Willis Crowned 2019 Champion at MRS Banquet

Thompson, CT.   Modified Racing Series closed out its season Sunday afternoon as the 2019 Series Champion, Mike Willis Jr, of Grantham, NH, was lauded for his accomplishment on winning his first ever series title.

The Thompson Speedway Clubhouse played host to this year’s banquet.

Team Willis as they are known, headed by Mike Willis Sr, crew chief Dennis Harty and spotter Brandon Wilkinson, were consistent all season and were at or near the top of the point standings throughout the campaign.  

Willis Jr, the 2013 Rookie of the Year, was a contender for the title a year ago.

He notched his first MRS win at hometown track Claremont Speedway back in June.  

Maurice Enterprises and Spirit of Alaska provided sponsorship for the Willis team.

Long-time car owner Gary Casella was lauded for winning the 2019 Car- Owner title.

With driver Ronnie Williams and crew chief Steve “Mully” Mullens, the Roscoe Racing team found victory lane on three occasions including New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

The top-14 drivers and car owners were recognized and thanked for their support.

Sunoco Racing Fuel and Hoosier Racing Tires Jackets were presented to Willis

Each year specialty awards are presented. This year recipients included:

Above & Beyond: Daryl Poprosky

Dedication: Chris Bolton

Mechanic of the Year:  Steve Mullens

Most Improved: Dylan Rock

Rookie of the Year: Brian Robie

Sportsmanship: George Sherman

The schedule has not been released as yet. Beech Ridge Motor Speedway and Star Speedway as previously announced are scheduled. At present Jack Bateman and newly named general manager Bill Doucette, are speaking with several tracks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *