WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Defending Pete and Elda’s Bar/Carmen’s Pizzeria Modified champion Jimmy Blewett has proven to be tough again this season as he won his second straight 40-lap race in the All American Auto Group Racing Series at Wall Stadium Speedway. Saturday night’s program was the second of the young season.
Starting from the third row Blewett began his charge towards the front immediately as Jason Hearne of New Egypt jumped to the lead. By lap five Blewett had entered the top four and advanced to the top three by lap ten. By lap 12 Blewett was up to second and locked in a struggle for the lead with Hearne, Holmdel’s Andrew Krause and Chas Okerson of Freehold.
Hearne continued to lead the way while the trio wrestled behind him with plenty of contact between the cars and occasional smoke coming from a rubbing tire on Blewett’s racer. The action continued hot and heavy until three laps to go when Hearne and Blewett touched on the backstretch and Hearne spun from the lead. Blewett then raced on to the win with Howell’s Eric Mauriello grabbing second. Jackson’s Steven Reed, Tyler Truex of Mayetta and Manasquan’s Kenny Van Wickle wrapped up the top five. After being involved in tangles on the final lap Krause was eighth and Okerson was 11th.
“There was a lot of contact out there tonight,” Blewett said as he looked at the damage to his racer in the winner’s circle. “I see the rear in the car is off by about six inches. No wonder it went from so good to being a handful. Hey, if four wheels are still on it I’ll drive it.”
Howell’s Eric Lane crossed the finish line first in a non-stop 25-lapper for the Center State Engineering Sportsman cars, but when post race tech inspection found an unapproved carburetor on his race car Howell’s Kevin Davison was awarded the trophies. Brick’s Robert Sutphin, Robby Walton of Tuckerton, Joe King of Toms River and Howell’s Rob Silver completed the top five.
Bayville’ Elliott Wohl was also found to have unapproved parts on his car after crossing the finish line first in the 25-lapper for the O’Shea’s Auto Repair Factory Stocks and that handed Mike Montano of Freeport, N.Y. his first win of the young season. Howell’s Richie Byrne crossed the line third but also had trouble in tech. That made Kenny Green of Farmingdale, John Bowers of Pt. Pleasant, Wall’s Rob Haberstick and Matt Badessa of Cranford the remainder of the top five.
Defending Surfside Collision 4 Cylinder Stock Champion Bryan Osborn of Howell won his second straight 25-lapper impressively. Darianne McLaren of Edison, Jackson’s Darren Burdge, Sal Liguori and Nicole Razzano wrapped up the top five.
Browns Mills’ Vinny Troia won his second straight Green Flag Driving Experience 20-lapper after battling with runner-up Nick Van Wickle of Edgewater Park much of the way.
Shannon Mongeau of Manchester was tops in the 15-lapper for the Mike’s Performance Center Limited Late Models.
The 2018 Saturday night regular season continues this Saturday evening with the Modifieds, Sportsman cars, Factory Stocks, 4 Cylinder Stocks and Legend Cars in action The pit area will open at 1:00 p.m. Grandstands will open at5:00 p.m. Qualifying starts at 5:45 p.m. and main event action starts at 7:05 p.m.
Saturday night racing action continues through early October with schedule details at
Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address
MODIFIED FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. JIMMY BLEWETT, HOWELL, 2. Eric Mauriello, 3. Steven Reed, 4. Tyler Truex, 5. Kenny Van Wickle, 6. Shaun Carrig, 7. Zack Alspach, 8. Andrew Krause, 9. Joey Merlino, 10. Blake Barney, 11. Chas Okerson, 12. Derek Hopkinson, 13. Jason Hearne, 14. Trevor Alspach, 15. Tom Catanzaro
SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. KEVIN DAVISON, HOWELL, 2. Robert Sutphin, 3. Robby Walton, 4. Joe King, 5. Rob Silver, 6. Carsten DiGiantomasso, 7. Eddie McCarthy, 8. Louie Keraitis, 9. Michael Rising, 10. Todd Dige, 11. Dom Fattarusso, 12. Roland DeMartino, 13. John McCormick, 14. Kyle Scisco, 15. Jarret DiGiantomasso, 16. Joe Cooley, 17. Jonathan Laureigh, 18. Howie Conk, DQ Eric Lane
FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. MIKE MONTANO, FREEPORT, N.Y., 2. Kenny Green, 3. John Bowers, 4. Rob Haberstick, 5. Matt Badessa, 6. Tom Rajkowski, 7. Tony Bartone, 8. Steve West, 9. Whitey Miller, 10. Robert Ptaszynski, 11. Nancy Riggleman, 12. Tim Majek, 13. Waylon Speer, 14. Gerry Koenig, 15. Matt Malachatka, 16. Robert DePonte, 17. Theresa Collins, 18. Scott Riggleman, 19. Bryan O’Shea, DQ Elliot Wohl, Richie Byrne, Bill Stockert
4 CYLINDER STOCKS – 25 Laps – 1. BRAIN OSBORN, HOWELL, 2. Darianne McLaren, 3. Darren Burdge, 4. Sal Liguori, 5. Nicole Razzano, 6. Jennifer Schultz, 7. Chris Silvestri, 8. Neil Rutt, 9. Jeff Loesch, 10. JC Duvall, 11. Randy Hart, 12. Jay Conrad, 13. Mike Lavery, 14. Ian Ashford, 15. Roy Pickell, 16. Doug Ashford, 17. Richard Smith, 18. Mike Mee
LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 20 Laps – 1. VINNY TROIA, BROWNS MILLS, 2. Nick Van Wickle, 3. Peter Bruno, 4. Tony Hodgson, 5. Eugene Drew, 6. James Van Wickle, 7. Joe Przybylinski, 8. Roger Nickerson, 9. Bill Petrolino
LIMITED LATE MODEL FEATURE – 15 Laps – 1. SHANNON MONGEAU, MANCHESTER, Joe Mongeau, 3. Harry Schaeffer, 4. Mike Tillett
JJ Lane Photo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *