Small Car Enduro and ATQMRA join stock car line-up this Saturday

Mahoning(LEHIGHTON, Pa. 4-26-16) Coming off a great night that was highlighted by the 2016 opening event for the Race of Champions Tour, Mahoning Valley Speedway gets back to business this coming Saturday, April 30 with all six regular track divisions which include Modifieds, Late Models, Street Sticks, Dirt Mods, Pro 4s and Hobby Stocks.

Also included in the night’s action will be the American Three Quarter Midget Racing Association (ATQMRA) ¾ Midgets and a Small Car Enduro.

The ATQMRA is coming off its first event of the season this past weekend at New Jersey’s Wall Stadium where Greg Sutton drove the Metz Driver Development BGF Engine 461 to his career first victory over multi-time club champion Ryan Tidman.

Sutton, who has won at Mahoning Valley in an Xcel 600 Modified, will look to make it two in a row on Saturday night. It won’t come easy though, as the ATQMRA gang has always come loaded for bear whenever they attack the ¼-mile paved oval and considering there was a full field of TQ’s at Wall, Mahoning fans can expect much of the same from the cars that have been recorded as the fastest to ever turn a lap here. High 90 to over 100+ mph is the norm.

At the conclusion of the night’s features, the first of several Small Car Enduro’s that are inked for this year will take place.

For years Enduro’s have been a fan favorite at Mahoning. Most of the timed events have gone over 200 laps so drivers will get more than their share of track time.

The cost to enter the Enduro is $40 per car and $25 per driver which includes the transponder fee.

If 24 or less cars are entered the top four will be paid with $400 for first, $225 for second, $125 for third and $75 to fourth.

If 25 or more cars are signed in first place bumps up to $500 with $300, $175, $100 and $75 for positions 2-5 respectively. For every additional 10 cars above 25 the purse and payout spots will be adjusted accordingly.

Enduro drivers are asked to call Dale Santee at 484-225-1649 about any rules or other concerns.

The recently announced Jr. Enduro class, which is designed for ages 12-18, will have its first event coming up soon.

For additional information please log onto or on Facebook at Mahoning Valley Speedway.

Korner Brothers Lead INEX Legends into National Qualifier at Thompson

Icebreaker, Road Race Style First Pair of Points Events at Thompson in 2016

STONINGTON, CT – When the US Legends cars made their debut on Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park’s (TSMP) 1.7-mile road course last May, the race was reviewed by many as the best to be held on the newly renovated circuit. The immediate success prompted OTB Promotions, Inc. to begin work on a full season series for 2016.  The result is a five-event, 10-race championship sponsored by Midstate Site Development (MSD), a Connecticut-based construction company.  The first of those five events is part of the Icebreaker, Road Race Style, scheduled for Friday, April 29.

Inaugural Formula Lites Qualifying of the Open Wheel Weekend at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.
Inaugural Formula Lites Qualifying of the Open Wheel Weekend at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.

Noah and Glenn Korner, who both raced in the inaugural event in 2015, are enthusiastic about returning to Thompson.

“I really love that road course.  It’s unique because of how much flow it has to it,” Noah explained.  Glenn, a chemical engineering major at UCONN, expanded on that, “The track is smooth. It has lots of grip and a wide groove, which helps me hone my skills.”

Throughout the winter, the Korner brothers and their Midstate Motorsports team have been traveling throughout the country in search of opportunities to gain seat time. Their travels have taken them to North Carolina, Florida, and even Texas.  The brothers are hopeful that they’ve gained a lot of experience and can use that to achieve their goals in the MSD Legends Series.

“I’m looking to beat my times from 2015,” Noah, a construction management major at Central Connecticut State University, remarked.  “By the end of the season, I am hoping for some race wins, to be able to race with Buffington and those guys.”

Glenn is looking for a “podium finish by season’s end.” On the larger scale, the eldest Korner is “trying to get a top five in the World Finals.”

The Korner brothers will be joined by 2015 INEX Connecticut State Road Course Champions, Shaun Buffington and Tom Gray, at the Icebreaker, Road Race Style. Optional practice for MSD Legends teams will take place Thursday afternoon, with practice, two qualifying sessions, and racing all happening on Friday.

For more information about the event, please visit the event page on  You also can follow them on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

For more information about OTB Promotions, please visit, or follow them on Facebook and Twitter.



wallstadium_239129296WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Appreciation of race fans will be the main goal this Saturday Night (April 30) at Wall Stadium Speedway as enthusiasts will be rewarded with a 40-lap race for the Downs Ford Modifieds, plus action for the Snap-on Sportsman racers, Elite Maintenance Limited Late Models, O’Shea Auto Repair Factory Stocks, Green Flag Driving Experience Legend Cars and the Surf Side Collision 4 Cylinder division. Also on tap for the Saturday night schedule is an on-tack party where fans can meet the drivers and check out the racecars while waking the famous third mile high-banked paved oval.

 Grandstand seating will open this Saturday (April 30) at 4:00 p.m. with early arrivals enjoying $2 discount on admission until 5:30 p.m. The on track party will start at 4:30 p.m. Qualifying is set for 6:00 p.m. and main event racing will follow.

             The Fan Appreciation Night on track party is popular with the fans and the race teams alike. Fans will have the opportunity to walk down onto the famous track and meet all the drivers. Many race teams will have giveaways for the fans and fans will be welcome to talk to the drivers, collect autographs, take pictures and sit in many of the racecars.

             The Downs Ford Modified 40-lap main event on the night is important in the race for the 2016 driving crown. Opening night winner Andrew Krause of Holmdel looked strong in competition, as did defending champ Steven Reed of Jackson who finished a tight second. Freehold’s Chas Okerson, Shawna Ingraham of Brick, Eric Mauriello of Howell, Brick’s Ron Frees, Jason Hearne of New Egypt, Shaun Carrig of Little Falls and Adam LaCicero of Lavallette are just a few of the other Modified drivers to watch.

 Also on the card will be a Sportsman 30-lapper as well as 25-lappers for the Factory Stocks, Limited Late Models, Legend Cars and the 4 Cylinder Stocks.

Pit gates will open at 12:30 p.m. on Saturday; with practice running from 1:00 until 4:00 p.m. Grandstands will open at 4:00 p.m. and the “On Track Party” festivities are slated for 4:30 p.m. Qualifying is then set for 6:00 p.m. with main events for all divisions to follow.

 Wall Stadium presents professional motorsports events on Saturdays and Sundays through September with special post-season races in October and November. The speedway is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400, while is the track’s email address. More information is also available at



From weekly short track racing to NASCAR Cup racing