Riverhead, NY July 13th.By Bob Finan
This Saturday night July 20th the earth will be shaking beneath the ground of Riverhead Raceway as the first School Bus Demolition Derby of 2019 is presented along with an action packed NASCAR Whelen All American series program featuring six division of stock car racing. Returning after a Saturday night off are the NASCAR Modifieds who’ll run a 50-lap feature event.

Ten races into the NASCAR Modified championship chase defending champion Kyle Soper of Manorville had controlled victory lane winning six times. With nine races left in the 2019 campaign including Saturday night many wonder of Soper can break a long standing track record for 10 wins in a single season. Gary Winters was first to reach the 10 win mark in 1962 while “Charging” Charlie Jarzombek did it twice in consecutive seasons 1976 & 1977. On the strength of such a dominating start Soper has a comfortable point lead heading to Saturday with his nearest rivals Tom Rogers Jr. of Riverhead, John Beatty Jr. of Merrick, John Fortin Sr. of Holtsville and Dave Brigati of Calverton will have to get busy of they have any shot making a run at Soper. Beatty with his 2nd win of ’19 in the most recent NASCAR Modified event on Wednesday July 10th is the only other repeat winner other that Soper. Rogers and Roger Turbush have tallied single wins this year.

Another driver moving in on history is LM championship leader Jeremy McDermott of Riverhead who won his sixth race in seven starts Wednesday night July 10th . With his next win Jeremy will tie both Robin Vollmoeller (1983) and Paul McElearney (1984) for the single season LM win mark of 7. Both drivers won their 7 races in 10 starts with it very much a possibility McDermott could get to 7 wins in 8 starts and 8 wins in 9 starts if somebody doesn’t come along to slow the former multi-time champion down in the remaining eight races in 2019. Only Chris Turbush of Wading Riverhead has broken into victory lane this season and more often than not he has finished second to McDermott coming to Saturday night’s 25-lapper 19 point out of the championship lead.

Rounding out the stock car portion of the program are the death defying Figure Eights where Tom Rogers Jr. of Riverhead will be aiming for his sixth win in eight starts as only Ken Hyde Jr. of Yaphank has visited victory lane this year turning the trick twice. The single season record for wins in this class is none as both the late Joe Biondolillo Jr. and Roger Maynor each reaching that mark twice in their illustrious careers. Six races remain for Rogers to attempt either tying or eclipsing that record. Also in action will be the Super Pro Trucks, Street Stocks and a 4/6-Cylinder Gut & Go Enduro.

After the checker flag waves on the 4/6-Cylinder Gut & Go Enduro it will be time to roll out the heavy hitters, literally. The 13-ton School Bus machines will hit the track for another earth shattering Demolition Derby featuring the likes of “Cheesebox” Michael Rommeney, “Stalker” Scott Phillips, “Kev-O” Kevin Rommeney, “McChicken” Rob Savoy, “Irish” Mike O’Keefe and “The Punisher” Paul Fox among others. The contest is unlike any other with the sight & sound of the huge buses coming together unlike any other.
Qualifying will start at 6:00 pm with opening ceremonies and first feature at approx. 7:00 pm. Adults are $30, kids 6-12 $10 5 and under are free. For our remaining 2019 schedule of events visit E-mails reach us at and the phone number remains 631-842-RACE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *