Concord, N.C. — On November 3-5, 2016 it’s the 14th Annual John Blewett III Memorial North South Shootout in memory of Charles Kepley at Concord Speedway.  Entries are arriving and anticipation is building, below are some notebook items or possible storylines for the upcoming event.
                 Great traditional racers and racing families are often parts of modified racing and will certainly be on display at the 14th Annual John Blewett III North South Shootout in Memory of Charles Kepley on November 5 at Concord Speedway.
                When you consider great names in racing, particularly in the Carolinas, the Myers name is among the most famous.  Bobby and Billy Myers were mainstays in stock car racing in the 1950s and ultimately both lost their lives while competing in the sport they loved.
                Billy’s son Gary had amazing success in racing around the Carolinas as do his sons Burt and Jason.
                Jason started racing street stocks in 1999 and made the moved to modifieds in 2003. He has been one of the region’s top drivers with multiple victories in the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified tour, at Bowman Gray Stadium, the Southern Modified Racing series and other tracks across the state.  In 2015 he was the NASCAR Whelen All American Series North Carolina State Champion.
                On May 27th Jason Myers finished 5th in a Southern Modified Racing Series race at Concord Speedway.   Jason will be looking to carry on the Myers Family winning tradition with a $10,000 victory in the 125-lap North South Shootout modified feature.

                On Sunday afternoon, October 9 at Stafford Motor Speedway in Connecticut, Todd Owen outdueled Ted Christopher Jr. and Keith Rocco to win the 40-lap NAPA Auto Parts Fall Final SK-Modified race.  It was his second win this season at the historic track.
                Another history track looms on the horizon for Owen as he sets his sights on Concord (N.C.) Speedway where he will compete in the 50-lap SK-Type Modified feature event.
                Owen is from Somers, Ct. and wheels the No. 81 Cooker Construction Chevy Camaro.  He was the 2003 Rookie of the Year in the SK Modified division at Stafford and is a two-time Most Popular Driver. 
                A winning percentage better than .500 is amazing and nearly impossible in auto racing; yet in 2012 Trey Jarrell scored 23 victories in 43 starts.  The Martinsville, Va. native was one of the top drivers in Legends Cars racing with wins across the east coast; including multiple wins at nearby Charlotte Motor Speedway in the Summer Shootout.
                Since that amazing year, the 19-year-old has advanced his career into Super Late Model Racing and this season he is 9th in the Pro All Star Series (PASS) South Division.  Next up on the schedule is the 125-lap North South Shootout race on November 5.
                Jarrell will drive the No. 21 Reedy Racing Kaytech/Anderson’s Pure Maple Syrup Ford and it will be his second effort at Concord Speedway this season.  He finished 7th in the May 27th Old Glory 125 at the speedway.
                His team owner Mark Reedy has a long track record of racing and fielding cars at the challenging half-mile speedway and brings a wealth of knowledge for his young driver to learn from.
                Concord Speedway is a very special place for the Irvan family.  In the early 1980s California racer Ernie Irvan relocated from his native California to North Carolina to pursue a career in NASCAR racing.  He pictured up odd-jobs in the area and raced at Concord Speedway where he scored nine victories.
                Those Concord wins and a determined spirit led Irvan to the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series where he won 15 times, including the 1991 Daytona 500.
                Fast-forward to 2016 and another young Irvan – Jared Irvan – will be wheeling his Pro All Star Series (PASS) Super Late Model around the challenging Concord Speedway.  Earlier this year – May 27th – Irvan finished third in the PASS race at Concord.
                  The 18-year-old has competed in five PASS races this season with three finishes inside the top five.
                Last year Andy Seuss found himself watching the North South Shootout at Concord Speedway. This year the Hampstead, N.H. native will have a much better view of the event this year, from the driver’s seat of his No. 11 Northeast Race Cars/Ideal Finance Chevrolet.
                “I’m really excited to go back,” said the two-time NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Champion.  “I’m excited it’s back at Concord, a place where we don’t get a race a lot.  It’s a unique track that separates the men from the boys.
                “Last year my plans fell through, which sidelined me to being a spectator.  That makes it more exciting to be racing in the event this year.  I saw a lot of different strategies last year and hopefully we can used that to win our first North South Shootout.
                The modifieds will race on Saturday afternoon, Nov. 5 in a 125-lap feature that pays a whopping $10,000 to win.  Qualifying will take place on Friday (Nov. 4) evening.
Woody Pitkat:  Looking For More North South Success:
                Stafford, Ct. native Woody Pitkat is one of the top modified drivers in America; and on November 5th he will focus his attention on the 14th Annual John Blewett III Memorial North South Shootout in Memory of Charles Kepley.
                Pitkat will be wheeling the No. 60 Mertz Racing car in the SK-type Modified Race.
                The 37-year old racer has enjoyed North South Shootout Success in the past winning the SK-Type feature in 2011 when the event was held at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, N.C.
                 The 2016 season has been solid for Pitkat:  he won twice at Stafford Motor Speedway and finished fourth in points.  He also finished fourth in the final standings at Thompson Speedway.  Pitkat was the 2015 track champion at Thompson.
 North South Shootout Winners:
                Tour-Type Modifieds:
                                2003:  John Blewett III
                                2004:  Donnie Lia
                                2005:  John Blewett III
                                2006:  Matt Hirschman
                                2007:  Matt Hirschman
                                2008:  Burt Myers
                                2009:  Burt Myers
                                2010:  Matt Hirschman
                                2011:  Matt Hirschman
                                2012:  Ryan Preece
                                2013:  Matt Hirschman
                                2014:  Ryan Preece
                                2015:  Justin Bonsignore
                                                5-Matt Hirschman
                                                2-John Blewett III, Burt Myers, Ryan Preece
                                                1-Donnie Lia, Justin Bonsignore
 The North South Shootout takes place November 3-5 at Concord Speedway.  Further details are available at .


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *