Pocono Cup Race On Saturday And So Much More in 2020

For the first-time in Pocono Raceway history, the NASCAR Cup Series will race on a Saturday during the 2020 NASCAR Doubleheader Week.

The most intense action takes place on Saturday, June 27 with all three NASCAR Series being on track the same day. Tickets start at $45 for the whole day and kids, 12 and under, are FREE.

The NASCAR Xfinity Series kicks off the day with a practice session. It will be followed by the only NASCAR Cup Series qualifying session of the historic week, setting the field for the first NASCAR Cup Series race of the weekend. The NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series drivers start the doubleheader race day by laying down the rubber during their Saturday afternoon race and the day culminates with a 325-mile NASCAR Cup Series race.   

To add-on or purchase your Saturday tickets, click here.

To make things more interesting, the field will be inverted, based on lead-lap finishers from the Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series race. The last lead-lap finisher from Saturday’s race will start up front on Sunday, June 28.

Feel free to contact us should there be any questions. We can be reached by email at questions@poconoraceway.com anytime or by calling our Ticket Office at 1-800-722-3929 weekdays between the hours of 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. ET.

Tri Track Open Modified Series Announces 2020 Points Format

Best Five of Six Races To Be Counted Towards Championship;

Registrations Open For New Season 

By Kyle Souza 

Photo Laura Marie/Passing Bird Photography

SEEKONK, Mass. — Tri Track Open Modified Series officials announced on Wednesday the point standings structure that will be used for the 2020 season.  

As part of six events, drivers will tally points in each feature. In 2020, the champion will be decided by taking the best five out of six point totals a driver receives. Drivers will no longer be required to attend all six events to score the championship, but with a drop race factored into the totals, the new format allows for a driver to have a miscue, while still being in contention for the title.

“This will give drivers a bit more of a buffer in case something goes wrong at one of the races,” Wayne Darling, one of two Managing Partners of the Tri Track Open Modified Series, said. “This is just one of many announcements we will have over the next few months. We’re looking forward to getting the season underway in May.”

The entire point fund for the season totals $15,000 in prize money, with the top 15 spots in the final standings set to earn a bonus. 

The series also announced that registrations for the season are open and rules have been posted to the website. Teams can register and see rules by visiting the all-new Tri Track Open Modified Series website, tritrackmods.com, and visiting the team info page. 

If race teams complete the registration for the full season between January 16 and March 31, the charge is just $450 for six events. 

Any full season registrations made after March 31 will be $550. For those competitors interested in just registering for one event, the cost is $150 per event. Teams can send registration payment to the Tri Track PayPal account, info@tritrackmods.com, through the website.

After just a few days, more than a handful of teams have already entered. Owner Stan Mertz has entered with Woody Pitkat set to return behind the wheel, while upcoming racers Ryan Doucette and Dylan Izzo are also on the list. Joey Cipriano, a regular in Stafford Motor Speedway’s SK Modified division joins them, along with others. The list is growing daily. 

The 2020 schedule begins on Saturday, May 2, when drivers will take to the high-banks of Monadnock Speedway in Winchester, N.H., to open the year. After that, a stop at Claremont Speedway on Memorial Day weekend (May 24), is followed by the annual Open Wheel Wednesday at Seekonk Speedway, the only mid-week show, on Wednesday, July 1. The final three races include the annual SBM 125 at Star Speedway (July 25), Monadnock Speedway (August 15) and the annual Haunted Hundred at Seekonk Speedway (October 24), where the champion will be crowned. 

Any teams with questions ahead of the season can reach Managing Partner Ed Bennett at 732-278-6200 or Technical Inspector Director Greg Felton at 413-695-2272. 

Follow the series on social media via Facebook, Twitter and our new Instagram page, to find out more. 


LAKE CITY, FL – A pair of New York-based racers will dip their toes into the water with the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco this February.

Billy Dunn and Justin Haers have each filed an entry for the STSS inaugural ‘Sunshine Swing’ at All-Tech Raceway in Lake City, Fla. Both will compete in the STSS Modified portion of the mini-series taking place at the half-mile track west of Jacksonville and north of Gainesville in North Central Florida Feb 5-8.

STSS Modifieds and Crate 602 Sportsman hit the track for an open practice (Wednesday) followed by three consecutive nights of racing (Thursday-Saturday).

Dunn, of Watertown, N.Y., makes the 1,208-mile trek to Florida. Like Haers, Dunn is making his debut with the Short Track Super Series. Dunn has the backing of car owner Ray Graham to pilot his silver-and-florescent orange No. 49 on the ‘Sunshine Swing.’

Haers, of Phelps, N.Y., has enlisted the support of Delaware car owner and sponsor Jake Marine for selected events during the 2020 season. Due to his limited crew help for the Florida trek, Haers plans to compete in only the Friday and Saturday night events at All-Tech, which incidentally pay $7,500 and $10,000 to win, respectively.

Entries are being received at the STSS office every day. Keep posted to the series Facebook (Short Track Super Series), Twitter and Instagram (@shorttrackss) for daily updates.

‘Sunshine Swing’ times, prices and schedule of events: http://shorttracksuperseries.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/Sunshine-Swing-Agenda.pdf

‘Sunshine Swing’ STSS Modified rules: http://shorttracksuperseries.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/SunshineSwingModifiedRules.pdf

‘Sunshine Swing’ STSS Crate 602 Sportsman rules: http://shorttracksuperseries.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/SunshineSwingCrate602Rules.pdf

‘Sunshine Swing’ STSS Modified registration form: http://shorttracksuperseries.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/SunshineSwingModifiedEntryForm.pdf

‘Sunshine Swing’ STSS Crate 602 Sportsman registration form: http://shorttracksuperseries.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/SunshineSwingCrateEntryForm.pdf

‘Sunshine Swing’ STSS Modified Feb. 6 Pay Structure: http://shorttracksuperseries.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/February6Modified.pdf

‘Sunshine Swing’ STSS Modified Feb. 7 Pay Structure: http://shorttracksuperseries.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/February7Modified.pdf

‘Sunshine Swing’ STSS Modified Feb. 8 Pay Structure: http://shorttracksuperseries.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/February8Modified.pdf

‘Sunshine Swing’ STSS Crate 602 Sportsman Feb. 6 & 7 Pay Structure: http://shorttracksuperseries.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/February6and7Crate.pdf

‘Sunshine Swing’ STSS Crate 602 Sportsman Feb. 8 Pay Structure: http://shorttracksuperseries.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/February8Crate.pdf

All-Tech Raceway is located at 1024 SW Howell Road Lake City, FL 32024. To learn more about the speedway, visit www.alltechraceway.com.

For Lake City area lodging, visit the following link: https://alltechraceway.com/where-to-stay/

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit www.shorttracksuperseries.com, e-mail bdmotorsportsmedia@gmail.com, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

From weekly short track racing to NASCAR Cup racing