Tag Archives: Modifieds

Evergreen’s “King of the Green” to Benefit Susan G. Coleman for Breast Cancer Awareness

By: Gene OstrowskiOctober 19, 2017 St. Johns, PA (10/19/2017)- Evergreen Raceway is ready and set for their second annual “King of the Green” weekend event.

With the largest crowd of the season expected to be on hand over the weekend for the popular October event, track management has decided to donate a portion of the track’s proceeds to Susan G. Komen, formerly known as Susan G. Komen for the Cure and originally as The Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation.

“Being breast cancer awareness month, it’s only fitting”, noted speedway promoter, Jason Makarewicz. “Nearly everyone knows someone that lost their life to breast cancer or is a fortunate breast cancer survivor. “I’m thrilled that our team is doing this.” Makarewicz and his team have been busy prepping for the show that fans and drivers have been talking about for weeks.

Aside from the usual maintenance, the team took time out to re-paint the lines on the racetrack in pink, for breast cancer awareness month.

The weekend will kick off at the 1/3-mile asphalt oval near Hazleton, PA on Friday, October 20 with open practice for all divisions. The evening practice time is slated to run from 2 PM to 7 PM and the pit admission is set at $20. One hour of Friday’s practice (from 6 PM to 7 PM will be for Tour Type and Evergreen Modifieds only). Grandstand admission for practice is free for all ages.

Saturday, October 21 will feature a 50-lap $1,500 to win main event for the Evergreen/Sport Modifieds. The Late Models, Four Cylinders and Strictly Stocks are also on the card for an exciting day of action. The pit gates will swing open at 8 AM and practice will kick off at 10:00 AM. Heat races will start at 12 PM. The grandstands will open at 10:00 AM. Free admission passes are for regular events only and will not be honored for Saturday’s King of the Green events.

The Modifieds will compete for the $4,000 prize on Sunday, October 22, plus the Street Stocks and Factory Stocks will also be in action for extended lap main events. The pit gates will swing open at 10 AM and practice will kick off at12:30 PM. Qualifying will start at 2 PM. The grandstands will open at 12:30 PM. Free admission passes are for regular events only and will not be honored for Sunday’s King of the Green events.

All purses are based on a full field of 20 cars taking the green flag in the feature. If less than 20 cars take the green, the purse will be prorated. Pit admission for Saturday or Sunday is $50. Grandstand admission is $20 for Saturday and $25 for Sunday. Fans can purchase a special two day event grandstand pass for $40. As always, children 12 years of age and younger will be admitted into the grandstand area for free.

Free admission passes are for regular events only and will not be honored for the speedway’s King of the Green events.

Evergreen Raceway is located minutes from Hazleton, PA, in between routes 93 and 309. For more information regarding Evergreen Raceway, including the entire season schedule, directions and divisional payouts, please

visitwww.evergreenracewaypark.com and don’t forget to like their Facebook page as well.

Mahoning Valley Speedway will close out 2017 Octoberfast weekend, October 28-29

(LEHIGHTON, PA. 10-17-17) Mahoning Valley Speedway’s regular point season came to a close this past Saturday evening but there still remains one more show to run, the annual Octoberfast.

Taking place on Saturday, October 28, this event will go down in track history as the Modifieds will race for 200 laps and $6000-to-win. The distance and payout are both record amounts for the paved ¼-mile oval.

For the 200 the Modified teams will be allotted six American Racer tires. They can change a tire anytime during the feature. The race will also run straight through with no breaks.

The Octoberfast 2017 will also have a 60-lap/$1200-to-win Late Model feature. 75-lap/$1200-to-win Street Stock feature and a 50-lap/$500-to-win Hobby Stock feature. Vintage Stock Cars, many of which formerly raced at Mahoning Valley and Dorney Park Speedways, are also on the docket.

The Modified entry fee is set at $100. The Late Model and Street Stock entry fee is $60. Hobby Stock entry is $30.

Pit entrance is $50 per person. There will be early paid practice from noon to 2:00 pm at $25 per car. Regular warmups will take place starting at 2:30 pm with the first round of heats beginning at 4:00 pm.

Each race will award 100 championship bonus points towards the final 2017 standings. 22 cars will start each feature. Drivers will pick pills for heat starting spots. Feature line-ups will be heads up from the heat finishes.

Times and schedule are subject to change.

The complete purse breakdown will be released later this week.

Adult grandstand admission is $30. $2.00 off admission price for students, seniors 65 + and active Military. Children 10 and under are free.

On Sunday, October 29, Mahoning Valley Speedway will close out the season with the make-up show from October 15.

The track will be hosting a Big/Small/Jr. Car Enduro, Big/Small Car Demo Derby, All-Star Slinghots, Champ Karts and Micro Stocks.

Anyone who attends Octoberfast and returns for the Sunday show will be admitted to the grandstands for $5 provided you have your wristband from the pervious day.

On Saturday, October 21 from noon to 4:00 pm the track will hold an open practice. It will be $25 per car and $10 per person to entry the pits. Grandstand admission is free.

For additional information log onto www.mahoningvalley-speedway.com or on Facebook at Mahoning Valley Speedway. Mahoning Valley Speedway is located on PA route 443 just a few miles west of Lehighton.


     ROUGEMONT, N.C. – The 2017 season for the Southern Modified Racing Series (SMRS) comes to a close on Saturday night with a 75-lap feature at Orange Country Speedway.  With 11-events completed the Championship point battle is tight with Jeremy Gerstner, of Wesley Chapel, Fla., holding a five-point advantage over Brandon Ward of Winston-Salem.
 How much is five points in the SMRS point structure?
Finishing position is critical with the winner getting 100 points and a drop-off of two-points per position through the field.   A three-spot differential in the feature is a six-point swing.
The SMRS point structure also has bonus points:  5 points for the Precision Spindle pole award in qualifying, 5 points for leading a lap, and a 5-point bonus for leading the most laps. 
 With finishing position and the bonus points it’s virtually a head-to-head battle between Gerstner and Ward.   
For Gerstner the season has featured one win and he has racked up 60 bonus points.  Ward is a four-time winner – including March 25 at Orange County – and has 65 bonus points.   Ward has won six pole awards.
While Gerstner and Ward will have that “big picture” of a Championship in mind the other drivers will simply be looking for victory.  Burt Myers, of Walnut Cover, leads the series in wins this season with five.  Tobacoville’s Tim Brown is a two-time winner on the tour this season and John Smith is a single race winner.  
Those drivers will all be looking to boost their win totals while a strong field of competitors will be looking for first wins in 2017.
 The Southern Modified Racing Series will be joined by the Pro All Star Series (PASS) super late models who will compete in a 150-lap feature.  The Limited Sportsman are also on the schedule.
Race time is 7pm Saturday.  Orange County Speedway is located at 9740 NC Highway 57 in Rougemont, N.C.
                More information on the Southern Modified Racing Series is available at www.SouthernModifiedRacingSeries.com or on the organizations Facebook page.