Category Archives: Hickory Motor Speedway

Unlikely PASS South Championship Scenario To Be Decided At Hickory

CHARLOTTE, NC (November 7) – As the 2018 season gets set to conclude for the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Super Late Models this weekend at Hickory Motor Speedway, no one could have predicted how the contenders would fall for the PASS South championship.  It is no surprise that Kannapolis, NC’s Matt Craig leads the standings as he eyes an unprecedented third PASS South title.  But, coming into the season, few, if any, could have predicted Ennismore, Ontario’s, JP Josiasse would be second in the standings coming to the 13thAnnual Mason-Dixon MegaMeltdown 200 at Hickory.

Josiasse’s PASS journey began a few years ago in the PASS Pro Late Model division, a class that also brought Kodie Conner and Tate Fogleman to the PASS Super Late Model ranks.  When that division went away at the conclusion of the 2014 season, Josiasse made the decision to try out Super Late Models.  And, with the help of car builder Gary Crooks and a small group of fellow countrymen, Josiasse has parlayed those 20-hour trips from Canada into a chance at PASS South immortality.

“For us, we just enjoy racing with PASS and coming down South when we can,” says Josiasse, driver of the Stoneridge Insurance/The Olde Smokehouse Chevrolet #24.  “We never imagined that we would have a chance at the championship this year, but the races fell our way for us to compete in all of them and our performance improved, so I guess, here we are.”

As the owner and promotor of Ontario’s Peterbourough Speedway, Josiasse is limited to when he can actually race himself.  But, with consistent performances, including a career-best seventh place finish at South Boston in August, Josiasse finds himself 28 points behind Craig heading to Hickory this weekend.  And he is not alone, as both Kodie Conner and Roy Hayes still have a mathematical shot at the championship.  After being involved in an early accident in last year’s MegaMeltdown, Craig knows that everything will have to go to plan as he seeks to secure his third title.  

Saturday afternoon’s 200 lapper will also serve as the final event of the PASS National Championship Series to crown the country’s only true nationwide champion.  Derek Griffith, Ray Christian, III, Ben Rowe, and Conner will be locked in a tight battle in front of the MAVTV cameras as they duke it out for the national championship. Additionally, the MASS Street Stocks will race for $1,000 to win and will be joined by the Legends cars to complete this exciting afternoon of grassroots racing.

Joining the championship contenders will be defending MegaMeltdown winner, Brandon Setzer, 2015 PASS South champion, Tate Fogleman, and this year’s Oxford Plains Speedway track champion, Gabe Brown.  A strong group of New Englanders have already entered including, Cory Casagrande, Derek Ramstrom, John-Michael Shenette, TJ Brackett, and Wyatt Alexander.  And the south will be represented equally as well by Gracie Trotter, Lucas Jones, and Jody Measamer.

Entry forms and the complete weekend schedule for the 13thAnnual Mason-Dixon MegaMeltdown 200 are available at

The weekend will start on Friday at Hickory Motor Speedway with rotating practice for all divisions from 2-5 PM.  On Saturday, pit gates will open at 7:30 AM, with practice beginning at 9:30 AM, followed by qualifying at 11:45 AM, the on track pit party at 12:50 PM, and racing for the PASS Super Late Models, MASS Street Stocks, and Legends beginning at 1:30 PM.  

The Pro All Stars Series is recognized as North America’s premier sanctioning body for asphalt Super Late Models and boasts such marquee events as the Easter Bunny 150 at Hickory Motor Speedway, the legendary Oxford 250 at Oxford Plains Speedway, and the inaugural PASS Commonwealth Classic at Richmond Raceway. For media or marketing questions, please contact Alan Dietz at 704-231-2039 or  Please visit for more information and don’t forget to “Like” the Pro All Stars Series on Facebook or follow us on Twitter at @PASSSLM14 to keep up with breaking news as it happens.


                HICKORY, N.C. – Burt Myers, of Walnut Cove, picked up his fifth Southern Modified Racing Series (SMRS) win of the season Saturday in the Fall Spectacular 75 at Hickory Motor Speedway.  It was his series-high seventh career victory on the tour.
                Point leader Jeremy Gerstner, of Westley Chapel, Fla., wheeled into the lead at the drop of the green and set the pace for the first 42 laps.  On lap 43, Winston-Salem’s Brandon Ward dove inside of Gerstner into turn three and took the lead off turn four. 
                As the lead duo and Danny Bohn of Freehold, N.J. battled for the top spot, Myers closed in and started to move forward in the top three spots.  On lap 59, Myers surged inside Ward off turn two and took the lead into the third and fourth corner.  Bohn followed Myers into second spot and kept a close watch on the reigning series champ but was never able to mount a challenge.
                Myers rolled to the victory over Bohn.  Ward held on for a third-place finish.  Andy Seuss of Hampstead, N.H. was fourth with Jason Myers of Walnut Cove fifth.
                The SMRS wraps up the 2017 season on Saturday, October 21 at Orange County Speedway in Rougement, N.C.
Southern Modified Racing Series Fall Spectacular 75:
1.       Burt Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C.
2.       Danny Bohn, Freehold, N.J.
3.       Brandon Ward, Winston-Salem, N.C.
4.       Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H.
5.       Jason Myers, Walnut Cover, N.C.
6.       Jeremy Gerstner, Wesley Chapel, Fla.
7.       John Smith, Mt. Airy, N.C.
8.       Tim Brown, Tobaccoville, N.C.
9.       Gary Putnam, Concord, N.C.
10.   Kodie Conner, Kannapolis, N.C.
11.   Tom Buzze, Maiden, N.C.
12.   Daniel Yates, Lexington, N.C.
13.   Mike Norman, Lewisville, N.C.
14.   Crab Smith, Mt. Airy, N.C.
15.   James Civalli, Meriden, Ct.
16.   Brian Lofton, Lexington, N.C.
17.   Bobby Measmer Jr., Concord, N.C.