Justin Bonsignore Distances From Field For Jennerstown Win

By: Kyle Souza / Photo: Nate Smallwood/NASCAR

Justin Bonsignore made it known on Sunday that he will be the one to challenge Doug Coby for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship in 2020.

The Holtsville, New York, driver slapped the field in the season opening Morocco Welding/Wade Cole Memorial 133 presented by Dunleavy’s Truck & Trailer Repair at Jennerstown Speedway, leading all the laps from the Mayhew Tools pole to open the season in Victory Lane.


It was Bonsignore’s 27th career Whelen Modified Tour win and his 15th in his last 33 starts — all coming with Ryan Stone as crew chief. It was the first Whelen Modified Tour race at Jennerstown since 2006 — and a race that was originally scheduled for May 23, but rescheduled for Sunday due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“It was an unbelievable day to come out and get the pole… it’s a good way to come out,” Bonsignore said. “It’s a nice way to make a good statement.”

STATS: Justin Bonsignore Career Look

Although Bonsignore led the entire distance from the pole, his car didn’t start off where he would have liked, a bit on the loose side. During a break at the halfway mark, where all cars were able to head down pit road for fresh rubber and come back on the track in the same spot they entered, Ryan Stone made the right adjustments. 

Bonsignore drove away on a final restart with 20 laps to go to seal the win. Craig Lutz, who charged from just outside the top five in the final 50 laps, finished second. Lutz lined up with Bonsignore on the front row for the final restart but wasn’t able to mount a charge.

Jon McKennedy, driving for former Daytona 500 winning crew chief Tommy Baldwin, finished third, while Matt Hirschman and former Sunoco Rookie of the Year Calvin Carroll finished the top five. Ron Silk, defending and six-time champion Doug Coby, Kyle Bonsignore, Matt Swanson and Rob Summers finished the top 10.

The race was run in honor of Wade Cole, a veteran of the Whelen Modified Tour who had been racing since the start of the modern train 1985. Cole lost his life in March.

“I want to dedicate this win to Wade Cole, a fixture on this series for longer than I’ve been alive.  We’re going to miss him dearly,” Bonsignore said. “He was a guy we deserved to have.”

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track on Saturday, July 4 at White Mountain Motorsports Park in North Woodstock, New Hampshire, for their second race of the season. The remainder of the schedule remains fluid due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

RESULTS: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Wade Cole Memorial 133:

  1. Justin Bonsignore
  2. Craig Lutz
  3. Jon McKennedy
  4. Matt Hirschman
  5. Calvin Carroll
  6. Ron Silk
  7. Doug Coby
  8. Kyle Bonsignore
  9. Matt Swanson
  10. Rob Summers
  11. Sam Rameau
  12. Chris Pasteryak
  13. Dave Sapienza
  14. Eric Goodale
  15. Timmy Solomito
  16. Woody Pitkat
  17. Jeff Gallup
  18. Tyler Rypkema
  19. Patrick Emerling
  20. JR Bertuccio
  21. Jeremy Gerstner
  22. Edward McCarthy
  23. JB Fortin
  24. John Beatty 
  25. Roger Turbush
  26. Chase Dowling
  27. Melissa Fifield
  28. Ronnie Williams
  29. Amy Catalano
  30. Timmy Catalano
  31. Walter Sutcliffe Jr.
  32. Tommy Catalano
  33. Andrew Krause

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *