Concord, N.C. –  Matt Hirschman, of Northampton, Pa., continued his onslaught on modified racing Saturday winning the $10,000-to-win 15th Annual John Blewett III North South Shootout, in Memory of Charles Kepley.  It was his sixth victory in the fall classic. 
                  Matt Craig , of Kannapolis, has an onslaught of his own in the Pro All Star Series (PASS) ranks getting his sixth win of the season in their 125-lap affair.


Nov 4th 2017: Andy Seuss (11) Bobby Measmer Jr. (17), Matt Hirschman (60) and Ryan Preece race for the lead in the late stages of Saturday’s North South Shootout – Brenda Jane Photo

          Hirschman used the precise amount of patience and tire management in getting the win.  For the bulk of the event he rode inside the top 10, with a late race charge into the top four spots.  With 12 laps remaining he made the move inside of Ryan Preece for the lead and ultimately the victory. 

                For Preece, a two-time North Shootout Champion, it was also a game of tire management and he quickly sliced through the field in the final 30 laps from 14th to the lead on fresher tires.  But in the end, he had to settle for runner-up honors.
                The story of the weekend was hometown driver Bobby Measmer Jr. who crashed his primary car on Friday night and found himself starting last on the field driving a different car – one owned by Phil Stefanelli Racing.  With only 20 minutes of practice in the car, Measmer drove from last on the field to the lead and was in the hunt for the win over the waning laps.  In the end he finished third.
                Burt Myers, a two-time North Shootout Champion, finished fourth with Jeff Fultz fifth.
                It was a clean sweep for Hirschman as he won Friday nights Ted Christopher Dash For Cash Race bring his weekend tally to $13,000.   Brandon Ward was the winner of the Precision Spindle Pole Award for his fast qualifying run Friday night.
Matt Craig all but locked up his second straight Pro All Stars Series (PASS) South Super Late Model championship by claiming his sixth win of the season Saturday afternoon in the North-South Shootout at Concord Speedway.  Craig’s seventh career PASS South win was his first at Concord Speedway, but not the first for his family-owned team at the track, where they have also gone to victory lane in the past with drivers like Rodney Childers, Jeff Fultz, and Clay Rogers.
                Other winners on the weekend were:  Todd Own in the SK Modified Feature, Preece in the Ted Christopher SK Modified Dash For Cash, A.J. Sanders in the Mini Stock Feature, Justin Carroll in Limited Late Models and Jeremy Haudricort in the Chargers.
                The management of the North South Shootout wish the thank fans, drivers, teams, industry representative, sponsors and the staff for another successful running of the race.
125-Lap North South Shootout Modified Features:
1.       Matt Hirschman
2.       Ryan Preece
3.       Bobby Measmer Jr.
4.       Burt Myers
5.       Jeff Fultz
6.       Kyle Ebersole
7.       Jon McKennedy
8.       Anthony Nocella
9.       Chuck Hossfeld
10.   Jason Myers
11.   George Brunnhoelzl
12.   Sammy Rameau
13.   Bryan Dauzat
14.   Tyler Truex
15.   Woody Pitkat
16.   Jeremy Gerstner
17.   Andy Seuss
18.   Bryan Lofton
19.   Brandon Ward
20.   Gary Putnam
21.   Jamie Tomaino
22.   Chase Dowling
23.   Calvin Carroll
24.   Carlos Gray
25.   Gary Fountain
125-Lap Pro All Star Series Feature:
1.       Matt Craig
2.       Ty Majeski
3.       Spencer Davis
4.       Jake Crum
5.       Chad McCumbee
6.       Kodie Conner
7.       Colt James
8.       Roy Hayes
9.       Erik Darnell
10.   Jared Irvan
11.   Tate Fogleman
12.   JP Josiasse
13.   Kyle McCallum
14.   Christian Eckes
15.   Garrett Evans
16.   Wes Burton
17.   Dave Farrington Jr.
18.   Jordan McCallum
DNS – Matt Wallace
13-Lap Ted Christopher Modified Dash For Cash:
1.       Matt Hirschman
2.       Ryan Preece
3.       Gary Putnam
4.       Andy Seuss
5.       Anthony Nocella
6.       Calvin Carroll
7.       Woody Pitkat
8.       Jeff Fultz
9.       Sammy Rameau
10.   Jeremy Gerstner
11.   George Brunnhoelel III
12.   Burt Myers
13.   Bobby Measmer Jr.
50-Lap SK Modified Feature:
1.       Todd Owen
2.       David Arute
3.       Chase Dowling
4.       Josh Wood
5.       Ryan Preece
6.       Carlos Gray
7.       Mike Benevides
13-Lap Ted Christopher SK Modified Dash for Cash:
1.       Ryan Preece
2.       Chase Dowling
3.       Todd Owen
4.       Josh Wood
5.       David Arute
50-Lap Mini Stock Feature:
1.       A.J. Sanders
2.       Chuck Wall
3.       Stephen Sanders
4.       Barry Wilson
5.       Doug Rembold
6.       Austin Cates
7.       Adam Thomas
8.       Johnny Baker
40-Lap Limited Late Model Feature:
1.       Justin Carroll
2.       Andrew Thomas
3.       Tommy Neal
4.       Kenny Brooks
5.       Dillon Wood
6.       Mitchell Wright
25-Lap Charger Feature:
1.       Jeremy Haudricort
2.       Cale Gale
3.       Ryan Robertson
4.       Dillon Wood
5.       Sonny Schoffer
Matt Hirshman Scored His Sixth North South Shootout Victory Saturday – Scott Ely Photo
Andy Seuss (11) Bobby Measmer Jr. (17), Matt Hirschman (60) and Ryan Preece race for the lead in the late stages of Saturday’s North South Shootout – Brenda Jane Photo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *