Woody Pitkat Crowned Valenti Modified Racing Series Champion

Manchester, NH. — Woody Pitkat, of Stafford Springs, Connecticut, was honored Saturday night, November 7, as the Valenti Modified Racing Series Champion for the 2015 season.

The event was held at the Best Western Executive Inn at Manchester, New Hampshire.

Pitkat was joined by car owner Peter Kulessa, crew chief Greg Felton, and the Patterson Farms race team for the special presentations. The VMRS championship was the first for both Pitkat and Kulessa.

DSC_1336In accepting his award Pitkat thanked the Perry family and Valenti (Auto Group) for all their support and sponsoring of the series. Pitkat acknowledged Jack Bateman, the series founder, saying “thank you for your hard work, time, and sacrifice, to give us a great affordable series to race at week in and week out. I admire your dedication.”

Pitkat also stated winning the series title was his first ever series championship and he considered it a special feat. “I may never win another so this one means a lot.”

He complimented VMRS drivers. “Just because I run the tour does not put me above anyone. I am a race driver and so are these guys with this series. I am grateful for the opportunity to run with them and compete here. I look at it as another addition to my resume.”

Kulessa spoke proudly of his first championship. “It’s unbelievable the guys just worked so hard. Last year we made the switch to Woody and had top five finishes. We knew we had a good car and we knew we had a good driver. This year we were supposed to run a limited schedule. When July rolled around we were leading the points so we decided we might as well give it a shot.”

In addition to the champion, the top 14 drivers were also recognized for their accomplishments. Runner-up Chris Pasteryak, Norman Wrenn, Todd Patnode, Todd Szegedy, Donnie Lashua, Mike Willis Jr, David Schneider, Dennis Perry, Jon McKennedy, Rowan Pennink, Dylan Kopec, Russ Hersey, Anthony Nocella, and Kirk Alexander were recognized.

Annual sponsor and officials awards were also part of the presentation.

Sunoco Race Fuels Jacket: Woody Pitkat
Thirty Race Care Wear Fire Suit Recipient: Matt Mead
Magnus Transmissions Rookie of the Year : Dennis Perry
Jack Competition Engines Most Improved: Carl Medeiros Jr
Tough Luck Award: Todd Patnode
Sportsmanship Award: Mike Willis Sr
Mechanic of the Year Award : Greg Felton
Dedication To Racing Award : Matt Mead
Bob Polverari Award : Kirk Alexander
Above and Beyond Award : Laura and Jerry Elliott

Jack Bateman disclosed that 14 races are on the schedule for 2016 and he anticipates two more dates to be added in the near future. The series will make the announcement as soon as those dates are finalized.

Work Day Planned at Evergreen Raceway

St. Johns, PA (11/7/15)- In preparation for the late fall and winter months ahead, Jason Makarewicz, the Track Manager at Evergreen Raceway Park in St. Johns, PA has decided to hold a work day at the speedway. If the weather is decent, Makarewicz asks anyone willing to lend and hand to be at the track at 10 AM on Saturday, November 21st.

“The track is actually in pretty good shape”, said Makarewicz, who is currently in the planning stages for a successful 2016 season.

“There are a few things that I would like to get done prior to the “Snowball” Enduros in January, so if people would like to come out, please bring your weed wackers. There are several areas that just need to be cleaned up a bit, but it’s nothing that can’t be accomplished in a short period of time”.

In early spring Makarewicz plans to refurbish several buildings on the grounds, including the pit and announcer’s towers, the office and also the restrooms.

“Surprisingly, many of the structures just need a little TLC. We’re trying to spend as little as possible on the renovations and not overspend before the season gets rolling”.

He continued, “Once the 2016 season gets underway and as long as business grows, we’ll continue to make improvements both on and off the track.”

Makarewicz is working on the division rules and schedule. The track website has been updated with the most recent information in regards to Evergreen Raceway Park. It can be viewed by visiting www.evergreenracewaypark.com, or by following their Facebook page- Evergreen Raceway.

Starting Line Up by Row Texas Motor Speedway 11th Annual AAA Texas 500

Provided by NASCAR Statistics - Fri, November 06, 2015 @ 08:03 PM Eastern
Driver	Date	Time	Speed
Track Race Record:	Greg Biffle 	04/14/12	03:07:12	160.577
Pos	Car	Driver	Team	Time	Speed
Row 1:	1	2	Brad Keselowski	Wurth Ford	27.421	196.929
2	4	Kevin Harvick	Budweiser/Jimmy John's Chevrolet	27.552	195.993
Row 2:	3	18	Kyle Busch	M&M's Crispy Toyota	27.591	195.716
4	22	Joey Logano	AAA Insurance Ford	27.633	195.419
Row 3:	5	42	Kyle Larson	Target Plaid Chevrolet	27.644	195.341
6	20	Erik Jones(i)	DeWalt Toyota	27.650	195.298
Row 4:	7	41	Kurt Busch	Haas Automation Chevrolet	27.694	194.988
8	48	Jimmie Johnson	Lowe's Chevrolet	27.708	194.890
Row 5:	9	11	Denny Hamlin	FedEx Office Toyota	27.740	194.665
10	88	Dale Earnhardt Jr.	Kelley Blue Book Chevrolet	27.767	194.475
Row 6:	11	10	Danica Patrick	GoDaddy Chevrolet	27.934	193.313
12	16	Greg Biffle	Ortho Ford	28.361	190.402
Row 7:	13	19	Carl Edwards	Sport Clips Toyota	27.644	195.341
14	15	Clint Bowyer	Maxwell House Toyota	27.646	195.327
Row 8:	15	55	David Ragan	Aaron's Online Dream Machine Toyota	27.667	195.178
16	5	Kasey Kahne	Farmers Insurance Chevrolet	27.672	195.143
Row 9:	17	13	Casey Mears	GEICO Military Chevrolet	27.718	194.819
18	24	Jeff Gordon	Axalta Chevrolet	27.744	194.637
Row 10:	19	31	Ryan Newman	Quicken Loans Chevrolet	27.755	194.560
20	27	Paul Menard	Schrock/Menards Chevrolet	27.810	194.175
Row 11:	21	33	Brian Scott(i)	Shore Lodge Chevrolet	27.810	194.175
22	14	Tony Stewart	Bass Pro Shops/Mobil 1 Chevrolet	27.819	194.112
Row 12:	23	78	Martin Truex Jr.	Furniture Row/Visser Precision Chevrolet	27.835	194.000
24	43	Aric Almirola	Smithfield Ford	27.883	193.666
Row 13:	25	21	Ryan Blaney(i)	Snap-On Tools Ford	27.618	195.525
26	3	Austin Dillon	Dow Packaging/H-E-B Chevrolet	27.622	195.496
Row 14:	27	1	Jamie McMurray	Cessna Chevrolet	27.645	195.334
28	17	Ricky Stenhouse Jr.	Fastenal Ford	27.670	195.157
Row 15:	29	6	Trevor Bayne	AdvoCare Ford	27.672	195.143
30	47	AJ Allmendinger	Kroger/Scott Products Chevrolet	27.730	194.735
Row 16:	31	7	Alex Bowman	Nikko RC/Toy State Chevrolet	27.743	194.644
32	9	Sam Hornish Jr.	Sonic Ford	27.746	194.623
Row 17:	33	95	Michael McDowell	Tommy Williams Drywall Ford	27.911	193.472
34	26	JJ Yeley(i)	Overture Promotions Toyota	27.988	192.940
Row 18:	35	34	Brett Moffitt #	Visit Dallas Ford	28.030	192.651
36	40	Landon Cassill(i)	CRC/O'Reilly Auto Parts Chevrolet	28.060	192.445
Row 19:	37	46	Michael Annett	Pilot Flying J Chevrolet	Owner Points
38	83	Matt DiBenedetto #	Dustless Blasting Toyota	Owner Points
Row 20:	39	35	Cole Whitt	Moen Ford	Owner Points
40	23	Jeb Burton #	Dr Pepper/Estes Toyota	Owner Points
Row 21:	41	38	David Gilliland	Love's Travel Stops Ford	Owner Points
42	98	Ryan Preece	Xyience Chevrolet	Owner Points
Row 22:	43	51	Justin Allgaier	Texas Lottery Chevrolet	Owner Points

Did Not Qualify:	# 32 Joey Gase(i); # 62 Reed Sorenson. 
Manufacturer	Starting Lineup	DNQs	Manufacturer	Starting Lineup	DNQs
Chevrolet	22	0	Toyota	9	1
Ford	12	1
(i) Ineligible for driver points in this series

From weekly short track racing to NASCAR Cup racing