Tag Archives: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Richmond Raceway to Host NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Race on April 1, 2022

October 21, 2021

Richmond Raceway expands the 2022 Toyota Spring Race Weekend to host a NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race on Friday, April 1, 2022. This will be the second consecutive season Richmond has hosted a Whelen Modified Tour race at America’s Premier Short Track.

“We welcome back the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to Richmond Raceway after a successful, action-packed return this year,” said Richmond Raceway President Dennis Bickmeier. “We look forward to the talented drivers of the tour once again showcasing their skills next season at America’s Premier Short Track.”

Richmond first hosted a modified race in NASCAR’s inaugural season on May 16, 1948. The race was the first NASCAR sanctioned race in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Richmond hosted the modern-day NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour from 1990-1993, 1997, 1999-2002, 2021. NASCAR Hall of Famer Mike Stefanik, one of the Modified Tour’s 10 greatest drivers of all-time, holds the modern-day record with three wins at Richmond.

“The 2021 race was very exciting from start to finish. Our teams loved racing at Richmond and we look forward to the 2022 return to the Richmond and put on another great event for the fans,” said Jimmy Wilson, Series Director, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour.

In the spring, Richmond will host the Toyota Spring Race Weekend featuring the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour on Friday, April 1, 2022, ToyotaCare 250 NASCAR Xfinity Series race on Saturday, April 2, 2022 and the Toyota Owners 400 NASCAR Cup Series race on Sunday, April 3, 2022.

Racing Virginia will be active in the month of April as the Commonwealth will host two Cup Series races in the same month for the second consecutive season as Martinsville Speedway will host a race on April 9, 2022. For the first time since 1997, NASCAR will make its first stop in the Commonwealth of Virginia at Richmond. Martinsville and Richmond have hosted back-to-back race weekends five times with the first time being in the spring of 1955.

Richmond will host its first-ever summer race weekend featuring the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Playoffs on Saturday, Aug. 13 and the Federated Auto Parts 400 Cup Series race on Sunday, Aug. 14. This will be the third consecutive season Richmond has hosted a Camping World Truck Series race and first-ever series playoff race. The Camping World Truck Series Playoff race will be the second race in the first round of the playoffs.

Start times and television networks for the Cup Series, Xfinity Series, Camping World Truck Series and Whelen Modified Tour will be announced at a later date.

2022 NASCAR tickets are available for purchase today via phone at 866-455-7223 or online at richmondraceway.com.

Stay connected to Richmond Raceway on FacebookInstagram and Twitter.

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Returns to “The Magic Mile” on July 16

Photo Noah Watts/Myracenews

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour joins the NASCAR Cup and Xfinity Series for New Hampshire Motor Speedway’s
traditional mid-summer NASCAR race weekend, July 16-17, 2022.

LOUDON, N.H. – The New England fan-favorite NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour (NWMT) has been added to the lineup for New Hampshire Motor Speedway’s (NHMS) 2022 NASCAR race weekend, July 16-17. The modifieds will kick off the race weekend on Doubleheader Saturday, July 16 with a 100-lap race followed by a 200-lap NASCAR Xfinity Series (NXS) race. The NASCAR Cup Series (NCS) will cap off the weekend with a 301-lap race on Sunday, July 17.

“Our NASCAR race weekend just isn’t complete without the Whelen Modified Tour,” said David McGrath, executive vice president and general manager of New Hampshire Motor Speedway. “The modified tour always produces a thrilling, edge-of-your-seat show for fans at ‘The Magic Mile,’ and we can’t wait to see what they have in store for us on July 16, 2022.”

This past summer, Berlin, Connecticut’s Ryan Preece outdueled the competition with a turn four pass in overtime to capture his first-ever points win at “The Magic Mile.”

“I feel like I won Daytona,” Preece said in victory lane. “If you’re from this area, this place means a lot to you. Coming here since I was a little kid, my grandfather and I used to camp right back there. Since I started racing the modifieds back in 2007, this has been that one track that has really alluded me… Really, really friggin’ happy to win this race.”

Details regarding the full weekend schedule and broadcast information for NASCAR’s 2022 weekend at NHMS will be released at a later date.


Tickets and camping are on sale now at NHMS.com. Adult tickets start at just $35 for Doubleheader Saturday and $49 for Sunday. Tickets for kids 12 and under are free on Saturday and just $10 on Sunday. Further details can be found on the New Hampshire Motor Speedway website or by calling 833-4LOUDON.

Follow Us:

Keep track of all of New Hampshire Motor Speedway’s events by following on Facebook (@NHMotorSpeedway), Twitter (@NHMS) and Instagram (@NHMS). Keep up with all the latest information on the speedway website (NHMS.com) and mobile app.

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Returning to Thompson Next August 17th

Photo Noah Watts/Myracenews

Waterbury, VT and Naples, ME — The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour is returning to Connecticut’s Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park. Oval track promoters the American-Canadian Tour (ACT) and Pro All Stars Series (PASS) announced today they have reached an agreement with NASCAR to host the Thompson 150 on Wednesday, August 17, 2022.

It will be the 149th time the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour has visited Thompson Speedway and the first since the 2020 Sunoco World Series 150, which was won by Craig Lutz. More details about the Thompson 150, along with the rest of the 2022 Thompson Speedway oval track schedule, will be announced over the coming weeks and months.

“We’re glad to have this in place for next year,” ACT managing partner Cris Michaud said. “We know a lot of fans have been clamoring for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to come back to Thompson. After talking to NASCAR over the past couple weeks, we finally were able to put something together that made sense for everyone involved. The Thompson 150 will be a huge midsummer event on our schedule, and we hope to announce the rest of our 2022 plans soon.”

For more information about the American-Canadian Tour, contact the ACT offices at (802) 244-6963, media@acttour.com, or visit www.acttour.com. You can also get updates on Facebook and Twitter at @ACTTour.

For technical information concerning all PASS divisions, and for media or marketing questions, please contact passracing@roadrunner.com or visit www.proallstarsseries.com.  Don’t forget to “Like” the Pro All Stars Series on Facebook or follow on Twitter @PASSSLM14 to keep up with breaking news as it happens.

For general Thompson Speedway inquiries, call (860) 923-2280, email oval@thompsonspeedway.com or visit www.thompsonspeedway.com. You can follow Thompson Speedway on Facebook and Instagram at @ThompsonSpeedway or on Twitter at @ThompsonSpdwy.