Tag Archives: Nascar

Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park Honors Champions at Mohegan Sun

Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park celebrated the 2015 oval track season this weekend at Mohegan Sun at its annual award ceremony honoring four division champions in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series. Woody Pitkat celebrated his 2nd Sunoco Modified title, while Scott Sundeen was honored as a 4-time Xtra Mart Limited Sportsman champion. Late Model driver Brian Tagg and Mini Stock competitor Dave Trudeau each took home their first career championship.

For Pitkat, it was his first season driving for car owner Stan Mertz in the Sunoco Modified division and the combination found immediate success. The duo placed in the top-10 in every race this season including five 2nd place finishes. Pitkat won the Modified title in 2006 in his first full-time season in the division to compliment his 2002 Late Model crown. It is the first championship for Mertz as a car owner at Thompson Speedway.

Late Model driver Brian Tagg saw his childhood dreams come true when he accepted the championship trophy before a large group of supporters. Tagg grew up attending races at Thompson Speedway with his dad, a former Sunoco Modified champion, who won the championship in the Speedway’s 50th anniversary season. This year’s Late Model triumph came in as the 75th season was celebrated. 2015 was Tagg’s rookie season in the division.

Scott Sundeen defended his 2014 championship from one year ago to earn his 4th title in his 14th season competing in the Xtra Mart Limited Sportsman division. Each of his championships were won while driving the same race car, which was proudly on display Saturday night at Mohegan Sun. With the banquet complete, that chassis will be retired as a champion after winning two races in 2015.

Sundeen will be back next season to attempt his 3rd straight championship.

Dave Trudeau has been a long time competitor at Thompson Speedway, but 2015 was his first taste of the champion’s champagne after earning the Mini Stock title. Trudeau was a factor all season by finishing 2nd in 3 of the first 4 races. His two victories came in the month of August only to pad his point lead heading into the Sunoco World Series where he captured the crown.

Special awards were presented to the Rookie of the Year including Sunoco Modified driver, Ryan Morgan who finished 5th in the final standings on the strength of 4 top-5 finishes in 2015.  William Wall led laps and registered two podium finishes to earn Late Model Rookie of the Year honors. Xtra Mart Limited sportsman driver Josh Wood was the Rookie of the Year in his division with 4 Top-5 finishes and 5 Top-10s. Robert ‘Bob’ Ducharme earned the honor in the Mini Stock Division by earning 2 Top-10 finishes. Each rookie driver was measured by his performance both on and off the racetrack.

In 2015, Thompson Speedway introduced the new Triple Crown Series in the Mini Stock and Xtra Mart Limited Sportsman Division. The Series became a race within a race as points counted for both the track championship and the Triple Crown. In the Mini Stocks, the Triple Crown races were held on June 10th, July 29th, and August 26th and Eric Bourgeois was honored as the first Triple Crown winner. Xtra Mart Limited sportsman driver Corey Hutchings won two of the three Triple Crown races that were held on June 10th, July 8th, and August 12th to earn the award in his division.

The John Hoenig Memorial Award, which recognizes one individual for their hard work and dedication to the Speedway, was presented to Olivia Bouchard.

Bouchard was born into racing and grew up around racetracks along the east coast. She has spent countless hours working tirelessly at Thompson Speedway in many different capacities. She has been responsible for speedway marketing, NASCAR licensing, the redesign of speedway awards, coordination of autograph sessions and many behind the scenes tasks. She has shown unmatched devotion to Thompson Speedway and its competitors. Bouchard was presented with the prestigious award that is given in her great-grandfathers name as part of Thompson Speedway’s Awards Celebration.

As a final conclusion to the Awards Banquet, Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park management announced that 2016’s schedule would expand to include ten NASCAR Whelen All-American Series races. The complete schedule will be released at 7PM E.T. on December 8th, through a live broadcast with Victory Lane Radio. Tune in at www.victorylaneradio.com.


VERNON, NY- Prior to the 2015 season, Utica-Rome Speedway management combined the Pro Stock and Pure Stock classes to create the Pro Street division.  With car counts dipping in both during the previous seasons, the idea was come up a set of rules to allow both types of cars to compete in one stronger division.  For the most part, it was a success as the car counts improved as the season wore on and the competition remained as exciting as ever.
As we prepare for the 2016 season, track owners Bill Shea and Kim Shea hope to expand on that success with some changes that will the popular 602 crate powered cars to be competitive with the traditional open motor cars.  Many of these ideas were discussed at an early November rules meeting with drivers and again at the National Parts Peddler Trade Show.
For 2016, the Pro Stock division at the Utica-Rome Speedway will follow the DIRTcar rulebook except for a few exceptions.  All cars must have a post-race weight of 3,000 lbs. except for rear coil spring cars, which must weigh 3,150 lbs.  All cars must utilize the MSD 8727ct rev box with crate powered cars set at 6,000 rpm.  Open motor powered cars will be set at 6,700 rpm.  All cars in the Pro Stock division will be on the same tire, which will be the Hoosier D60 with the 11/87-15 or 11/90-15 sizes allowed.  A variation of this rule package was used at Fonda Speedway this past season with much success.
Any questions concerning these rules, please contact tech inspector Bernie Lukas at (315) 271-3068.
The complete rule book will soon be available at www.uticaromespeedway.com as well as any off season news as we prepare for the 2016 season opener on Sunday April 17.  To contact the speedway office, please call (315)829-4557.


NASCAR Touring & Weekly Series Champions Media Karting Challenge


2015 NASCAR Home Tracks Champions Media Karting Challenge

·         Media is encouraged to participate in the karting event against the champions

·         One-on-one interview opportunities with the champions available



Thursday, Dec. 10, 2015

·         10:30 – 11 a.m.: Champion and media member practice/qualifying

·         11:15 – 11:30 a.m.: Champion and media member race

·         11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.: Lunch and media time

·         12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.: Champion race



2015 NASCAR Touring Series Champions and the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Div. I National Champion will race against each other, fans and media members for bragging rights.

Drivers attending include:

·         William Byron (NASCAR K&N Pro Series East)

·         Chris Eggleston (NASCAR K&N Pro Series West)

·         Scott Steckly (NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1)

·         Ander Vilarino (NASCAR Whelen Euro Series)

·         Rubén García (NASCAR Mexico Series)

·         Doug Coby (NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour)

·         Andy Seuss (NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour)

·         Lee Pulliam (NASCAR Whelen All-American Series)


Doug Coby,  by Robert Laberge/NASCAR via Getty Images)
Doug Coby,
by Robert Laberge/NASCAR via Getty Images)









CHARLOTTE, NC -  Andy Seuss, driver of the #11  Crabill/NASCAR via Getty Images)
CHARLOTTE, NC – Andy Seuss, driver of the #11 Crabill/NASCAR via Getty Images)










GoPro Motorplex

130 Motorplex Dr,

Mooresville, N.C. 28115