All Systems Go For Delaware’s Georgetown Speedway With Active Month Of March

2016 Northeast Dirt-Track Modified Season Opens At Historic First State Facility

GEORGETOWN, DE – The month of March is typically slow in the world of Northeast dirt Modified racing.

For Delaware’s Georgetown Speedway, however, it is all systems go!

The historic half-mile clay oval will roar to life to ignite the region’s 2016 dirt-track season with on-track activity planned shortly after the conclusion of February auto racing festivities in Florida

On Saturday, March 5, the first open practice session of the year is set for Georgetown. Pit gates open at 1 p.m., with on-track action targeted for 3 p.m. Pit admission for the open practice is $20. Grandstand admission is free of charge. Any race car able to pass safety inspection is permitted to attend the practice.

Six days later, on March 11, a second open practice session is scheduled to precede the Melvin L. Joseph Memorial on the 12th. The Friday night test and tune will have gates opening at 4 p.m. Cars will hit the track at 6:30 p.m. Again, pit admission is $20, with grandstand admission free.

The season-opening dirt Modified event takes place on Saturday, March 12 with the Melvin L. Joseph Memorial. Headlining the program is the first Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series Fueled By VP South Region event of the ’16 campaign, with the potent big-block/small-block Modifieds battling 49 laps for $4,900 to win, $1,000 for 10th and $490 to take the green in memory of the speedway’s founder. Lap money, bonus award and contingency prizes will further ‘sweeten the pot’ for competitors.

Also on the card: Crate 602 Sportsman ($1,000 to win, $100 to start), Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Cars, Little Lincolns, Delmarva Chargers and Delaware Super Trucks.

Pit gates open at 11 a.m., with the grandstands unlocked at noon for the Melvin L. Joseph Memorial. Hot laps hit the track at 2 p.m. and racing follows at 3 p.m.

A Sunday, March 13 rain date has been reserved, if needed.

Complete pricing and general information on the Melvin L. Joseph Memorial can be found online at:

The Microtel Inn & Suites Georgetown/Beach Area, located less than a mile from the speedway on Route 113, is offering discounted rates to the racing community planning to attend the Melvin L. Joseph Memorial. By mentioning “Georgetown Speedway” while making a reservation, a $99 nightly rate is available for Friday, March 11 and Saturday, March 12. Contact the hotel directly by phone at 302.859.5111 to make a reservation. The Microtel Inn & Suites Georgetown/Beach Area website is

The final event of March at Georgetown is scheduled for Friday, March 25 with the Deron Rust Memorial. For this event, small-block Modifieds top the program in a 33-lap main paying $3,396 to the winner and $396 to start: a tribute to Rust’s car number. Crate 602 Sportsman, Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Cars, Delmarva Chargers and Delaware Super Trucks fill out the show.

Pit gates will open at 4 p.m. Grandstand gates are unlocked at 5 p.m. Hot laps hit the track at 6:30 p.m. and racing begins at 7:15 p.m.

Complete race information for the Deron Rust Memorial is online at:

Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1950, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A new website for the speedway is live at Like “Georgetown Speedway” on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, e-mail or contact Brett Deyo at 845.728.2781 during business hours for more information.

Hello World of Outlaws Fans!

We announced this week that Sears and Craftsman brand tools have made a 3-year commitment to become Title Sponsor of both the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series and World of Outlaws Late Model Series, marking the first time that a Fortune 100 company has made such a significant investment in dirt track racing. We wanted to invite you to check out our welcome video for Craftsman and to let you know that for a very limited time we are sending fans who register at a free series decal. These won’t last, so register soon!

Click to watch video:

Roger Coss Adds His Name to The Growing Northeast Race Cars Tri-Track Entry List.

New Jerseys Roger Coss started racing go-carts at age of 8 so at the age of 28 he is already a 20 veteran of racing. He started racing modifieds at Wall stadium in 2010, racing at Wall for 2 years before moving onto Mahoning  Valley Speedway and the Race of Champions Tour.

He finished the 2015 season with a bang, winning the Mahoning Valley Speedway Octoberfast race and the big $6,000.00 first place money.

In 2016 with sponsorship money at a premium Roger has decided to pick races that make financial sense. Roger will still visit the Mahoning Valley Speedway from time to time and run a partial ROC schedule. But in 2016 he will also venture north and east and run all 5 Tri-Track Open Modified series races.

Today Roger Coss became the 23rd entry for the 2016 Northeast Race Cars Tri-Track Open Modified Series.

Asked why he entered the Tri-Track series Roger had a couple of answers, first money. The Tri-Track races pay good money in all the races. Drivers  taking home $1,000.00 in a non qualifiers race was not lost on him. Second Roger is friends with the 2015 Tri-Track champion Matt Hirschman who has been pushing Roger to try the series.

His main sponsorship money comes from his father in laws company T.C. Facilities services in Stratford Ct. The fact the races are in New England will make it easier for his family and sponsors to attend the races.

Roger also told us he does have some track time at Waterford in a Legends car and at Seekonk’s Open Wheel Wednesday in a modified. Star and Monadnock are another story as he has never been to either but he looks forward to the challenge.

Monadnock Speedway Saturday  June 11th will be his attempt at a Tri-Track race. He will join drivers like Hirschman, Pasteryak, Douglas, Pitkat, Alexander and many others trying to bring home the lions share of money.

For more on the Tr-Track Series go to and





From weekly short track racing to NASCAR Cup racing