Category Archives: Weekly Paved Track Racing


WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~  The Snap-on Sportsman stock car division and the open cockpit TQ Midgets will take center stage at Wall Stadium Speedway this Saturday night (May 14) as the shore speedway presents “Scout Night” racing action. In honor of the youth organizations any boy or girl scout arriving at the ticket booth wearing a part of their uniform will be admitted free of charge.

Grandstands will open at 5:00 p.m., qualifying is set for 5:45 p.m. with main events for all divisions to follow.

On the speedway the Sportsman cars will compete in a 30-lap main event. Early season winners Shanon Mongeau of Manchester and Ricky Collins of Willow Grove, Pa. will lead the field into main event action. Top runners Dominic Fattaruso of Brick, Kevin Davison of Howell and Manasquan’s Kenny Van Wickle are also expected to be in the field. Also in the spotlight will be the lightening fast TQ Midgets as they compete in the “inner oval.”

The Elite Maintenance Limited Late Models in a 25-lapper will also see action, as will the O’Shea’s Auto Repair Factory Stocks in a 25-lap main event. The Surf Side Collision 4 Cylinder Stocks are slated for a 25-lapper and the Dirt Cars, who wowed the crowd at last year’s Turkey Derby, are slated for their first appearance of the season.

Pit gates will open at 1:00 p.m. on Saturday; with practice starting at 3:00 p.m. Grandstands will open at 5:00 p.m. and qualifying is then set for 5:45 p.m. Main events for all divisions to follow.

Action will then continue on Sunday (May 15) as Wall Stadium presents the “Sunday Small-Car Series” starting at noon.

Wall Stadium presents professional motorsports events on Saturdays and Sundays through September with special post-season races in October and November. The speedway is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400, while is the track’s email address. More information is also available at


Wayne Burroughs Jr. Shines in Mini Stock Debut at Thompson Speedway


(THOMPSON, CT) – A new face emerged in Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park’s (TSMP) Mini Stock division at the 42nd Annual Icebreaker season-opener. Wayne Burroughs Jr., last year’s New London-Waterford Speedbowl Mini Stock champion, decided to try his hand at the competitive 5/8-mile oval at TSMP with a brand new car for the 2016 season.

The car turned out to be a huge success as Burroughs qualified on the pole, and then drove to a podium finish in the 15-lap feature. “Since I qualified on the pole the strategy for the Icebreaker race was to break away from the field and attempt to hold off the heavy hitters in the division for a win,” said Burroughs. “A lap one incident quickly changed that when I had to restart 19th and the new strategy was to drive as far forward as I could with the laps that were remaining.” Despite some bad luck in the beginning of the race, Burroughs managed to bring the car back through the pack ending with a strong third place finish.

Although still looking to defend his championship at Waterford after a win there this past weekend, Burroughs admits that the success his team saw at TSMP in April may influence his plans for 2016. “The initial plan was to only run the Icebreaker and World Series at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park but after the speed the car showed and the strong performance we had at the Icebreaker my team is considering running some more races and possibly a full schedule.”

For more information about Wayne Burroughs Jr. and the #20 car, follow the Burroughs Racing page on Facebook at (link is external)

The Mini Stock division will be racing next at TSMP on Wednesday, May 18 at the Limited Sportsman Long Distance, presented by Circuit One Events. Grandstands will open at 4:30PM, qualifying is at 6:30 PM and feature races will follow.

For more information about Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park events or to order tickets, visit


Riverhead, NY May 6th.

For Brandon Turbush of Manorville his sports life revolves around the track, literally. The son of former Riverhead Raceway Charger champion Rusty Turbush just completed his senior season running track for Eastport South Manor High School and this summer the 17-year old will compete in the entire 2016 Late Model schedule at Riverhead Raceway.

“I’m very excited to be able to run the entire slate of Late Model races in 2016” Brandon boasted after the final practice session recently in the Riverhead pit area, “I really have to thank Jim Becht for this opportunity”. Prior to this season Turbush only ran in the final three races of 2014 and got off to a late start in 2015 making his first start in June. As for his scholastic and collegiate athletic career he’ll enter the University of New Haven later in the summer where he will run both Cross Country & Track and start his major in Forensic Science.

For 2016 Brandon and his team have added some new sponsors to their team with several others returning. Talbot Truck & Equipment of Mattituck, owned by Grand Enduro driver Tom Talbot Sr. has signed on for the Late Model effort. East West Marine, All Star Bowling Center of Riverhead, Hurricane Grill & Wings of Manorville and Port Jefferson, Lolly’s Hut, Middle Road Plantations, Sealing Long Island LLC and Classic Beverage will all be part of Brandon’s first full season.

“With Jim Becht and my father behind me and a great group of marketing partners we should have a good season. All we’ll need now is some good racing luck” Brandon concluded.

The Late Model division runs regularly as part of the Saturday night NASCAR Whelen All American Series at Riverhead Raceway joining the NASCAR Modifieds, Riverhead Modified Crates, Figure Eights, Blunderbusts, Super Pro Trucks and INEX Legend Race Cars.

To download the 2016 schedule of events, rules and entry blanks please visit or call 631-842-RACE Monday through Friday from 10:00 am until 2:00 pm. Marketing opportunities at the all new Riverhead Raceway can still be obtained by calling the track office.