Category Archives: ISMA

International Super Modified Association

Jason Simmons Racing, Tyler Thompson Eye Brockville Dirt and Thompson Pavement this Weekend

Dan Kapuscinski Motorsports Promotions – OSWEGO, NY (October 10, 2018) – Coming off of a successful Super DIRT Week, which saw Tyler Thompson earn another top ten finish at Brewerton Speedway while also qualifying for his second consecutive Super DIRT Week Championship at Oswego Speedway, Thompson and JSR are ready to tackle the dirt at Brockville Ontario Speedway and the pavement at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park this weekend.

Riding 16th in the overall DIRTcar Sportsman Series standings following Oswego, Thompson will travel to the final point event of the season at Brockville Ontario Speedway in Canada this Friday for the 1000 Island RV Fall Nationals.

Thompson is just 154-points out of a top ten position heading into the final point event of the year, before non-point specials at the Dirt Track at Charlotte later this month as a part of the OneDirt World Short Track Championships.

Following Brockville, Thompson will hurry to Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park in Connecticut for ISMA Supermodified competition in the SUNOCO World Series of Speedway Racing.

Qualifying on Saturday and racing on Sunday will mark Thompson’s first trip to TSMP and his first ISMA race since leading the Bud Light Super Nationals at Oswego Speedway, before his engine let go.

Visit and to learn more about their events this weekend.

Keep up with Jason Simmons Racing and lead driver Tyler Thompson through their all-new website at

Visit to follow Thompson and Jason Simmons Racing on social media.

Jason Simmons Racing Partners: Ashley Lynn Winery, Cam’s Pizzeria, CH Sealants, CNY Power Equipment, D&S Landscaping, Dan Kapuscinski Motorsports Promotions, JCB, Liftech, Lakeside Property Services, Lindsey Aggregates, Mid-Country Machinery, Morrison Performance, Nice Price Auto Sales, Oswego Auto & Tire, Performance Manufacturing, S&W Firewood, Slack Karts, Top Quality Construction

Sitterly, Barnes, Danzer, Connors, Thompson and More Joining ISMA Contingent at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park This Weekend

OSWEGO, NY (October 9, 2018) – With only one Supermodified event remaining in the northeast this season before the dreaded snow and cold hits, a handful of Oswego Speedway’s weekly competitors will be joining the stout field of ISMA Supermodifieds set to compete at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park’s ‘World Series’ this weekend.

This year’s track champion and Budweiser International Classic 200 victor Otto Sitterly will be taking ‘Black Betty’ to Connecticut with car owner John Nicotra car for his second winged race since winning his fifth Classic with the No. 7 on Labor Day Weekend. Sitterly finished ninth with the car at the Star Classic.

Also back in a winged car for the first time since his outstanding run at Sandusky Speedway’s Hy-Miler Nationals is the ‘The Hustler’ Michael Barnes. Barnes will be piloting Vic Miller’s older No. 11 car, usually driven by Chris Perley. Perley will be piloting the Hawk Chassis that he won the Jim Shampine Memorial with at Oswego this past May.

Dave Danzer is set to enter his third winged race of the post-season. The Oswego regular brought his No. 52 to the Star Classic and finished eleventh. Danzer also competed in the Midwest Supermodified Series event at Lucas Oil Raceway Park two weeks ago and finished eighth.

Longtime Oswego campaigner Dan Connors Jr. is extending his season as well. Connors also ventured out to Indianapolis for the MSS event and brought home a solid eight place finish with his No. 01. It will be the first time since 2014 that Connors has entered an ISMA race.

Last but not least is this year’s Novelis Supermodified rookie of the year sensation Tyler Thompson. Thompson will be driving the John Colloca built, Jason Simmons Racing No. 98T at his first World Series. The 16 year-old flawlessly lead the first 20 laps of the Bud Light ISMA Supernationals on Bud Classic Weekend before an expired engine halted his efforts early on.

Sitterly, Barnes, Danzer, Connors and Thompson will be joining Perley, Dan Bowes, Kyle Edwards, Mike Lichty, Mark Sammut, MIke Ordway Jr, Trent Stephens, Mike McVetta, Michael Muldoon, Ben Seitz, Tim Jedrzejek and the rest of the ISMA regulars vying for an increased $5,000 to win.

In addition to the increase for the winner, the purse throughout the field has also been increased this year. Bonuses of $1,000 for non-franchise cars and $1,500 for franchise cars have been posted to start the 50-lap event around the banked ⅝ mile.

Oswego Speedway will be on hand at this weekend’s event providing updates. You can LIKE the speedway on Facebook at or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway for the latest information.

Oswego Speedway’s 2019 schedule is a work in progress. The speedway’s 69th annual Opening Day has been set for Saturday, May 25th. Open Practice will take place a week earlier on Saturday, May 18. The season opener will include the Supermodifieds, Small Block Supers, and more.

The 2018 Hall of Fame Awards Banquet will be held Saturday, November 3 at the Lake Ontario Event & Conference Center. Tickets for the banquet, which will be available soon, are priced at $45. Contact the speedway box office at (315)-342-0646 or email to purchase.

ISMA Supermodifieds and ROC Modified Tour Take Center Stage at Jukasa Motor Speedway this Saturday

Written by Dan Cabral

HAGERSVILLE, ON – This Saturday’s show at Jukasa Motor Speedway will be an open-wheel fan’s paradise, as the ISMA Supermodifieds and ROC Modified Tour make their first  appearance at Canada’s Crown Jewel since the rebuild.

“This is one event that I’ve personally been looking forward to all season long,” says Jukasa Motor Speedway General Manager Alex Nagy. “It’s going to be fast, it’s going to be loud and it’s absolutely going to be different than anything else you’re going to find across the province this weekend”

When Jukasa Motor Speedway re-opened last August, Nagy made clear that it was their vision to bring as many elite-level racers and series to the speedway as possible on a regular basis. This Saturday is merely the next step in accomplishing that plan.

“We all truly believe that we have one of the best facilities in North America and we want to do all that we can to attract fans and racers from all over,” explains Nagy. “Our fans have been vocal right from the start that they wanted Supermodifieds and Tour-Type Modifieds at Jukasa – so there was never any question wether or not we were going to make this happen”

The ROC Modified Tour is expected to bring some of Western New York and Pennsylvania’s best groundpounders for the inaugural running of the Great Canadian 100, while the ISMA Supermodifieds have attracted entries from across the Northeast and Midwest – including former NASCAR Truck Series champion Johnny Benson.

“If you love your racing without fenders – then we have just about everything you could possibly ask for this Saturday,” grins Nagy. “Johnny Benson is an absolute ace and it’s going to be a huge honour to have him roll through the gates this weekend. I’m positive that both of these divisions are going to be absolutely brimming with talent and will put on an incredible show for our fans.”

For additional information – including gate times and ticket sales – visit