Improved Driver: Sammy Rameau

Tough Luck award:  George Sherman

Sportsmanship Award: Rob Rihcardi Jr

Rookie Of The Year: Jeffrey Gallup

Dedicated To Racing Award: Mike Willis Jr

Above and Beyond Award: Bob McIlveen

VMRS Meeting at Stafford Speedway

With the cold weather moving into the northeast and the end of the racing season, owners and drivers can now focus their attention to the 2018 season’

   Owners and drivers aren’t the only ones planning for the future. Race tracks are getting their schedules together and series that run in the northeast are also making their plans for 2018.
   On Sunday November 19th the Valenti Modified Racing Series will hold their annual off-season meeting.
   Open to all owners, drivers and crews, the Stafford Motor Speedway will be the sight of the meeting starting at 11:00 A.M.
   This will be the perfect time to learn if there are any rule changes, to ask questions and to voice any concerns.
by Jim Snape

Nocella Team Championship – 50 Lap Shootout Highlights VMRS Thompson Finale

Canaan, N.H. – Connecticut’s Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park provides the stage, and the Valenti Modified Racing Series the final curtain, as the 2017 season comes to a close at this weekend’s 55th Annual Sunoco World Series of Speedway Racing, Oct 13,14 & 15.  The VMRS wraps up it’s 14th year of operation with a strong field of race teams entered and Woburn, Massachusetts based modified team Nocella Racing, and driver Anthony Nocella, officially becoming the series eighth different champion.

The final race will settle close finishes where series veterans and newcomers have been battling all season.  Long-time racer Donnie Lashua, of Canaan, NH, mired in second place in the standings is now only 11-points ahead of Mike Willis Jr, of Grantham, NH, who very quietly put some strong finishes together to sneak into third and finding himself in a battle for second in the finale.

Rookie of the Year candidate, Jeffrey Gallup, of Feeding Hills, MA, is only three points behind Willis and 14-points behind Lashua. 15-year old Sammy Rameau, of Westminster, MA, Colby Fournier, of Berkley, MA, and Matt Mead, of Richmond, NH, are also close in the standings.

The list of entries on Wednesday featured 31-cars that indicated they plan to compete at Thompson. A blend of veterans and today’s young star’s make up the raceday roster.

Former series champions, Rowan Pennink, of Huntingdon Valley, PA, and Woody Pitkat, of Sturbridge, MA, will compete. Recent Fall Final winner at Stafford Motor Speedway, Eric Goodale, of Riverhead, NY will drive for owner Todd Ceravolo, Richard Savary, of Canton, MA, Keith Rocco, of Berlin, MA, and 19-time VMRS winner, Les Hinckley, of Windsor Locks, CT, will wheel a car for owner Ted Anderson.

Chase Dowling, of Roxbury, CT, will drive the famed Brady 00 car, Matt Galko, of Meriden, CT, and Blake Barney, of Jackson, NJ, will also compete.

Qualifying on Friday begins at 5:00 PM.  An autograph session with VMRS competitors is scheduled at 4:00 PM on Saturday, with feature races beginning at 5:00 PM Saturday.

The VMRS is scheduled third in the running order (feature) .