Tom Barron, Race of Champions Super Stocks and Dave Milbrand Wilbert’s U Pull-It Four Cylinders Visit Victory Lane on Opening Night –

Williamson, New York – (May 31, 2019) – Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, N.Y., made a dramatic move in traffic to get past Andy Jankowiak of Buffalo, N.Y., to take the lead and go on and win the Tribute to Don Pratt ‘62’ at Spencer Speedway presented by Wilbert’s U Pull-It in Williamson, N.Y., which began the tracks 65th consecutive season of competition.

The win was the 15th of Emerling’s Race of Champions career and his third Series victory at Spencer. He’s just 1 win away from tying his crew chief, Jan Leaty, for 4th on the all-time win list.

“We had a good night tonight,” stated Emerling in victory lane. “Things went our way. We raced Andy (Jankowiak) really hard and I knew Eric (Beers) and Mike (Leaty) my teammate were coming behind me. It’s great to pay tribute to another great Modified competitor in Don Pratt and thank you to Curt Tooley for working extra hard to raise additional lap money.”

Jankowiak ended up in the turn four wall on a restart, before Eric Beers of Northampton, Pa., gave Emerling a challenge to the finish.

Beers finished second with Mike Leaty of Williamson, N.Y., recovering from an early race spin to finish third.

Daren Scherer of Binghamton, N.Y., finished fourth and Daryl Lewis, Jr., of Ontario, N.Y., rounded out the top-five.

Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, N.Y., posted the “Top of the Board” overall fast time in group time trials with a lap of 18.893 seconds with an average speed of 95.273 mph.

Leaty; Tommy Catalano of Ontario, N.Y., and Hossfeld won the qualifying races.

Tom Barron of Ontario, N.Y., scored the win in the Race of Champions Super Stock opener. Barron topped Tommy Krawczyk of West Seneca, N.Y., who finished second and Zack Willis of Williamson, N.Y., who finished third.

Dave Milbrand of Clarence, N.Y., won the Wilbert’s U Pull-It Four Cylinder division race. Milbrand topped Ryan Brown of Ontario, N.Y., (second) and Allison Montgomery of Ontario, N.Y. (third).

The Race of Champions is a sanctioning body presenting Modified and Stock Car racing on asphalt and dirt surfaces throughout the Northeast, with events in New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey with primary marketing partners Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, US Army, Upstate Automotive Group, Waddell Communications, Pilat Graphic Design, TDH Refrigeration, Sherwood Racing Wheels, and The 69th annual Race of Champions weekend will take place in 2019 at Lake Erie Speedway in North East, Pennsylvania and is the second longest consecutive auto-racing event in North America, second only to the Indianapolis 500.

For more information, contact;

Race of Champions Media at

Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website:

Feature Finish

Tribute to Don Pratt ‘62’ (62-laps)

Spencer Speedway, Williamson, N.Y.

Finishing Position, Car Number, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)

Finish 1Starting Position 4No. 07Name Patrick EmerlingLaps 75 
2345Eric Beers  
3625Mike Leaty  
423Daren Scherer  
5510Daryl Lewis, Jr.  
61466Austin Kochenash  
71888Scott Wylie  
8152Kevin Miller  
9754Jack Ely  
102445Timmy Catalano  
11964Amy Catalano  
121901John Barber  
13832Tyler Rypkema  
142040Jake Rought  
151122Chuck Hossfeld50 Mechanical
16221Chris Risdale47 Mechanical
17112Andy Jankowiak41 Accident
18218Chris Finnachario39 Mechanical 
191719Austin Beers38 Accident 
201359Karl Hehr23 Mechanical 
211065George Skora, III8 Accident 
221254Tommy Catalano8 Accident 
231672TJ Potrzebowski8 Accident 
242340Alan Bookmiller7 Mechanical 

Time of Race: 53 minutes & 38 seconds                   Average Speed: 34.676 mph               Margin of Victory: .740 seconds Lead Changes: 1 among 2 drivers. [12, Andy Jankowiak 1-41, [07, Patrick Emerling] 41-62, “Top of the Board” Award; Chuck Hossfeld (18.893 seconds @ 95.273 mph)

Dirt Track Qualifying Race Winners; Mike Leaty (2); Tommy Catalano; Chuck Hossfeld (2)

US Army Top Performer Award; Patrick Emerling (19.284 seconds @ 93.342 mph)

Wilwood Engineering Certificate Award (5th Place) – Matt Hirschman

MyRacePass “Free Pass” Award – Jake Rought

Feature Finish

Race of Champions Super Stock Series

Tribute to Don Pratt (30-laps)

Spencer Speedway, Williamson, N.Y.

Finishing Position, Car Number, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)

Finish 1Starting Position 1No. 28Name Tom Barron   
2448Tommy Krawzcyk 
3275WZack Willis 
41536Brian Hallet 
5503Dale Lazzaro 
6719Rob Pocobello 
7910Brandon Lemer 
8692Ryan Lagoda 
981Vern Hedderiick 
101010Tim Farro 
11364Joe Mancuso 
1214131Ron Richter 
131348bEric Brown 
141625Joel Gleason 
151204Travis Montgomery 
16112Joe Fetzer 

Qualifying Race 1; Tom Barron  – Qualifying Race 2; Tommy Krawczyk

Ken Dippel photo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *