Category Archives: White Mountain Motorsports Park

Anthony Nocella wins Thunder in the Mountains 100

After 100 laps of ground-pounder action, it was Anthony Nocella taking down the win in the Thunder in the Mountains 100 at White Mountain Motorsports Park, along with the $3,500 going to the victor in the inaugural Bullring Bash Quarter Mile Challenge presented by RaceChoice.

Nocella, who started on the pole, got around Woody Pitkat with 32 laps to go and didn’t look back.

“I think it was an awesome race,” Nocella said. “I’m glad we decided to come here… Everybody I talked to said [White Mountain] is an awesome place. I can’t thank Josh [Vanada] enough for putting this race on and the people at White Mountain for letting us run here.”

Behind Nocella was Mike Willis in second. Andy Jankowiak was third, followed by Richard Savary and Kirk Alexander.

On the very first lap, outside polesitter Christopher Bolton spun in turn three, collecting Russ Hersey, George Sherman, and Matt Swanson, bringing out a quick yellow flag.

On the first restart, Geoff Rollins spun into the tire barrier in turn three to bring out another yellow flag.

Once the race finally went green, Woody Pitkat began stalking Nocella. He was unable to get by him until lap 17 when he wriggled underneath Nocella to take the lead.

Pitkat pulled away over the course of the run, which was slowed on lap 45 when Hersey spun off of turn two.

Pitkat stumbled on the ensuing restart, and Mike Willis moved to the lead, taking Nocella to second with him. After pressuring him for several laps, Nocella moved back to the lead on lap 69, just two laps before Andy Jankowiak spun to bring out another caution.

Another issue for Pitkat on another restart sent him to the back of the pack. Willis remained all over Nocella down the stretch, but was unable to make a move, and Nocella hung on to take the win.

The full results can be found below:

1. Anthony Nocella

2. Mike Willis

3. Andy Jankowiak

4. Richard Savary

5. Kirk Alexander

6. Woody Pitkat

7. Chris Bolton

8. Geoff Rollins

9. George Sherman

10. Russ Hersey

11. Matt Swanson

To keep up with the Bullring Bash, teams and fans can visit Fans can also stay connected on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram at @BullringBashQMC.

Bullring Bash drivers and teams prepping for Thunder in the Mountains 100

The Bullring Bash Quarter Mile Challenge presented by RaceChoice is closing in fast on its first-ever event, the Thunder in the Mountains 100 at White Mountain Motorsports Park. With around 20 cars in both the Modifieds and MSD Legends divisions expected for Saturday’s event, both drivers and owners are growing more and more excited about Saturday’s event.

Sam Kramer, the owner of Richard Savary’s No. 99 Modified, said the race was a good option for their team.

“We’ve been looking for some shots to race,” Kramer said. “We pick and choose where we go. We’re not looking to run a full series… It just fit perfectly into our schedule.”

There’s also a slate of Modified competitors ready to race, including Whelen Modified Tour winner Woody Pitkat and Modified Racing Series points leader Mike Willis.

”Definitely nice to get all the big-name guys coming at you,” Willis said. “You’ve got this guy who won this and this guy who won that. It definitely revs up the show a lot.”

Kramer was one to agree.

“You want to race against the best in New England,” he said.

For many drivers, this will be their first trip to race White Mountain Motorsports Park, which makes the race a wild-card of sorts.

“I’ve only been there to spot and crew before,” Willis said. “I think it’s awesome that everyone will be in the same place because you’re not going to somebody’s home track, so everybody’s gotta learn the groove.”

Saturday will be the first time Anthony Nocella goes to WMMP at all.

”I’ve never even seen the track,” he said. “I like going to new places. It’s something different. I’ve heard from a lot of people that its a real fun track, a fast track, and that it’s fun to race on.”

Bullring Bash founder Josh Vanada remains excited for the green flag to drop on the inaugural Bullring Bash event.

“I know it’s been a long wait for fans in the Northeast, but the time is finally here,” Vanada said. “I can’t wait for the racing to get started on Saturday!”

To keep up with the Bullring Bash, teams and fans can visit Fans can also stay connected on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram at @BullringBashQMC. Driver Profile Series: Joe Marfeo

The entries are piling up for the Bullring Bash Quarter Mile Challenge presented by RaceChoice. More and more racers from across the Northeast have sent in their entry for Sunday’s opener at White Mountain Motorsports Park.

Another Legends driver who will be there is Joe Marfeo. Marfeo hails from Exeter, Rhode Island. He’ll be driving the No. 712 A1 Waste Disposal and Sons/Mikey’s Motorsports INEX this Sunday.

Marfeo first learned about the event from a friend. That got him interested in driving in it.

“My buddy told me about it,” Marfeo said. “My father and his father are good friends. They both love racing. I wanted to do it, so now we’re heading up there.”

Despite having some success in Legends cars in the past, Marfeo had to step away from the race car for the past season. But he’s ready to return with force this weekend.

“I used to race every weekend at Seekonk Speedway, and the last year, from work and everything, I didn’t race as much. Coming into this season, we heard about this race, and even though I haven’t raced in a while, I think we will be ready.”

With the long absence from racing, Marfeo isn’t going into Sunday’s event with the expectation that he’ll be standing in Victory Lane when things are said and done.

“Me personally, top-10’s my goal,” he said. “If I get top-five, that’s great. I’m not trying to go there just for the win. It’s more experience and just having fun.”

As the Legends race is sandwiched between the second and third segments of the 125-lap Modified event, Marfeo hopes a large crowd will be on hand to see what he expects to be a thrilling battle.

“Usually, when there’s big races like this with a big crowd, people usually love the Legends cars,” Marfeo said. “Most people don’t understand how fast they are. I know Legend cars are really quick. I know when they first sit, they want to keep watching us race… I hope the fans are gonna appreciate it. It’s going to be a fun race.

“I know there’s going to be good competition. It’s a big race. It’s going to be a tight fun race. We’ll see how it unfolds.”

Should the race be a success for Marfeo, he wants to come back for the other two Bullring Bash events later on in the summer.

The Bullring Bash Quarter Mile Challenge will have additional announcements regarding registered teams, sponsors, officials, and much more coming soon. To keep up with the Bullring Bash, teams and fans can visit Fans can also stay connected on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram at @BullringBashQMC.