LANCASTER, N.Y. (November 15, 2015) – Lancaster National Speedway put the wraps on a successful 2015 season for the Seneca Resorts & Casinos Stock Car program on Saturday night with the annual season awards banquet held at the Backstage Pub in Cheektowaga, N.Y.
LNS1115- (2)Drivers from Lancaster’s three weekly home track divisions shared in the $10,000 point fund. Money collected from the sale of each Hoosier Racing tire sold at the speedway during the 2015 season went towards the points fund as did a contribution from track management. The Friends of Auto Racing (FOAR Score) Fan Club paid out an additional $5,900 to the drivers that was raised through the 50/50 ticket sales administered by FOAR Score every Saturday night at Lancaster.
The stars of the evening were the 2015 Lancaster National Speedway track champions. Mark Pennell of Lancaster secured first career track championship in the Sportsman Modifieds. Pennell bounced back from finishes of 11th and 13th in the first two LNS1115- (1)races of the season to take home the title for the Thompson Racing team. It was the first championship for the Thompson team since 1996.
Richard Sharpe of Lancaster picked up the 2015 Street Stock title. Sharpe had a dominant season with wins in six out of the seven races. He failed to finish outside of the top three in 2015. It’s the first championship for the 2014 U.S. Open Street Stock winner.
LNS1115- (5)Depew, N.Y.’s Rich Bartel was crowned 4-Cylinder champion for the second-straight year. Bartel’s title defense came down to the final night of the season as he caught and passed Chris Bugenhagen with four laps to go to secure the championship. His title run was sparked by a run of four-straight top two finishes to end the season, including two wins.
A pair of specialty awards were also presented. Long time Lancaster fans, “Camper Jim” and Linda Gottman, received the Alex Friesen Spirit of Racing Award. The Gottmans are a fixture of the camping area in the speedway parking lot, where they faithfully park their RV for each and every Modified race. They are also supporters of lap sponsorship programs where the contribute in the memory of their departed friend, Alex Friesen.
LNS1115- (3)
Lancaster National Speedway General Manager, Melissa McGowan, was presented with the Tommy Druar Contribution to Racing Award for her efforts in leading the turn around of the facility this season. McGowan started her position on December 1, 2014, and within a few months had assembled a management staff, planned a season schedule and put together the initial details of the speedway’s capital improvement plan. All of this was done with a devotion for a place that she had seen for the first time in her life just a few months prior.  McGowan will be scaling back her role with Lancaster in 2016 to spend more time with her family in North Carolina.
LNS1115- (4)Newly named Track President, Tim Packman, addressed the audience and committed to continuing the progress made this past season. Packman has signed a three-year contract with the track’s ownership group as he takes on his new role. He and McGowan have already begun preparations for the 2016 season by securing sponsors for the upcoming year.
The 2016 season at Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway will begin the weekend of April 16-17. The stock car opener will be Sunday, April 17 featuring a 75-lap event for the Race of Champions Modified Series.
Founded in 1959, Lancaster National Speedway is a multi-use facility located on 77 acres just outside of metropolitan Buffalo, N.Y. The facility features a 1/8-mile drag strip, a 1/2-mile oval track and hosts several non-motorsports events such as car shows and concerts. For the latest information on Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway check out our website Additional information for racers and fans can be found on our Facebook page ( and on Twitter (@LancasterSpdwy).

Riverhead Rewind is Back This Wed. Night.

IMG_9117It’s back!!!!! This coming Wednesday night we start installment #1 of Riverhead Rewind. This is where we watch the racing activity from the 2015 season and TJ Halpins will buy dinner for two for the winners. Opening Night was a dandy in 2015. In Legend competition Big $$$ Richie Davidowitz would take down the win. The Blunderbust put on another great show with talented Hot Shoe Jack Handley Jr. In for the win. The Super Pro Trucks had the defending Champion Lou Maestri coming IMG_9243home as the winner. In Charger action perhaps a little foreshadowing for the season as John Baker was in Victory Lane, the same way he ended 2014. In the Late Models Jeremy McDermott would have a great start to the year and find the Winners Circle on Opening Night. In Figure 8 action it was a messy one but 1st time winner Gary Fritz Jr. Was able to stay out of trouble for his 1st career win. In the Modifieds which will be a normal sight in 2015 winning both features was Tom Rogers Jr. Come down keep your racing fix going and see some great people and have some amazing food.IMG_9450

Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series Returns to Eldora Speedway July 19-20, 2016

The series then takes on Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio on July 21

CONCORD, N.C. – Nov. 12, 2015 – The Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Modifieds will return to Eldora Speedway in 2016 for the first time in a decade.

The series takes on the historic half-mile track in Rossburg, Ohio on Tuesday, July 19 and Wednesday, July 20. The Big-Block Modifieds will run a full series points event on Tuesday and an invitational event on Wednesday when it joins the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

“After a decade absence we are excited to return to Eldora Speedway for two big days of heart-stopping, ground-pounding action from the Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Modifieds,” said Super DIRTcar Series Series Director Mike Perrotte.

The series last competed at Eldora in August 2006. It was the third trip for the series to the track. That night, Tim Fuller battled Billy Decker for the win. Fuller joined Brett Hearn and Danny Johnson as Eldora’s only Super DIRTcar Series winners.

“These two days are an incredible opportunity to see one of the premier dirt car series in the country share the stage with one of the premier asphalt series in the country at the legendary half mile,” said General Manager of DIRTcar Northeast Jeff Hachmann.

Tickets go on sale Dec. 14, 2015 and are available by visiting

Before returning to the Northeast, the Super DIRTcar Series will continue its run through Ohio with a trip to the half-mile Sharon Speedway on Thursday, July 21. The event adds to the already rich history of big-block modified racing at the Hartford, Ohio-track.

To learn more about the Super DIRTcar Series and to find out how to purchase tickets for all of the series’ events, visit

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, Pole Position Raceway and Dig Safely New York. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, FX Caprara, Fox Shox, Impact Race Products, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Performance, Racing Electronics, Superflow, TNT Rescue and Wrisco Aluminum.

From weekly short track racing to NASCAR Cup racing