2016 Champions Banquet Photo: Michael Jaworecki  Myracenews
Riverhead, NY Nov. 9th.
When the 2017 Riverhead Raceway NASCAR Whelen All American Series champions are honored by track owners Eddie & Connie Partridge and Tom Gatz Friday December 15th each of the seven champions will receive a championship ring to compliment the plaques they’ll be presented for their accomplishments. One of the first announcements the ownership trio made after purchasing the historic quarter mile oval prior to the 2016 race season was the return to a formal awards dinner and the presentation of championship rings annually. The 2017 awards dinner will take place at Giorgio’s of Baiting Hollow featuring a formal dinner with a cocktail hour and five hour open bar.
Tom Rogers Jr. of Riverhead who won his fourth career NASCAR Modified and Figure Eight titles in 2017 will be one of two driver receiving two championship rings at the awards gala along with Dave Brigati of Calverton who captured his second straight Eagle Auto Mall Modified Crate title as well his first career Super Pro Truck title. Versatile  driving talent Kyle Soper of Manorville will be honored for his 2017 Late Model championship and be joined by Tom Pickerell of Huntington who earned his fifth career Blunderbust crown and John Beatty Jr, of Merrick, the 2017 INEX Legend Race Car champion.
Prior to the 2017 NASCAR “parade of champions” the top five drivers from each of the seven divisions will be presented a plaque for their finish in the 2017 championship standings. The 2017 Rookie of the Year will also be announced and honored at the awards dinner for all seven classes.
Incorporated into the awards ceremony this year are the Sunday racing divisions as Greg Harris of Riverhead will be honored for his Street Stock championship while Mike Mujsce Jr. of Hampton Bays is feted for the Mini Stock title. Both drivers have the distinction of being the first ever champion in their respective classes. Don Nelson Jr. of Rocky Point will officially be crowned Truck Enduro champion at the awards dinner while Dominic Ranieri of East Northport is honored for his 8-Cylinder Enduro championship. Veteran Kevin Augustine of Bay Shore will step into the spotlight as the 2017 Gut & Go Enduro champion with Brandon Esposito of Farmingville the Mini 8 champion. The top five in all classes will receive an award with the exception if the Mini 8’s where the top three are recognized.
Aside from all the awards the Riverhead Raceway awards ceremony will also feature a soup to nuts sit down gourmet dinner with guests offered a choice of dinner from three delicious items. A full blown wedding style cocktail hour will kick the night off at 7:00 pm with dinner and awards set for 8:00 pm. Back by popular demands for the musical and dancing entertainment is the band Noiz who in 2016 had everyone on the dance floor right up until the midnight conclusion of the evening.
Tickets are priced at $90 per ticket with a maximum of 12 guests per table. To purchase tickets you can make a check payable to Riverhead Raceway Inc. and mail the order to PO Box 1743, Riverhead, NY 11901. Please indicate how many will be in your party as well what team you are with. To purchase tickets in person you can stop by Riverhead Raceway from 10:00 am until 2:00 pm Monday through Friday, please contact track GM John Ellwood in advance of your visit by calling 631-842-RACE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *