Category Archives: Monadnock Speedway





SEEKONK, Mass. — Tri Track Open Modified Series officials confirmed on Tuesday six dates for the 2021 season. The series will compete at three different tracks in two different New England states, headlined by multiple staple events and the anticipated return to Massachusetts.

Fans can expect a return to Monadnock Speedway (twice), two stops at Star Speedway, including the 10th annual SBM, and two stops at Seekonk Speedway — including the prestigious $10,000 to win Open Wheel Wednesday and the fan-favorite Haunted Hundred.

The season begins back on the high-banks of Monadnock, in Winchester, New Hampshire, with a 100-lap feature on Saturday, May 1. The date will be part of Monadnock’s opening Spring Dash weekend, which will also include their NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Racing Series divisions and the Granite State Pro Stock Series. Tri Track will visit Monadnock for a second time on Saturday, August 14, joined again by Monadnock’s weekly divisions. The track has been a regular circuit on the Tri Track schedule — one that places series regulars against the weekly competitors, which often come close to Victory Lane. Craig Lutz and Sam Rameau won events at Monadnock in a COVID-19 shortened 2020 season. 

On May 22, 2021, Tri Track will return to Star Speedway in Epping, New Hampshire, for the first of two dates on the 2021 calendar. Star has also been well-known for the annual SBM event, which returns for the 10th annual feature spectacular on Saturday, July 24. Two dates at Star in the midst of their packed schedule will give race fans a chance to watch Modifieds tear up the quarter-mile again. Matt Hirschman, a five-time and defending Tri Track champion, went to Victory Lane at Star last year.

With two dates, the return to Massachusetts and Seekonk Speedway is highly anticipated by the series, teams, drivers and fans. Seekonk will host the annual $10,000 to win Open Wheel Wednesday event on Wednesday, June 30, and also host the Haunted Hundred on Saturday, October 23. 

Joining Open Wheel Wednesday will be the 350 S.M.A.C. Supermodifieds and NEMA Lites, giving fans a mid-week chance to watch one of the top Modified races of the year. As part of the Haunted Hundred — for the first time — all three races during the day will be 100 laps. Tri Track headlines the action, crowning the 2021 champion, while the stars of the Pro All Star Series (PASS) and American Canadian Tour (ACT) will also compete in their championship events during the season-finale, which will also end the 75th year of full-time racing at Seekonk in style.

The 2021 schedule is subject to change due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Registration for the 2021 season will open on January 28, to be completed by drivers and teams through the Tri Track website. More information will be released closer to that date. For more information on the Tri Track Open Modified Series, visit and follow the series on social media.

Justin Bonsignore Returns To Winning Ways At Monadnock


WINCHESTER, N.H. — That didn’t take long.

After a pair of races out of Victory Lane, Justin Bonsignore found himself right back on familiar ground as he executed a late pass on Ron Silk to capture the Advanced Gas Distributors Inc. 200 Wade Cole Memorial Sunday afternoon at Monadnock Speedway.

It was Bonsignore’s third win in five races on the season and his sixth in the last 10 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour events dating back to last Aug. 31.

To cap his 29th career win, he wheeled the No. 51 Phoenix Communications Inc. Chevrolet in a slide across the finish line — 1.085 seconds ahead of Silk.

Mayhew pole award winner Jon McKennedy with team owner Tommy Baldwin . Photo:Michael Jaworecki/Myracenews

Jon McKennedy won the Mayhew Tools Dominator Pole Award in qualifying and led the first 61 laps before Silk, who was fastest in practice and qualified third, got past him. Bonsignore tracked him down and the two swapped the top spot before Bonsignore took it for good with 25 laps remaining.

Bonsignore’s 29th career tour win moved him back into a tie with six-time champion Doug Coby, who finished third, for sixth on the all-time wins list.

Justin Bonsignore #51 makes the winning pass under Ron Silk #85 Photo:Michael Jaworecki/Myracenews

More importantly, it bumped Bonsignore’s championship points lead back up to 16 over Coby. After winning the first two races of the season, back-to-back fifth-place runs had chipped away at the Long Island driver’s lead.

Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, which significantly altered the 2020 Whelen Modified schedule, Monadnock was a late addition. But the return to the quarter-mile for the first time since 2016 was a welcome addition for Bonsignore, who won there in 2013 and ’14.

RELATED: Complete Results | Justin Bonsignore Career Wins

The Advanced Gas Distributors Inc. 200 Wade Cole Memorial, which streamed live on TrackPass on NBC Gold, was postponed from Saturday to Sunday by weather.

Anthony Nocella finished fourth and Ronnie Williams fifth.

Matt Hirschman, Woody Pitkat, Sam Rameau, McKennedy and Craig Lutz completed the top 10. Lutz and McKennedy are tied for third in points, 30 points back of Bonsignore.

The tour will have a quick turnaround, racing at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park in Connecticut on Wednesday, Sept. 2.

NASCAR, Monadnock Postpone NWMT Race to Sunday

By: Kyle Souza/Souza Media / Photo: Kyle Souza

NASCAR and Monadnock Speedway officials announced on Friday that they have postponed the upcoming Whelen Modified Tour race scheduled for Saturday, August 29 due to predicted inclement weather. The race will be moved to Sunday, August 30, with a green flag scheduled to drop around 4 p.m.

The move comes with forecasting an 80% chance of rain for much of the day on Saturday. It will be the first Whelen Modified Tour visit to the high-banks of Monadnock since 2016, in a season where they weren’t originally scheduled to hold a race.

The COVID-19 pandemic has deeply affected the schedule, and Monadnock and NASCAR officials were able to work out a financial deal to get the event scheduled over the last month. It will be the fifth race of the Whelen Modified Tour season — with two previous at Jennerstown Speedway and two at White Mountain Motorsports Park.

Justin Bonsignore leads the series points standings by 10 points over Doug Coby entering the race. Craig Lutz, who won at Jennerstown last weekend, is third, 17 points back.