Category Archives: Riverhead Raceway


By Souza Media/Kyle Souza


BRISTOL, Tenn. — Doug Coby drove the No. 24 Mayhew Tools Truck to a solid 12th-place finish in his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series debut at Bristol Motor Speedway on Thursday, September 16. Driving for GMS Racing, Coby started 30th — with no practice or qualifying due to NASCAR’s new race policies — and no previous laps in a truck.

However, during the race, Coby methodically worked his way up through the field into the top-20, and rode there for the second half. In the final laps, the six-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion charged through some traffic and finished the UNOH 200 in 12th spot. Overall, it was a strong effort for the Milford, Connecticut, native in his series debut — one where he learned a lot and enjoyed competing in one of NASCAR’s top three divisions with sponsorship from Mayhew Tools.

“All of the people at GMS Racing, from top to bottom, were awesome to work with,” Coby said. “It’s great exposure for Mayhew Tools and myself, as we are a team. The biggest thing was completing all 200 laps and getting the experience, doing the pit stops, and not getting sucked into a wreck. I think we had a truck that could have competed in the top-five or the top-10, if we were there. With the flow of the race, with all of the cautions, and a few mistakes on restarts… any time we lost spots, we were able to make them back up.”

Now, Coby will head back to New England and return to the track on Saturday, September 18, in the 13th race of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour season at Riverhead Raceway in New York. Coby and the Doug Coby Racing team are just 20 points out of the lead in the owners championship standings with two races remaining in the season. Meanwhile, Coby is also looking to accomplish a goal: complete the season sweep at Riverhead. Not known as one of his best tracks entering this year, Coby is two-for-two at the bullring heading into this Saturday night and would love to grab a third.

“We’ve definitely been on our game this year with what we need at Riverhead with their pavement changes and putting down the grip,” Coby said. “These other guys are going to keep tweaking and working on their setups to get better, and we’re doing the same. I wouldn’t say we are a shoe-in to go out there and have the best car… but we have just had a great car there this year. We will be ready.”

Coby, and the rest of the Whelen Modified Tour family, will be honoring the legacy of track owner and former Whelen Modified Tour champion car owner Ed Partridge, who passed away last week.

“Going there with everything going on, it’s going to be a tough night for a lot of people,” Coby said.

The Miller Lite 200 is scheduled for the green flag at 8 p.m. on Saturday night, with live coverage on NBC Sports Gold.

For more information on Doug Coby Racing, visit, where you can find the latest in apparel, news, results, schedule and more. You can also follow Doug Coby Racing on Facebook for the latest updates.


Founded in 1856, Mayhew Tools is the oldest punch and chisel manufacturer in the United States, growing their extensive professional grade, American made product line to include pry bars, pneumatics, cable ties, and more. In 2020, the company extended their product line to include a complete line of dual drive and socket bits and sets. Serving the Industrial, Automotive, Hardware, and Construction industries, Mayhew’s premium hand tools are sold globally through an extensive distributor network. For more information, contact Mayhew Tools at 800.872.0037 or visit


Racing for more than 25 years, Doug Coby is a six-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion and one of the top short-track drivers to come from the state of Connecticut. Coby is a two-time champion at Stafford Motor Speedway, where he built his resume competing in the Late Models, Pro Stocks and SK Modifieds. Coby won his first tour championship in 2012, and followed it up by scoring four straight titles between 2014-2017, and another in 2019. In 2020, Coby opened his own team — Doug Coby Racing — scoring his first win as owner/driver.


Floral Park, NY Sept. 16th

Over time race teams and drivers nationally and locally have worked with various charitable causes, with a good percentage of those charities aiding children. Sixteen year old Late Model and Super Pro Truck Riverhead Raceway driver Ethan Brown of Floral Park and his Bullet Racing team will reverse that trend September 25th. The team will represent Sacks For Seniors at their pit stall at Riverhead Raceway.

“With the recent events of Covid-19 which had a profound effect on our senior citizen community, myself and our Bullet Racing team felt this was a worthy cause” Ethan Brown said. “The holiday season is especially tough on seniors, most notably those in nursing homes”. Sacks for Seniors needs help in filling Christmas Stockings for those in nursing facilities with no families. The goal is to spread Holiday cheer bringing smiles during the Holiday season.

Brown and Bullet Racing will collect items such as, socks, undergarments, pajamas, electric razors, books, puzzles, playing cards, adult coloring books and the like. The team will set up collection bins/boxes by their Foos Fire Late Model & Super Pro Truck. Folks can also drop off Christmas/Holiday cards with a short hand written note as well. Financial contributions are accepted via Venmo or PayPal, Sacks for Seniors is part of the Mickey & Dee Charitable Foundation.

On track entering the final Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series program Saturday at Riverhead Raceway Ethan Brown has enjoyed a successful season. Entering the final Late Model feature of 2021 Ethan is ranked third as a rookie driver in the class just two points back of second place Brandon Turbush of Manorville. Brown and Jerry Giordano of Freeport are separated by one point for 2021 Rookie of the Year entering the finale. Entering Super Pro Truck competition Brown sits 6th in the championship standings, three back of 5th place Joe Cerabino of Bay Shore.

For additional information on Sacks for Seniors you can visit Ethan Brown’s Facebook page at The BULLETin. For more about Riverhead Raceway please visit


By Souza Media/Kyle Souza

Photo: Ryan M. Kelly/NASCAR

HOLTSVILLE, N.Y. — With just two races remaining in the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship fight, Justin Bonsignore is returning home to Riverhead Raceway this weekend. The driver of the No. 51 Kenneth Massa Motorsports entry returns to his home track in New York, where he has eight Whelen Modified Tour wins in 20 starts.

In the first two stops at the quarter-mile this year, Bonsignore finished third in both races, leading a total of over 200 laps, combined. However, this race means a bit more. Bonsignore leads by 22 points over Patrick Emerling with just two events left: Riverhead and a trip to Stafford Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 25. Bonsignore is looking to seal his third championship in the last four years.

“Looking forward to getting back to the home track and trying to get back to Victory Lane there,” Bonsignore said. “We’ve been close the last couple of times, but we know we need a little bit more to make it happen. We’re down to the final two races — and we have to be conscious of the points, but our goal is still to go out there and win at Riverhead. It will be a special night in honor of Ed Partridge and I would love to hold the checkered flag when it’s over.”

The race day schedule for the Miller Lite 200 includes one practice session from 3-4:30 p.m., followed by Mayhew Tools Dominator Pole qualifying at 6 p.m. The drop of the green flag is set for just after 8 p.m., with the race set to air live on NBC Sports Gold’s TrackPass platform.

For more information on Justin Bonsignore, visit and follow his athlete page on Facebook for the latest updates.