Tag Archives: Tri-Track Open Modified Series

Its Race Day at The New London Waterford Speedbowl

WATERFORD – More than 100 drivers pulled into the New London Waterford Speedbowl Friday for an open practice session prior to this weekend’s Bemer’s Super Bowl of Auto Racing.Included in the crowded paddock area is the new Whelen Modified Tour Rookie of the Year. Chase Dowling, however, won’t be competing in a Modified this weekend. He’ll be returning to his Legends roots.Dowling, a former Legends champ, will be competing in a car owned by Mike Molleur in the $2,000 to win Battle of the Sound. And Dowling just isn’t making a token appearance. He had the fastest car in practice.
More than 50 Legends cars are expected for qualifying today, including drivers from all over the East Coast. The field includes Devin O’Connell of Madison, who recently won the World Championship in the Legends Semipro Road Course division. Another fast car in practice was driven by Connor Pyle of Scottsdale, Arizona, who is now living in North Carolina. He has competed in events in South Carolina, Virginia, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Las Vegas and California and has won eight races.
Another big story is taking place in the Granite State Pro Stock Division, which is making its first appearance at the Speedbowl. Jason Palmer, Waterford’s 2015 Late Model champ, has converted his car into a Pro Stock and will be trying to make the field for Saturday’s 150-lap race.
There still is plenty of talent in the Late Models. Gerald DeGasperre, who has won seven Late Model titles at Seekonk Speedway, will be competing at the Speedbowl for the first time. Also in action will be Ernie Larose, who has purchased the car driven to victory in the final Speedbowl race of the season by three-time champ Bruce Thomas.
“We made the deal as soon as the race was over,” Larose said, “and now this is going to be my car for next year.”
Among the SK Modified newcomers taking advantage of Friday’s practice session were Matt Hirschman, who will be trying to win the $5,000 first-place purse in the Sunday’s Modified Nationals. Ryan Preece, Ronnie Williams, Tommy Membrino, Kyle Trainer and Matt Galko were also on hand.
The action stars Saturday with qualifying at 1:30 p.m.Features are scheduled to get under way at 4:30.
The first feature will be a 20-lap Bandelros race, followed by the a 40-lap Mini Stock feature, paying $1,000 to the winner. Next will be a 35-lap feature for the New England Race Trucks feature, followed by the 150-lap Granite State Pro Stock feature. The X Cars and Super X Cars will be involved in 20-lap features, followed by a 40-lap Limited Sportsman feature with $1,000 going to the winner.
Sunday the drivers in the Tri Track Open Modified will arrive at the Speedbowl. The field will be divided into two 35-lap qualifying races. Each race will pay $3,000 to the winners. The top finishers will advance to the 65-lap main event, worth $5,000 to the winners.
Other features Sunday include the Legends 35-lap Battle of the Sound, a 25-lap SK Light race, a 30-lap Late Model race and the 75-lap Modified Nationals.
Contingency sponsor for the entire weekend is David Prinz of Prinzcision Racing, will be awarding two $50 bonuses for each of the 12 feature divisions.

The Tri-Track Open Modified New London Waterford Speedbowl Entry List

11225596_828914080491207_608941447_nHere is the current list of cars officially entered for this Sundays October 25th season ending Northeast Race Cars and Parts Tri-Track Open Modified race at the New London Waterford Speedbowl .  The series has a unique race schedule. (2) 35 lap semi features paying $3,000.00 to win each and a 65 lap feature paying $5,000.00 to win. There are no points only big money on the line. If any driver can win a Semi-feature and the feature they will leave the track with a cool $8,000.00. The Tri-Track race is part of the big Bemers Superbowl of Racing this weekend. In addition to the Tri-Track Open Modifieds there will be a $5,000.00 to win SK Modified race, a $2,222.00 to win Bridgewater Raynham Overhead Door Battle of the Sound Legends race, the GSPSS, SK Lites and many more.

Here is the the full list of events and the schedule for this weekends events.

Speedbowl SuperBowl Event Schedule 2015

Official Entry list as of (10/19/2015)

0 Mike Holdridge
03 Ken Darch
04 Branden Dion
4 Jeff Gallup
5 Chris Pasteryak
6 Ryan Preece
6 Dennis Perry
7 Kurt Vigeant
7 Rich Parker
9 Chase Dowling
11 John Beatty
12 Todd Annarummo
13 Steve Masse
14 Max Zachem
16 Eric Berndt
19 Dave Schnedier
25 Rowan Pennink
27 Andy Jankowiak
29 Brendon Bock
29 Jon McKennedy
33 Rob Richardi
35 Derek Ramstrom
36 Dave Sapienza
40 Eddie LeClerc
41 Karl Fredrickson
42 Woody Pitkat
43 Kirk Alexander
45 Dan Meservey
46 Jon Kievman
50 Ron Silk
50 Carl Mederios
52 Les Hinckley
53 Norman Wrenn
55 Joe Doucette
59 Matt Hirschman

68 Keith Rocco
69 Jimmy Dolan
76 Zane Zeiner
76 Jeff Rocco
79 Garrison Grubissa
80 Dick Houlihan
85 Michael Benevides
92 Anthony Nocella
93 George Sherman
99 Richard Savary
99 Jamie Tomaino


Different Format On Tap For Tri Track Series October New London Waterford Event

IMG_6303LONG ISLAND, N.Y. — Official Tri Track series release

All the marbles will be on the line at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl when the Northeast Race Cars and Parts Tri Track Open Modified Series concludes an action packed weekend on October 25.

Unlike the four races prior in 2015, the series season finale will be a non-points event. At the Speedbowl in September, Matt Hirschman was crowned the 2015 Tri Track Series champion after finishing on the podium in the Dunleavy’s 100.

This event will also hold a completely different format than any of the other four races this season. There will be no short distance heat races followed up by consolation races and a B-main feature. Instead, this event will be started with two 35 lap “qualifying feature’s” that will determine who will advance into the big show.

The series will use a blind draw to line up the twin 35 lap feature’s, splitting the car count exactly in half. For example, if forty cars show up at the Speedbowl on that Sunday, twenty will be in the first feature and twenty will be in the second feature.

From there, the top eleven finishers in each one will transfer into a 65 lap, $5,000 to win main event. The 65 lap feature that will conclude the afternoon will include 22 drivers, plus up to four provisional spots that could be added by series officials.

Payout for the 35 lap qualifying races:

13-24 in the qualifying races will pay $400.

Payout for the 65 lap feature:

Series officials will also award a $200 bonus for 34 teams that competed at the Lee USA Speedway and Monadnock Speedway events earlier in the season.

Also in attendance on the Sunday afternoon will be New London-Waterford Speedbowl Mini Stocks, who will hold a 50 lap feature event. The $2,000 to win “Battle of the Sound,” for the Legend Cars, will also be 50 laps in distance. The series wishes to thank all of the fans, drivers, teams, sponsors and officials for the support during the 2015 racing season.

Anyone with any questions regarding the New London-Waterford Speedbowl event, can contact James Schaefer or Kyle Souza. To register, teams should fill out the necessary form at http://tritrackopenmodifiedseries.com/registration-for-oct-25-new-london-waterford-speedbowl/.

For more information, fans can visit www.tritrackopenmodifiedseries.com