Defending Series Champion Tim Gullo Wins Race of Champions Super Stock Series Opener-

 Lancaster, N.Y. – (May 14, 2018) – Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, N.Y., took the lead on lap 41 after starting 9th on the field to earn the victory in the season opening “Queen City Clash” at Lancaster (N.Y.) National Speedway this past Saturday night.

It was the 13th victory of Emerling’s Race of Champions career.

“We had to work hard for that one tonight,” smiled Emerling in victory lane. “Daren (Scherer) had the pressure on after we got to the lead and he was right with us. It feels good. We didn’t catch many breaks last season, so we will take this one and get ready for the next race. It’s always great to start off the season with a win.”

Daren Scherer of Binghamton, N.Y., started on the pole and led the first 41 circuits fending off the challenges of Tommy Catalano of Ontario, N.Y., and Daryl Lewis, Jr., of Ontario, N.Y.

Catalano would later fade with brake issues.

Scherer thought he had an engine issue when his exhaust broke, moved over for Emerling handing him the lead. Scherer resumed chase but he could not regain the top spot. Emerling held on for the win, while Scherer came home second with Lewis finishing third.

George Skora, III of Eden, N.Y., finished fourth after an eventful race and Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, N.Y., came home fifth after moving up through the field early in the race.

Hossfeld posted the fastest time during qualifying and won the final qualifying race while Leaty and Lewis claimed the other two qualifying races.

Tim Gullo of Elmira, N.Y., won the Race of Champions Super Stock after an epic battle with 2016 Series Champion, Joe Mancuso of Buffalo, N.Y. Mancuso raced his way to the top spot before spinning out in turn two under the caution forfeiting his top spot.

The duo ran side-by-side for many laps before the incident occurred late in the race.

“This is a great win for us,” explained Gullo from victory lane. “Our team works extremely hard. We take great pride in our efforts and today was just an incredible way to get the year started. Joe (Mancuso) and I had a great battle, but I’m not sure what happened up there, he just went around.”

Chris Finnachario finished second. Chuck Anderson third, while Joe Mancuso and Dana Novoa rounded out the top-five.

Tim Gullo and Joe Mancuso won the qualifying races.

The Race of Champions is a sanctioning body presenting Modified and Stock Car racing on asphalt and dirt surfaces throughout the Northeast, with events in New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey with primary marketing partners Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, US Army, Upstate Automotive Group, Waddell Communications, Pilat Graphic Design, Jerico Performance, TDH Refrigeration, Sherwood Racing Wheels, and The 68th annual Race of Champions weekend will take place in 2018 at Lake Erie Speedway in North East, Pennsylvania and is the second longest consecutive auto-racing event in North America, second only to the Indianapolis 500.

For more information, contact;

Race of Champions Media at

Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website:

Feature Finish

Queen City Clash

Lancaster National Speedway, Lancaster, NY.

Finishing Position, Car Number, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)

Finish       Starting Position      No.           Name                                       Laps

1              9                             07            Patrick Emerling                       75

2              1                              3              Daren Scherer

3              4                              10            Daryl Lewis Jr.

4              12                            65            George Skora III

5              6                              22            Chuck Hossfeld

6              11                            12x          Andy Jankowiak

7              7                              45B          Eric Beers

8              20                            17            Danny Knoll Jr.

9              17                            88            Scott Wylie

10            8                              25            Mike Leaty

11            10                            66            Austin Kochenash

12            3                              54C          Tommy Catalano

13            19                            45H          Bill Hebing

14            5                              2              Kevin Miller

15            16                            59            Karl Hehr                                 74

16            2                              32            Tyler Rypkema                         74

17            18                            54E          Jack Ely                                    30 (Clutch)

18            15                            64            Amy Catalano                           19 (Power Steering)

19            14                            4              Zack Knowlden                         17

20            22                            28            Kreig Heroth                            3 (Accident)

21            21                            40            Alan Bookmiller                       2

22            13                            01            John Barber                             0 (Engine)

Time of Race: 48 minutes 1.394 seconds              Average Speed 46.852 mph

Margin of victory: 1.413 econds       Fast Qualifying Lap: Chuck Hossfeld / 17.204 seconds @ 104.433 mph

Lead Changes: 1 among 2 drivers (Daren Scherer 1-41, Patrick Emerling 38-39, Tyler Rypkema 40-45, Andy Jankowiak 46-75)

Paved Track Qualifying Race Winners; Mike Leaty (1); Daryl Lewis, Jr. (1); Chuck Hossfeld (1)

Jerico Performance “Jammin’ Gears Awards”; Danny Knoll, Jr. (Advanced 12 positions in feature)

US Army Top Performer Award; Tommy Catalano (17.266 seconds @ 104.251 mph)

Jan “Pops” Leaty Award – Leader Lap 25 – Daren Scherer

MyRacePass “Free Pass” Award – N/A

Feature Finish

Queen Citty Clash ‘30’

Lancaster National Speedway, Lancaster, NY.

Finishing Position, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)

1              Tim Gullo

2              Chris Finnachario

3              Chuck Anderson

4              Joe Mancuso

5              Dana Novoa

6              Tommy Barron

7              Josh Schoonmaker

8              Joel Gleason

9              Vern Hedderick

10            Ron Richter

11            Tommy Reese

12            T.J. Cochrane

13            Zach Willis

14            Tommy Krawczyk

15            Jeff Whalen

Qualifying Race Winners; Tim Gullo, Joe Mancuso

-30- *eof

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *