Category Archives: Star Speedway

Star Speedway Tri Track Open Modified SBM Expected Entry List

The expected entries for the 2018 SBM Tri-Track Open Modified  race at Star Speedway Epping NH.
125 laps Saturday July 28th 2018.
0 – Mike Holdridge
06 – Les Hinckley
1 – Tommy Wannick
4 – Jeff Gallup
5 – Chris Pasteryak
6 – Sammy Rameau
6 – Ryan Preece
7 – Rich Parker
9 – Tommy Barrett
13 – Cameron Sontag
14 – Dana Smith
16 – Colbey Fournier
16 – Ricky Collins
24 – Todd Patnode
25 – Brian Robie
25 – Rowan Pennink
25 – Calvin Carroll
39 – Scott Adams
43 – Ron Frees
43 – Kirk Alexander
48 – Jon Kievman
50 – Ronnie Silk
50 – Carl Medeiros
52 – Woody Pitkat
60 – Matt Hirschman
62 – Les Rose
63 – Chris (CJ) Bolton
66 – Austin Kochenash
70 – Andy Seuss
71 – Josh Cantara
76 – Matt Galko
88 – Russ Hersey
92 – Anthony Nocella
99 – Richard Savary
176 – Dana DiMatteo
Star Speedway

176 Exeter Rd
Epping, New Hampshire 03042


Seekonk, Mass. (July 16, 2018): Since its inception only two drivers have ever found victory in the traditional SBM event at Star Speedway in Epping, NH. On Saturday, July 28, over 30 other drivers will look to add their name to this very exclusive list. SBM VII will feature– 125 Laps Tri-Track Open Modified Series and will also include Star Speedway regular divisions including Late Models, Strictly Stocks, Six Shooters and Roadrunners.

To date, only Matt Hirschman (4 wins) and Jon McKennedy can boast wins in this prestigious Modified event in the Granite State. But, while running strong, Hirschman of Northampton, PA, the defending series champion, has been shut-out of victory lane in TTOMS competition so far in 2018. He is undoubtedly the favorite going into the event on July 28.

With an expected roster of 30-plus cars an ‘upset’ could also be in the making. Ron Silk of Norwalk, CT, the most recent winner with the TTOMS, looks to go back-to-back. Ryan Preece of Berlin, CT, is always a threat to win and he has posted a number of strong finishes in the SBM races in the past. Les Hinckley of Windsor Locks, CT, has consistently been among the podium finishers at Star Speedway and is definitely due for a win.

Josh Cantera of Saco, ME, has also found himself on the podium a number of times in the SBM events. A former Star Speedway Modified Champion, Cantara could use ‘home track’ advantage to snag top honors.  Fresh off a win at Lee USA Speedway, young gun Sammy Rameau of Westminster, MA, is hungry for a lucrative win with the Tri-Track Series. Cagey veteran Russ Hersey of Swanzey, NH, has been strong this season and looks to turn consistency into a payday.

Other notables who have filed entries include Tommy Barrett, Rowan Pennink, Woody Pitkat, Anthony Nocella and Richard Savary. Andy Seuss will come home to NH in search of an SBM victory.

And, while the future looks bright for a host of drivers, fans can look forward to enhanced lighting at Star Speedway as well with the installation of LED lights on the track’s backstretch. Others have also been installed in the pit area. This is only one of several improvements that the Webbers have made over the last year that also includes expanded pavement in the pit area with more on the horizon.

Racing will get underway on Saturday, July 28 with heat races for weekly divisions at 4:30pm followed by heat race action for the Tri-Track Mods. Features for all divisions will roll-off at approximately 6:00pm and will culminate with the running of 125 laps of ground-pounding Modified action.

Grandstand admission is $30 for adults, $25 for Seniors and Juniors. Kids under 10 are admitted free. Early bird pit passes (that includes early practice) are $55. Pit gates officially open at 11:30am with a cost of $45. Practice of the TTOMS is scheduled for 1:00pm. More information can be found at

The Tri-Track Open Modified Series is proud to be a part of the Star Speedway family.

For more information on the Tri-Track Open Modified Series, log on to or find the series on Facebook and Twitter.

Travis Benjamin prevails in PASS North Super Late Model thriller at Star Speedway

Epping, NH – Defending Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model champion Travis Benjamin of Belfast, Maine nailed down his first race victory of the season, prevailing in a close battle versus Reid Lanpher to earn top honors in Saturday night’s Support 50 Legs 150 at Star Speedway in Epping, New Hampshire.

Benjamin’s paint-swapping battle with Lanpher was just the final entertaining duel on the racy quarter-mile oval for the lead.  The Weirs GMC-sponsored racer turned back other challengers during the 150-lapper, most notably from Johnny Clark and Joe Squeglia, Jr.

Clark, a six-time PASS North Super Late Model champion, looked like he had a shot at ending his recent dry spell as he swapped the early lead in the race.  Squeglia, a proven winner in many stock car classes at Star Speedway, battled Clark for the lead and was still racing with the top-five when he was forced out of the event.

A long, paint-swapping battle for supremacy in the closing laps wildly entertained observers.  Lanpher managed to inch ahead of Benjamin briefly while racing in the outside groove several times, but in the end the veteran Petit Motorsports driver prevailed.

Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. of Hudson, New Hampshire made an impressive charge into third position late in the race.  Polewarczyk came out on top after racing hard against Derek Ramstrom of Worcester, Massachusetts.

Clark crossed the finish line in fifth position.  Two-time PASS North Super Late Model champion DJ Shaw,  Derek Griffith, John Peters, six-time champ Ben Rowe and Glen Luce rounded out the top ten.

The next PASS North Super Late Model event is scheduled for Sunday, May 10 at Oxford Plains Speedway in Oxford, Maine.  For more information visit or call (207) 539-8865.

Results from the Support 50 Legs 150 Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model race at Star Speedway; Epping, New Hampshire; showing finishing position, car number, driver’s name, driver’s hometown:

PASS North Super Late Model (150 laps) 1 7 Travis Benjamin, Belfast, ME; 2 59 Reid Lanpher, Manchester, ME; 3 97 Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Hudson, NH; 4 35 Derek Ramstrom, Worcester, MA; 5 54 Johnny Clark, Farmingdale, ME; 6 60 DJ Shaw, Center Conway, NH; 7 12 Derek Griffith, Hudson, NH; 8 51 John Peters, Westbrook, ME; 9 4 Ben Rowe, Turner, ME; 10 7 Glen Luce, Turner, ME; 11 00 Bryan Kruczek, Newmarket, NH; 12 40 Nick Sweet, Barre, VT; 13 41 Tracy Gordon, Strong, ME; 14 94 Garrett Hall, Scarborough, ME; 15 03 Joe Squeglia, Jr., Derry, NH; 16 15 Mike Hopkins, Hermon, ME; 17 5 Dillon Moltz, Waterford, CT; 18 16 Travis Stearns, Auburn, ME; 19 23 Glenn Martel, Belmont, NH.