Category Archives: VMRS- Valenti Modified Racing Series

Hinckley Wins Lee Oktoberfest – Pitkat Takes Point Lead

172936_10150398948535360_6414793_oLee, NH. — Windsor Lock, Connecticut, veteran Les Hinckley III, raced to victory Sunday afternoon at Lee USA Speedway, Lee, NH, in that tracks annual presentation of the ‘Oktoberfest 100. The win was Hinckley’s second this season.

The Valenti Modified Racing Series event was contested in two 50-lap races. Hinckley was credited with the overall win by virtue of his third place finish in the first segment, and his first place finish in the second 50-lap sprint.

In the opening race, Woody Pitkat, of Stafford Springs, Connecticut, grabbed the lead from pole-sitter Jon McKennedy and went on to victory. McKennedy settled for second followed by Hinckley, Mike Willis Jr, and Todd Patnode. Sixth through tenth were Dennis Perry, Donnie Lashua, David Schneider, Kevin Ianarelli, and Dylan Kopec.

In the second 50-lap race, Kirk Alexander, of W. Swanzey, NH, took the early lead but when the checkered flag fell, it was Hinckley rolling to victory lane from his 19th starting position, winning his 19th VMRS career race and his fourth at Lee.

Mike Willis Jr. made a great late race charge to finish runner-up with Norm Wrenn, Pitkat’ and McKennedy, rounding out the top five.
Keith Rocco, Alexander, Schneider, Todd Szegedy, and Donnie Lashua, completed the top ten.

Hinckley was declared the overall winner while Pitkat regained the lead
in the point standings. Pitkat is now 7-points (450-443) ahead of Chris Pasteryak, who led by 21-points going into the weekend.

The final race of the year is at this weekend’s annual World Series of Speedway Racing at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, Thompson, CT. Qualifying takes place on Friday, October 16, with 50-lap season ending feature on Saturday, October 17.
Race Summary:
Race #1
Margin of Victory: 1.027
Average Speed: 41.923
Best Speed: 89.038 Rowan Pennink (# 25)
Best Lap Time: 15.162

Race Summary:
Race # 2
Margin of Victory: 0.339
Average Speed: 48.183
Best Speed: 88.752 Les Hinckley III (06)
Best Lap Time: 15.211
Unofficial Order Of Finish: (1) Hinckley, (2) Pitkat (3) Willis Jr, (4) McKennedy, (5) Wrenn, (6) Schneider, (7) Lashua, (8) Kopec (9) K. Rocco, (10) Seuss, (11) Ianarelli, (12) Alexander, (13) Szegedy (14) Patnode, (15) Perry, (16) Pasteryak, (17) Pennink, (18 Doucette, (19) Swanson, (20) Holdridge, (21) Storace, (93) Sherman, (23) Mead, (24) Medeiros.


172936_10150398948535360_6414793_oCanaan, NH. — With the 2015 championship still to be decided, the Valenti Modified Racing Series, following a four-week layoff, journeys to Lee USA Speedway, Lee, NH, this weekend, to again be part of that tracks popular ‘Oktoberfest,’ an 18-race program spread out over three days, October 9 through October 11.

For the first time, the annual event will be contested in two 50-lap segments. The format, tried in June when the series raced at Lee, was well received by competitors, fans, and track operators.

As is the case when the VMRS visits Lee, the point’s championship is either decided there or a close battle is taking place heading to Thompson, CT, the following weekend. Sunday’s main event is no different. Only 21-points separate the top two point men chasing the title.

Chris Pasteryak, a five-time winner this season, from Jewett City, Connecticut, hopes to increase his chance of joining Kirk Alexander and Jon McKennedy, as the only three-time series champions.

Alexander of W.Swanzey, NH, and McKennedy, of E.Chelmsford, MA, are entering the Lee race.

Not to be counted out is Stafford Springs, Connecticut’s, Woody Pitkat who has had a solid season and been at the top of the point standings.
Pitkat, a fan favorite, has two series wins to date and is 21 markers from the top of the standings.

Todd Patnode, of Swanzey, Norm Wrenn, of Nashua, NH, and Todd Szegedy, of Ridgefield, Connecticut, third through fifth in the point standings are expected entries.

Wrenn, retiring at seasons end, will be racing in front of ‘hometown’ fans for the last time. Wrenn raced Pro-Stocks at Lee for several seasons earlier in his career.

Former series champion, Rowan Pennink, last year’s top rookie, Mike Willis Jr, and three-time Lee winner, Les Hinckley, are expected.

Practice is scheduled for 12 noon Saturday with qualifying at 2:00 PM

Feature races will begin at 12 noon on Sunday.