Tag Archives: Chemung Speedrome

Chemung Speedrome Loses 2022 Opener

(Chemung, NY) Race teams, fans, and track employees were ready to roll on Saturday, May 7th for the 2022 season opener at Chemung Speedrome. Uninvited guest, Mother Nature, spoiled the party, saturated the grounds, and promised more of the same on Saturday. Track officials had no choice but to cancel the event on Friday afternoon.

“We’re talking with Joe Skotnicki from the ROC to come up with a date that will work and not conflict with the race teams, many of whom race at other tracks or another series,” Promoter Ray Hodge stated. “We hate to lose an event, but we want our teams to be able to compete and put on a great show for our fans here at the ‘Drome.” That new date will be released once it has been determined.

The opener will now take place on Friday, May 13th on Northeast ATV Night. The track’s five regular divisions will now all kick off their season on the same night. The program this Friday now includes the Sunoco Modifieds (35 laps), Insinger Performance Super Stocks (25 laps), Marion Decker Hobby Stocks (20 laps), Four Cylinders (20 laps) and Bandoleros (10 laps).
“Based on two weeks of open practice and private testing, all five championships will be hotly contested this year,” Hodge added. Many veteran drivers are returning to mix it up with some rookies. Tony Hanbury (Modifieds), Garrett Zacharias (Super Stocks), Josh Parker (Hobby Stocks) and Greg Moldt (Four Cylinders) and Chase Sinsabaugh (Bandoleros) will return in defense of their 2021 titles, leaving one of the two titles open for a new face this year. Derrick Vogler has moved up to a Super Stock and plans to run closer to home.

Pit gates open this Friday at 4:30 and grandstand opens up at 5:00. Practice gets underway at 6 PM, with the first competitive heat race taking the green at 7 PM.

Anyone wanting more information can find it on the track’s Facebook page (Chemung Speedrome – Racing at the Drome) or website (www.chemung-speedrome.com). Or you can call the track at 607-483-3468.



–  Race of Champions Modified Series Opener moved to Spencer Speedway, Friday, June 3 – 

Chemung, N.Y (May 6, 2022) – The Race of Champions Modified Series and Chemung (N.Y.) Speedrome management have agreed to postpone the Saturday, May 7 date for the Race of Champions Modified Series due to inclement weather, which includes substantial rainfall that created over-saturated grounds and an impending forecast preventing the facility from drying and being able to accommodate the event in a timely manner.

Currently, reschedule dates are being reviewed in hope of finding an open date for asphalt Modified racing without conflict with other Series or tracks.

“It is our goal to give everyone an opportunity to compete,” stated Joe Skotnicki, Race of Champions. “We are reviewing schedules now and searching for a date that works without conflict. Ray Hodge and I have had several positive conversations in regard to this and he doesn’t want to lose the event for his fans and the race teams at Chemung. There is also the economy that we as an organization have to consider, with the escalating cost in fuel and travel, we will be looking at things from an economic impact to our traveling community as we make these decisions. These are not always easy decisions to make and we will gravitate toward making what we feel is the best decision for everyone.”

Skotnicki continued; “Originally, we had looked at Sunday, purely based on a favorable forecast and we offered that to the teams through one of our direct e-mails to participants. It was my mistake not recognizing in discussion that it was Mother’s Day. We have made a choice to observe the Mother’s Day Holiday and not race so people may spend time with their families and their loved ones.”

The Race of Champions Modified Series opener will now take place at Spencer Speedway in Williamson, N.Y., on Friday, June 3 with a 40-lap, $4,000-to-win event.

For more information, contact Race of Champions Media at media@rocmodifiedseries.com

Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website: www.rocmodifiedseries.com


Defending Series Champion Austin Beers continues to seek first Series Modified victory

Chemung, N.Y (May 2, 2022) – When the Race of Champions Modified Series arrives at Chemung (N.Y.) Speedrome on Saturday, May 7, there will be many things that are certain for the Series, #WhereEveryLapCounts. Austin Beers of Northampton, Pa., will be seeking his first victory against a competitive field that will include his neighbor and Modified driving superstar, Matt Hirschman.

“We are ready to get going,” stated Austin Beers, who is the defending Race of Champions Modified Series Champion. “The Series is as competitive as it gets. I’ve had the opportunity to go to different Series now and the Race of Champions Series is very challenging. It’s hard to win and maintain running well. We’re looking forward to the challenge and kicking things off at Chemung on Saturday afternoon.”

Hirschman and Beers finished one-two in the Series most recent visit to Chemung in August of 2021.

“Chemung is a technical track and you have to make sure you are not slipping and sliding around,” continued Beers. “The setup has to be good and you have to be able to drive the car. Keeps things underneath you or you can get into trouble. We are going in with the same formula this weekend and hope we are around at the end to have a chance at getting the win.”

Racing begins at 2:15pm on Saturday afternoon at Chemung, with the gates opening at 12:00pm (Noon).

What:                                     ‘Sam’s Bar & Grill 75” (Race of Champions Modified Series

When:                                    Saturday, May 7, 2022

Where:                                  Chemung Speedrome

Tickets:                                  $24 – General Admission; $22 Seniors (65 years and older) and Military; $5 Children (ages 6 to 12); Children 5 and under FREE

Directions:                            The track is located at 605 Wyncoop Creek Road, Chemung, NY 14825, Exit 59 off of Interstate 86 (12 miles East of Elmira, N.Y., 45 miles West of Binghamton, N.Y., and 45 miles South East of Watkins Glen, N.Y.)

More Information:             www.chemung-speedome.com (Track Phone: 607.529.9998) / www.rocmodifiedseries.com