PIT BOX: Justin Bonsignore Looks To Keep Momentum In Thompson 125

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Points Leader Has Been On A Roll At Thompson

 After a full round of racing around Tennessee and Virginia — five races at four tracks — the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East heads north for the twists and turns of road-course racing on Saturday. New Jersey Motorsports Park will host the series for the third consecutive season.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race at Connecticut’s Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park has been postponed a day; the Thompson 125 will now run on Thursday. And the second race of the NASCAR Pinty’s Series returns the series to Jukasa Motor Speedway on Saturday evening.



Justin Bonsignore heads back to Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park having (a) won the last race, (b) won the last time the tour was at Thompson, and (c) holding the championship points.

Still, that Icebreaker 150 win didn’t come easy for the Holtsville, New York, driver, and several other drivers had a shot at the trophy before Bonsignore took the checkered flag. Most notably, Jon McKennedy and Ronnie Williams had potential race-winning runs cut short in the closing laps, while Chase Dowling saw his chances erased by a restart violation.

It’s been awhile since there’s been a new face in Victory Lane at Thompson.

Since Sept. 2012, Justin Bonsignore (6) also has the most wins on the .375-mile banked oval. In fact, only six other drivers have won there in that span: Doug Coby (4), Bobby Santos III (3), Ryan Preece (3), Rowan Pennink (2), Timmy Solomito (2) and the now-retired Mike Stefanik (1).

The shortest distance event of the year at Thompson will also serve to shake up the strategy.

RACING-REFERENCE: Previous Whelen Modified Tour races at Thompson | Whelen Modified Tour drivers’ career stats at Thompson


PLACE Thompson (Conn.) Speedway Motorsports Park
DATE Thursday, June 14
TIME 8 p.m. ET
TRACK LAYOUT .375-mile oval
2017 WINNER Ryan Preece
2017 POLE Donny Lia
EVENT SCHEDULE Thursday — Garage opens: 1:45 p.m. ET; Final Practice: 4-5 p.m.; Group qualifying: 7 p.m.; Thompson 125: 8 p.m. (approx.).
TWITTER @ThompsonSpdwy
HASHTAG #Thompson125 #NWMT


CREW CHIEF HANDOUT: The maximum starting field is 36 cars, including provisionals.

Qualifying groups will be determined by each vehicle’s overall fastest single lap from the official practice sessions.

The first 30 cars will secure starting positions based on group qualifying session. The remaining six spots will be awarded through the provisional process.

Each group qualifying session will be five (5) minutes in duration and the fastest single lap speed of each vehicle will determine starting positions 1st through 26th. Adjustments or repairs may not be made on a vehicle after the vehicle enters the track to begin the qualifying session. Vehicles may not return to the track or make any further qualifying laps unless directed to do so by a NASCAR Official or in the event of a caution. If a vehicle returns to pit road, the vehicle’s qualifying attempt is complete.

The THOMPSON 125 will 125 laps (78.125 miles).

The maximum tire allotment available for this event is ten (10 tires per team. Four (4) tires used for qualifying must be used to begin the race. The tire change rule is three (3) tires, any position.


Photo: Michael Jaworecki Myracenews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *