Hirschman goes back to back; Del Nero Holds off all challenges.

For the second week in a row Matt Hirschman proved to be the best in asphalt modified racing. Rookie of the year hopefuls Chris Turbush and Jack Ely lead the field to the green flag with Ely getting the jump into turn one on the outside and would take the top spot early. Hirschman would start the 50 lap event in the tenth starting spot and would slowly creep his way towards the front.. Only two cautions flew throughout the race and Ely was setting a torid pace. Ely would lead the first thirty five circuits, but Hirschman would use an inside move off of turn four to over take the top spot and cruise to fifth win in six races. Austin Beers ended up third after starting seventeenth, followed by Jerry Hildebrand and Zane Zeiner.

A nonstop four cylinder main event saw Danny Cascioli winning for the fourth time in 2020. Paulie Hartwig III would start on the pole with Cascioli lined up along side. Hartwig III and Micah Adams, who are Evergreens two youngest competitors, battled for second all while being glued to the bumper of Cascioli. Hartwig and Adams both notched their best career finishes of second and third.

Bryan O’Shea has been on a roll in 2020 with four feature wins at Wall Stadium. O’Shea, who started on the pole, did not have it easy at all as point leader Steph Moyer hounded O’shea all race long. Moyer would look high and low low lap after lap to no avail. As the race went on, Moyer began to use the bumper oh so lightly as she tried to find away around the leader. O’shea would hold on over Moyer for his first Evergreen win of the year.

Frank DelNero returned to racing action after a twenty year layoff. DelNero would start on the pole and lead every lap however it was not easy. Point leader Broc Brown would follow Del Nero most of the race trying high and low to get around the leader. Brown would do everything in his power to get around Del Nero even trying to use the bumper to wash DelNero up the track. Brown would not be able to get it done as the cagey veteran was able to hold off the challenge. Steve Shultz worked his way through the field and would add to the battle for the lead. Shultz would work to the outside of Brown and then tried to work the top on Del Nero. Shultz and Brown battled side by side coming to the white flag. Contact was made between the two which sent Brown’s car into the turn three guardrail. Brown would return. Del Nero would hold off young Evan Rygielski for his first Evergreen win.

A huge thank you to everyone who helped us get the track dry in under an hour after an hour rain delay.

Modifieds: Matt Hirschman, Jack Ely, Austin Beers, Jerry Hildebrand, Zane Zeiner, Chris Turbush, Eddie McCarthy, Paul Mankoski, Jesse Strohl, Roger Coss, Earl Paules, Jacob Kerstetter, Brian Defebo, Jim Gavek, Wayne Szerencsits, Wes Gilbert, Bobby Jones

Street Stocks: Frank DelNero, Evan Rygielski, Brian Halecki, Frank Petroski, Gordon Buchman, Jason Harmon, Broc Brown, Dennis Buss, Steve Tito, Brandon Christman, Kadie Pursell, Mike Pollack, Steve Shultz, Ken Erney

4 Cylinders: Danny Cascioli, Paulie Hartwig III, Micah Adams, Harry O’Neill, TJ Kapish, Jimmy Ayre, Jasper Zeigafuse, Tony Hilliard, Steve Kreitzer, Zeb Farber, Kenzie Adams, Ryan Burkett, Mark Spencer, Jacob Knittle, Jay Skupski

Factory Stocks: Bryan O’Shea, Steph Moyer, Kevin Brown, Wes Sammon, Blaine Barry, Mitch Hawk, Genevive Yamelski, Bob Wright, Scott Sipe, Nate Marsico

Legends: Daniel Carter, Alek Andrees, Kevin Nowak, Brad Lowmaster, Brandon Andrees, Riely O’Keefe, Jasper Zeigafuse, James Anderson, Alex Schmiedel, Chris Sinatro, Charlie Hodge, Nicholas Morabito, Conner Weddell, Ed Trump, Brian Shoch, Patrick Verwys, David French

Bandos: Connor Weddell, Justin Teresak, Isiah Anderson, Michael Sinagra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *