Tag Archives: Claremont Motorsports Park

Walt Hammond & SK Bean to chase Claremont NHSTRA Modified Championship!

Claremont NH – Walt Hammond from Enfield NH will find a new home on Friday nights in 2020, Walt along with Stuart bean will bring the #77 Modified to Claremont Motorsports Park for the 2020 season. Hammond has been racing a DIRT Modified over the last few seasons but is not a stranger to the pavement formally competing in an ACT style Late Model in the past. “I grew up at Claremont watching my Dad, Donnie Lashua, Dwight Jarvis & Punky Caron race at Claremont. It’s kind of cool to get a chance to race at the same track as they all did”   

Car owner SK Bean feels the timing is right, “After fielding Dirt Modifieds and Late Models for the past 48years we feel the time is right, the 604 motor package they have come up with fits our budget to race this type of car, I believe with Mike Parks and his newly assembled staff is leading Claremont speedway into a new era and were excited to be a part of it!! The SK Bean 77 team is also thinking of some events at the sister tracks of the NHSTRA as well during 2020. You can catch the 77 at Claremont Speedway for the Modified opener on Friday night May 1st.

Mike Willis Jr returning home to Claremont Motorsports Park in 2020

 Claremont NH – Mike Willis Jr is planning on returning home for the 2020 race season. Willis will compete for the NHSTRA Modified track championship at Claremont Motorsports. Willis is no stranger to the Modified division at the speedway winning both the 2010 and 2011 track championship and has visited victory lane with both the Modified Racing Series and the Tri Track Modifieds at the Thrasher Rd Speed plant. Over the last five years Willis has competed mainly on the Modified Racing series where he was the 2019 series champion.

        When asked why the change Willis stated it was time to race at home and support his local race track and help build the NHSTRA Modified division. Willis stated he believes in the 604 program and he really likes the way things are moving at the speedway. ‘With Mike Parks and his staff taking the reins that was the deciding factor, with what they have been able to do with the Granite State Pro Stock Series hopefully they can bring that type of professionalism to Claremont on a regular basis’.  The class will be stout we have no illusions as Brian Robie, Dana Smith & Kyle Welch will offer strong competition stated Willis.   

      Willis will compete on a regular basis at Claremont as well as selected event with the NHSTRA at Monadnock, Hudson and Lee, as well as selected Tour Type Modified events beginning at New Smyrna Speedway in Fla. for the World Series of Asphalt Racing in February.

   You can catch all the action at Claremont Motorsports Park beginning on Saturday April 25th at 5pm, you can also follow us in Facebook and www.claremontmotorsportspark.com 

MDP Motorsports Promotions LLC enters into a lease agreement with Claremont Motorsports Park

During the recently revived Fall Challenge at Claremont Motorsports Park, it was announced that Mike Parks and MDP Motorsports promotions had entered into an agreement to lease the Thrasher Road speed plant. Starting in April of 2020, Parks and his team will have complete control of all motor sports operations at the track.

  The historic NH facility was purchased during the winter of 2018 and 2019 by Ben Bosowski and Norman Wrenn. The duo ran the track for the 2019 race season with the help of general manager Phil Hayes but have made the decision to go another direction in 2020.

  Granite State Pro Stock Series founder and promoter Parks along with Wrenn and Bosowski have reached an agreement that will allow the two southern NH race track owners to concentrate on their other tracks and allow Parks to live out a life long dream.

  “I have to thank Norm and Ben for giving us this opportunity” stated Parks. “We have held several one off events over the last couple of years and this is the next step in the progression.” “This is my home track”, continued the Walpole NH resident. “To have the opportunity to actually run the place is a dream come true!”

  For 2020 there will be a combination of old and new on several fronts. The track will continue to be a Friday night track, racing under the NHSTRA and NASCAR banners featuring the ultra competitive sportsman modified division racing biweekly. Alternating with the modifieds will be the mini stocks as they return as a points paying division for 2020. Also returning will be the late model sportsmen, six shooters, pure stocks and what has become the most popular division in the region, the street stocks.

  When asked about operational changes Parks said, “we will be backing up the start time to 7:30pm with a goal of having people out by 10:30. We want to run an efficient fast paced program that fans look forward to watching week in and week out.”

  When asked about personnel Parks said, “We have started to assemble a staff that will have some old and some new faces. There are still some holes to be filled but the key positions are filled and we are excited about the team we are assembling.”

  For 2020 the speedway will host several of the regions finest racing series. The Granite State Pro Stock Series will open the the facility on Saturday April 25 with the track kicking off its Friday night schedule on May first. “The GSPSS opening both the tracks season and the series season has become a tradition”, stated Parks. “We look forward to kicking off both seasons with a bang”

  When asked about other visiting tours Parks said, “we are in talks with numerous other groups about the possibilities for next season. We will also be participating in the NHSTRA battle for the belt series for all divisions involved”.

  Also in discussion for 2020 are the memorial races that have become a staple of the Claremont Motorsports Park schedule. These races memorialize people from the tracks past and provide for unique events for the competitors.

  When asked about the 2020 schedule Parks responded, “we are really close to having it ready for release. We have a few I’s to dot and T’s to cross but it is close and will be released in the not to distant future.”

  The property not only contains the popular third mile oval but also a go kart track, mud bog pit and sand drag track. All of these venues will be under the control of Parks and his team and announcements will be made about there operation in the weeks and months to come.

  For more information about all the happenings at the track follow Claremont Motorsports Park at www.claremontmotorsportspark.com or find them on facebook.