”Zack Curren Unstoppable in Chemung Sunoco Modified Action, Grabs Season First”


(Chemung, NY) Officials at Chemung Speedrome gambled with the weather and came out on the winning end of that gamble. It was Kids Appreciation Night, sponsored by Just in Time Roofing & Gutters. A brief track-drying procedure delayed the start by just 15 minutes. Winners included Zack Curren (Sunoco Modifieds), Garrett Zacharias (Insinger Performance Super Stocks), Greg Moldt (4 Cylinders), Randy Mathews (Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stocks) and Michael Bast (INEX Bandoleros). The bulk of the Insinger Performance Super Stock results were unofficial.

The Sunoco Modifieds ran a caution-free 30-lap feature, and it was a show of pure dominance by Zack Curren. He’s had an up and down season but on Friday night it couldn’t have been any higher up. He won the heat then powered his way around pole-sitter Charlie Sharpsteen on the opening lap. Point leader Tony Hanbury also passed Sharpsteen and was up to second. That left the Sharpsteen brothers, Charlie and Lee, in a battle for third. Keith Youngs, meanwhile, broke up that tussle and was in fourth. By lap 17 he was in third. Up front, the gap between Curren and Hanbury widened with each lap and he seemingly easily coasted to his first win of the season. “That’s what we needed,” he told the crowd then added “it was probably not that exciting for you fans. We all like to put on a show.” In the eyes of his family, friends and sponsors he had put on a one-man show. Hanbury finished second over Youngs, L. Sharpsteen and Gunnar Zeiner.

The Insinger Performance Super Stocks competed in the fourth and final race in the ServiceMaster SS Challenge. As of press time, Garrett Zacharias won the race to record his seventh win this year. The remaining results are unofficial. The full race report will be provided next week.

The 4 Cylinder division ran their 20-lap feature with just one caution period. Dustin Pruyne led the first four laps before being passed by Monica Robinson. She led just two laps when Greg Moldt made what was his race-winning pass on lap six. The pair ran together with Pruyne holding on to third. Behind him, Joey Bevacqua and Zack Jaynes ran a good battle for fourth until Tom Shaffer entered the mix. Jason Peck spun going through turns three and four with 13 laps complete, setting up the only restart. Moldt outpaced Robinson and held his lead over the final seven laps to score the win, his eighth this season and the reason he leads the points going into the final event this Friday. Robinson was second, followed by Tom Shaffer, Bevacqua and Pruyne. Moldt and Bevacqua won the two heat races.

The Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stocks also ran a caution-free 20-lap feature. This one boiled down to proving the old saying that you don’t have to lead a lot of laps, just lead the last one. Heat winner Dave Decker led the field off turn two on the opening lap. In the early stages he was chased by heat winner Tyler Harbst and Luke Nickels, as Randy Mathews closed a gap and was on the move toward the front. At the halfway point it was a four-man race. Mathews passed Nickels, then Harbst, and he was up to second. With two to go he still trailed Decker but made his race-winning pass to pick up a career-first in the division. “We had trouble earlier and had to replace the water pump,” he said from victory lane. Harbst, Nickels, Decker and point leader Josh Parker all posted top-five finishes.

Michael Bast backed up last week’s overall Bandolero win, as a Bandit, when he turned in a sweep on Friday night. He and Chase Sinsabaugh won the heat races and the field was set for their 10-lap feature. While Bast took off and led the way, point leader Derrick Vogler had mechanical issues and came to a stop in turn two. When the caution came out Kalysta DeMark pitted to have her bumper bolted back on after it came off. Both restarted and wasted no time running behind Bast when the race resumed. Sinsabaugh spun with two laps to go and set up a final chance for anyone to take the lead. Bast was perfect and scored his second win in a row, this time over DeMark, Sinsabaugh, Devin Gullo and Vogler.

This week the regular season comes to a close on Championship Night, sponsored by Flynn Energy. All 5 regular divisions (Sunoco Modifieds, Insinger Performance Super Stocks, 4 Cylinders, Marion Decker Hobby Stocks and INEX Bandoleros) will be in action for regular distance events. Gates open at 5, practice gets underway at 6 and racing begins at 7 PM. Admission is $13 for adults, $10 for seniors, $5 for kids ages 5 to 11, and free for kids under age 5.

For information, log on to the track’s website: chemung-speedrome.com, ‘like’ us on Facebook: Chemung Speedrome – Racing at the Drome, or call Ray Hodge, Promoter, at 607-483-3468.

Of Note:
For the first time in many years, kids had rides in the race cars during intermission. This was well received by the kids who waited in line to go aboard one of the cars for a lap around the track. Many thanks go out to the drivers who participated and made those special memories for the kids.
The 50/50 winner from Elmira left with $350.
The Firehouse Subs SUV paced the field for all feature events.

Just in Time Roofing & Gutters Night Results:
Sunoco Modifieds (30 Laps): ZACK CURREN, Tony Hanbury, Keith Youngs, Lee Sharpsteen, Gunnar Zeiner, Charlie Sharpsteen
Heat: Curren
Insinger Performance Super Stocks (ServiceMaster Super Stock Challenge Series, Race #4, 25 Laps): GARRETT ZACHARIAS
The remainder of the rundown is unofficial
4 Cylinders (20 Laps): GREG MOLDT, Monica Robinson, Tom Shaffer, Joey Bevacqua, Dustin Pruyne, Zack Jaynes, Gene Purvis, Matt Jenkins, Jason Peck, Patti Hanbury, Ricky Lane
Heats: Bevacqua, Moldt
Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stocks (20 Laps): RANDY MATHEWS, Tyler Harbst, Luke Nickles, Dave Decker, Josh Parker, Doug Deekay, Tom Shaffer, Rick Sinsabaugh, Kalysta DeMark
Heats: Decker, Harbst
INEX Bandoleros (10 Laps): MICHAEL BAST, Kalysta DeMark, Chase Sinsabaugh, Devin Gullo, Derrick Vogler, Joey Allowatt (DNS), Reese Faulisi (DNS), Alex Tuttle (DNS)
Heats: Sinsabaugh, Bast