Sneak Preview of the 2016 Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park Season at Frank Maratta Auto Show & Race-A-Rama

(THOMPSON, CT) – 2016 is shaping up to be another one for the history books as Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (TSMP) has a jam-packed schedule of over 20 races between the 5/8-mile oval and 1.7-mile road course. Fans and racers alike will get a sneak peek at what’s in store when they visit TSMP’s booth at this weekend’s Frank Maratta’s Auto Show & Race-A-Rama, scheduled for February 26-28 at the Big E in West Springfield.

TSMP will have race cars from several different divisions at its booth this year. The Stan Mertz – owned Just Get Dirty Apparel Company / Morningside Lawn & Landscape No. 6 Sunoco Modified, piloted by last year’s champion, Woody Pitkat, will be on display. They will be looking to repeat their successful season this year in TSMP’s highly competitive Division I.

Also on display will be Frank L’Etoile Jr.’s #88 car that he will be competing in TSMP’s Limited Sportsman division, as well as the new North East Street Stock Tour (NESST). The NE Street Stock Tour will begin their season at TSMP with the 42nd Annual Icebreaker on April 8-10, and end it at the Sunoco World Series of Speedway Racing on October 14-16.

From the road course, will be an INEX Legend car belonging to Glenn Korner. The Legend cars will be racing for points and purse money in their own championship series on the road course this season, consisting of 11 races total. Their races will be held in conjunction with the new Thompson Summer Road Race Series, which will also include small bore and big bore classes.

The Racing School will be bringing one of their fully-prepped Spec Miata race cars. These cars are identical to those that race in SCCA’s popular Spec Miata division, which will be competing on the road course at TSMP in July and October. The Racing School offers half-day driving schools and lapping sessions with these cars on the 1.7-mile road course. Information about these cars, how to get behind the wheel of one, and more will be available in TSMP’s booth.

Be sure to stop by our booth this weekend for a chance to win a pair of tickets to an upcoming event or a TSMP sticker, and to find out more information about our upcoming 2016 season.  You can also visit us on the web at or give us a call at (860) 923-2280.

Test and Tune days set for Mahoning Valley Speedway

(LEHIGHTON, Pa. 2-25-16) Mahoning Valley Speedway will have the first of three Test and Tune days on Saturday March 26 which will be followed by Saturday and Sunday, April 2-3 as the other dates.

Test and Tune days have always been well-attended as many of the Mahoning loyal are not only anxious to return to the paved ¼-mile Lehighton oval but it has also serves as the sneak peek by those teams who participate in giving fans a look at the sleek new rides for the upcoming season.

This time, however, there is added interest, perhaps more so than any other preseason Test and Tune as not only will the track regulars be shaking down their mounts but many of the Race of Champions (RoC) asphalt Modified Series teams are expected to make laps in anticipation of the much awaited season opening 75-lapper on April 9.

Since it was announced that the RoC Tour would open at Mahoning Valley and then the addition of a second date with the track’s season ending Octoberfast, the office has been a buzz over the past few weeks with call after call inquiring about the RoC opener and Test and Tune.

“This is pretty awesome. With the cooperation of the Santee’s it’s just been outstanding to be able to bring the RoC Tour back to Mahoning Valley Speedway,” said Joe Skotnicki, RoC Series head.

“We have been fielding calls every day of late in regards to the Mahoning opener and there is no doubt this will be a big way to kick off both our season and Mahoning Valley’s. I know there are a lot of guys who will be looking at making the Test and Tune days, especially since Mahoning is such a unique track and it will be a challenge for those who have yet to race there.”

Each of the Test and Tune days will run from noon to 4:00 pm. If need be time will be extended. The cost to take part for any of the three days is $25 per car and $10 per person for pit entrance. Grandstand admission for all Test and Tune days are free.

Race cars of all types are welcome to come out for Test and Tune days.

Opening Day 2016 will get the green flag on Saturday, April 9. Start time is 4:00 pm for this event. The RoC feature will be 75-laps and pay $2800 to win. Also on the card will be regular main events for the Late Models, Street Stocks and Hobby Stocks.

“It’s exciting. Mahoning is a terrific track that provides great racing,” added Skotnicki. 

“I think it’s a great step for asphalt Modified racing and we’re building on the legacy of the RoC. Floyd and all of the Santee’s have done a terrific job promoting there and it’s great that we could bring things together to put an event on that has all of the elements to become a must see.”

Additional news can be found on the track’s official website at or on Facebook at Mahoning Valley Speedway. You can also log onto the RoC website at

Test and Tune March 26 and April 2-3

April 9 @ 4:00 pm Opening Night RoC Tour 75 $2800-to-win + Late Models, Street Stocks & Hobby Stocks

April 16 @ 6:00 pm Regular show all divisions Race #1 ARSSGS + Micro Stocks


Tommy Baldwin Racing Atlanta Pre-Race Notes

Regan Smith
No. 7 Nikko RC/ Toy State Chevrolet
Atlanta Motor Speedway
Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 | February 28, 2016
Welcome back, Nikko RC and Toy State: Debuting on the No. 7 Tommy Baldwin Racing Chevrolet in 2015, Toy State and their brands Nikko RC and Road Rippers recommitted to their NASCAR sponsorship in early December. Nikko RC and Toy State bring back their familiar bright blue paint scheme this weekend. It’s the first of multiple paint schemes that will be featured this year, all of which will resemble the likeness of toys found on store shelves.
For more information on Nikko RC and their NASCAR sponsorship, visit the Nikko RC Racing Facebook page. To learn more about Toy State toys and where you can purchase them, visit Toy State’s website.
Race with Regan: On Saturday, Smith will be visiting the Fanatics Trackside Superstore (10:00 a.m.) with sponsors Nikko RC and Toy State to demonstrate the use of their Nikko RC cars.
Making a Difference: Saturday afternoon, Smith will visit with patients at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta and deliver toys on behalf of Toy State.
Smith: “I’m looking forward to getting on track with the No. 7 Nikko RC/ Toy State Chevrolet this weekend at Atlanta. This will be my first time driving the new low downforce package and with the character the track already has, this is going to make for an interesting race on Sunday. I’m excited for the new challenge.”
Tune In: Want to watch Regan Smith and the No. 7 Nikko RC/Toy State Chevrolet in the Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway? Race coverage begins at 1:00 p.m. ET on FOX. Coverage can also be heard on MRN affiliates and Sirius XM NASCAR Radio channel 90. The green flag is scheduled for 1:31 p.m. ET.
Follow Us: TBR is active on Social Media and we want you to be a part of our journey. Follow us on Twitter,Facebook and Instagram for the latest news.
TBR Racing logo

From weekly short track racing to NASCAR Cup racing