Category Archives: GSPSS

Eddie MacDonald Set To Defend New England Short Track Showdown Crown

Defending New England Short Track Showdown champion Eddie MacDonald has been preparing for the 50 lap event coming up on Sunday, June 24th. “We’ve prepared the car to have our crate motor in it, and it should be interesting to see how the field plays out” MacDonald said. “I believe this rules package will put on a great show for the fans.” A multi-time winner at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, this will be MacDonalds only appearance at the Magic Mile in 2018. “This race with the Granite State Pro Stock Series presented by Springfield Buick GMC will be the only chance we’ll have to run at New Hampshire Motor Speedway this year so, we are really looking forward to it.”

Second in points and a championship contender, Jacob Dore has been busy repairing a rear trailing arm bracket failure from the previous event at Waterford Speedbowl. “When the bracket broke, it rotated on the rear end housing and caused a serious tire rub” Dore said. Dore set the pace taking the pole in time trials that day and will be ready to back up his speed come June 24th at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. “I’ve been there twice with the Nascar Whelen Modified Tour with a best finish of 12th but,  the experience of full body aerodynamics will be different and I’m quite interested to find out what it’s like.”

Cory Casagrande of Stafford Springs, CT currently third in points is “Excited to go back for sure.” “We didn’t quite have the result we wanted last year but, we felt we had a top five or six car and the notes we acquired will help significantly” Casagrande said. “With everyone having similar motors, the racing is going to be great.” “It really leaves it into the hands of the drivers and teams with their skill and knowledge of the track.”

Defending series champion Mike O’Sullivan is looking to over come early season challenges by returning to the Magic Mile strong with his new Hamke chassis. “We’ve been there so many times throughout the years, it’s a special place for our family” O’Sullivan said.

The New England Short Track Showdown will be Sunday, June 24th at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. For more information visit our website and follow our social media channels via Facebook, Twitter, and Youtube.

John Miller photo’s

Series Largest Purse On New Englands Biggest Stage Brings Top Names



Series Largest Purse On New Englands Biggest Stage Brings Top Names

With the New England Short Track Showdown just weeks away. Schedules are being set, driver rosters are filling up, and staff behind the scenes are preparing for one of the biggest events of the year on the largest stage at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

“This is our largest purse to date with $5,000 going to the winner of the 50 lap feature.” series president Mike Parks said. “Our driver roster is booming with talent and garage space is becoming limited.” Officials will be having a five minute break at the halfway point on pit road for a two tire change if desired and minor adjustments to the cars. “If we can do that in three minutes or less we will send the guys back out as soon as possible” Parks said. The winner of this event also earns a provisional starting spot in the US Pro-Stock Nationals at Seekonk Speedway later this summer on July 18th.

Two drivers looking for redemption this year are multi-time PASS North and National Champion Ben Rowe and Kulwicki Driver Development Program semi-finalist Derek Griffith. Last year Rowe ended up with his nose cone in the window net of Griffith’s car during an early incident in turn one. Both drivers are set to return with a strong long track package from Richard Moody Racing for Rowe and Louie Mechalides Motorsports North supporting Griffith.

Hotshoe Reid Lanpher of Manchester, ME will be making his first appearance on the full one mile circuit of New Hampshire Motor Speedway June 24th. With previous success on the PASS North tour and recent stints in the K&N East/West series, Lanpher and crew chief Jason Ricker look to unload strong against the field and fellow PASS North competitor and podium finisher DJ Shaw of North Conway, NH.

An experience of a lifetime is in store for young rookies Jimmy Renfrew Jr of Candia, NH and Ray Christian III of Uscasville, CT. The youth movement is strong in the Granite State Pro Stock Series as Devin O’Connell of Madison, CT looks to carry his segment win momentum from The New London Waterford Speedbowl to the New England Short Track Showdown.

John Miller Photo

Triple 35 Format And Time Trials Coming to Waterford

WALPOLE N.H. – The Granite State Pro Stock Series presented by Springfield Buick GMC will be rolling into Connecticut’s New London-Waterford Speedbowl Saturday, May 26th with a unique Triple 35 Format with Time Trials.

 Two Maine drivers lead the way, Jacob Dore of  Sanford and Joey Doiron of Berwick look to continue their success far from home. “I like Waterford, we’ll see if we can go for two in a row, I’ve never done that before.” Dore said. “We never really got to show our strength in Claremont but, Waterford will be a track where we will be really good at.” Doiron said.

 The event will start with single car time trials. If over 24 cars attempt to qualify, 18 will be locked in, and we will have a consolation race. That will be TBD as current pre-entered projects have the car count at 24 from throughout New England.

 Once the field is set, we will go heads up for the first 35 lap segment. The second segment will invert all lead lap cars and be scored as its own event. The third segment will invert all lead lap cars from the previous, and will be scored as its own event as well. The car with the lowest points will win overall. Finishing position in each segment added together is your points total. In case of a tie, the finishing position in the final segment will be the tie breaker.

 As the season enters its second event, names like Barry Gray, Scott MacMichael, Nick Lascoula, and defending champ Mike O’Sullivan will be grinding for championship points. We will have some welcome competitors from other tracks and series joining us as well. Brad Babb from Windham, M.E. will be driving the BRF #42 along with George Bessette of Danbury, C.T and Kevin Folan of Arrleboro, M.A.

 Pit gates open at 11:00am, grandstands open at 1:30pm, and time trials will begin at 5:00pm.

 For more information on the Granite State Pro Stock Series, including the latest updates, fans are encouraged to visit our Facebook page or follow the series on Twitter, @GSProStocks.

You can also visit us on the web at

John Miller Photo