WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Anthony Sesely of Hazlet and Manchester’s Scott Riggleman, both former driving champions here, used both speed and talent to take big victories at Wall Stadium Speedway Saturday night. The American Pride Night event honored all of those lost during the 9/11 attacks 20 years earlier, those lost to the resulting health issues and the late popular Wall Stadium racing personality Johnny Gasko who passed away earlier this year.

In the Modified 40-lapper Derek Hopkinson of Toms River and Ricky Collins of Willow Grove, Pa. wrestled for the lead early as Sesely shadowed them both while riding third. Sesely dove into second behind Hopkinson on lap 26 and then shadowed the leader before diving into the lead on lap 30. From that point on Sesely led the remainder of the non-stop contest, with Hopkinson, Collins, Farmingdale’s Tommy Martino, Jr. and Jackson’s Steven Reed completing the top five.

“This car was a real rocket tonight,” Sesely said after the race. “Both of the cars in front of me have been real fast this year. I just rode in third and let them play cat and mouse. When it looked like there might not be a caution I went after it.”

Riggleman’s win in the 94-lap Johnny Gasko Memorial race was another thriller with just one caution slowing the pace. The outcome came down to a battle between Riggleman and defending champ Elliot Wohl of Beachwood for most of the race. After that lone lap 38 caution the duo race side-by-side for several laps before battling all the way to the checker flag. Howell’s Johnny Carpenter, Bryan O’Shea of Neptune City and Billy Both of Rahway wrapped up the top five.

“Elliot is always fast so I kept an eye on him all the way,” Riggleman said after his 101st career win. “This car that I am driving was Johnny’s car. We were friends for a long time. This win means the world to me.”

Former champion Kevin Davison of Howell won the 25-lapper for the Sportsman cars, taking the lead when early pace setter, Ryan Fisher of Howell spun in turn two on lap 17. Larry Thompson of Parlin, Carsten DiGiantomasso of Jackson, Manahawkin’s Jake Nelke and Jackson’s Jarret DiGiantomasso were second through fifth.

Ryan Maher of Neptune City won the 25-lapper for the Fast 4 cars, taking the lead near halfway. Burlington’s Alonzo Morales, Howell’s Ian Ashford, Mike Lavery of Orangeburg, N.Y., and Hazlet’s Billy Pross completed the top five.

Kevin Nowak of Medford, N.Y. won the Legend Cars 25-lapper, taking the lead early and never looking back. Eugene Drew of Vernon, Brick’s Bryan Gardella, Peter Bruno of Little Silver and Tanner Jones were second through fifth.

Buddy Sload won the 25-lapper for the touring TQ Midgets.

The 2021 Saturday night regular season continues this Saturday (Sept. 18) evening. Modifieds, Sportsman cars, Fast 4 cars, Limited Late Models and TQ Midgets will all compete. Grandstands will open at 4:00 p.m., qualifying starts at 5:00 p.m. and main event action starts at 7:00 p.m.

Current plans call for Saturday night racing action to continue through October 9’s Cliff Krause Memorial with schedule details available at

Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is


MODIFIED FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. ANTHONY SESELY, HAZLET, 2. Derek Hopkinson, 3. Ricky Collins, 4. Tommy Martino, Jr., 5. Steven Reed, 6. Andrew Krause, 7. Kenny Van Wickle, 8. Tyler Truex, 9. Ron Frees, 10. Eddie McCarthy, 11. Joey Merlino, 12. Jason Treat, 13. Eric Lane, 14. Jake Nelke, 15. Mike Brennan, 16. Carsten DiGiantomasso, 17. Neil Rutt III, 18. Tom Catanzaro

FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 94 Laps – 1. SCOTT RIGGLEMAN, MANCHESTER, 2. Elliot Wohl, 3. Johnny Carpenter, 4. Bryan O’Shea, 5. Billy Both, 6. Mike Montano, 7. Nick Catone, 8. Doug Ashford, 9. Matt Badessa, 10. Brian Osborn, 11. Chris Weber, 12. Nancy Riggleman, 13. Dennis Pinkiewicz, 14. Scott Purcell, 15. Nick Kilmer, 16. Tom Rajkowski, 17. Steve Mangano, 18. Brian DeSarno

SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. KEVIN DAVISON, HOWELL, 2. Larry Thompson, 3. Carsten DiGiantomasso, 4. Jake Nelke, 5. Jarret DiGiantomasso, 6. Chris Silvestri, 7. Neil Rutt III, 8. Jimmy Wolcott, 9. Jeffrey Loesch, 10. Ryan Fisher, 11. Kenny Reaves, 12. Dave Bailey, 13. Darren Cox, 14. Robert Sutphin

FAST 4 FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. RYAN MAHER, NEPTUNE CITY, 2. Alonzo Morales, 3. Ian Ashford, 4. Mike Lavery, 5. Billy Pross, 6. Alex Graetz, 7. Nicole Razzano, 8. Bill Schwarz, 9. Cody Critelli, 10. Richard Smith, 11. Deanna McLaren, 12. Sean Vuksanic, 13. James Hall, 14. Kayleigh Sharry,

LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. KEVIN NOWAK, MEDFORD, N.Y., 2. Eugene Drew, 3. Brian Gardella, 4. Peter Bruno, 5. Tanner Jones, 6. Lianne Sharry, 7. Quinn Trimmer, 8. Phil Bogdan, 9. Matt Verlangieri, 10. Mason Magee, 11. Jeff Stevens